Maiko Experience with Traditional Kaiseki Dinner at Gion Hatanaka in Kyoto

Overall Rating

4.574.57 / 5

Reviews

21 reviews (Post a review)

Amazing one-of-a-kind experience

Reviewed by: willie r., 2016/06/06

Went to Kyoto with a friend and we wanted something authentic. This fit the bill perfectly. The Maiko performed well, and look flawless, as expected. The staff was super helpful, and as usual the language difference was not an issue.

Pros: The food is delicious, open bar, the ambiance, the drinking games, the information/history presentation.

Cons: food is pre-set, shoes are removed so wear socks, the room was quite warm by the end of the night.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely wonderful!!

Reviewed by: Erika, 2016/05/11

Show was great!! Dinner was very good, especially since my husband and I are not big fish eaters. They are not stingy with the drinks either. The two maikos performance was beautiful along with their costumes and make-up. The interactive games afterwards had the whole room laughing. A bit pricey but highly recommend. Great experience since there are so few geisha left practicing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko Experience

Reviewed by: Hank, 2016/04/30

Absolutely fantastic experience. First time to see Japan, & the Geisha was one of the top of the list. The catering staff were professional & very friendly. The Maiko themselves carried out a great performance. There was time for photos & interactive conversation. They also played some Geisha games with the dinner group. All in all, highly recommended, especially if you have never seen Geisha perform in real life.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/08
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our Kyoto experience

Reviewed by: YK Han, 2016/04/23

The Maiko Experience gave us an interesting and unforgettable insight into the lives of Maiko-san and Geiko-san, which otherwise would be inaccessible for non-Japanese. Fun games and photo session were also included, which gave us an overall unforgettable evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experiwnce

Reviewed by: Ruth, 2016/04/17

Travelled solo and felt welcome. Assigned with a family of three and enjoyed their company. Worth the price in completing a trip in Gion. Food was your traditional Japanese Kyoto cuisine. For first timers an adventure! Will do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chance of a Lifetime!

Reviewed by: Andrea Withers, 2016/04/03

It is difficult if not impossible to see a real Geisha in Japan without booking a special tour such as this. I was on a group tour that didn't include a Geisha evening, and all the people on the tour stood for an hour on a street corner in Gion, hoping to see a Geisha, but to no avail. They were certainly jealous to hear that I'd booked a separate tour to ensure connecting with this special part of Japanese culture. And it was SO worth it to enjoy the endless courses of Japanese specialty food and overflowing drinks, as well as the beautiful dances and songs of the Maiko and Geisha, not to mention the fun drinking games and the table-side chats we had. The two ladies came to each table (four at a table) and talked with us, answering any questions we had (via a translator) and taking photos with us. I have precious memories on video from this very special evening. Highly recommend it!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous evening!

Reviewed by: Carl, 2016/03/19

Lovely venue, great food and drink, and excellent entertainment. Would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent evening

Reviewed by: Burgesswaz, 2015/11/04

We enjoyed a wonderful evening! Each course of the banquet was beautifully presented and each course enjoyable. The experience with the geisha was informative, the dance excellent and the games entertaining. Speaking with the maiko was just wonderful given our interest in this part of the culture. There are just the right amount of guests enough for atmosphere.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice experience

Reviewed by: Eva, 2015/08/02

As a surprise for my mother I booked the geisha experience. It was a nice evening and seeing the geiko and maiko perform was quite nice. Interacting with them was quite difficult, especially since the interpretor was answering the questions instead of interpreting. Although it must be a routine evening for both the interpretor and the geek and make it would have been nice if he would at least translate the questions. Food was ok. A lot of fish. For me too much, a mixture of at least tofu and fish would have been nice. Or meat and fish. All in all a very nice evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: julien, 2015/05/30

Nice evening with the opportunity to meet meikos or geikos. Be sure that the ladies will make you drink to make it worth the price. The only drawback I see is that you can't choose the meals.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Kyoto Categories