Meet Maiko and Have Tea Time in Gion

Overall Rating

4.774.77 / 5

Reviews

26 reviews (Post a review)

Tea with a maiko

Reviewed by: Helen Murphy, 2016/11/29

Excellent experience and insight into Japanese culture at first hand. Opportunity to ask questions to the maiko. Would highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Could have been better

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2016/11/21

We had booked for 3 and there was only the 3 of us at the session and we were lucky enough to meet the Geisha not the Maiko, but the english speaking host was on her mobile phone the whole time we were there, speaking very loudly and coming in and out of the room. There was also construction noise going on the whole time we were there, not their fault but distracting.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Meeting Tomikiku

Reviewed by: Anna, 2016/08/31

We thoroughly recommend meeting Tomikiku. Amazingly gracious, beautiful and entertaining. The children were made welcome and our little girl taken care of when she felt poorly. The house is in a lovely neighbourhood with very kind neighbours who helped us find our way. This was a lovely experience, very memorable and definately a must. The tea is also the best you will taste.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up close and personal

Reviewed by: Taylor , 2016/08/26

Never imagined to be sitting next to and speaking to a real geisha. Tomitei (hope I spelled that correctly) is truly beautiful and graceful. Its hard to believe the sacrifice and training these young girls go through. My kids really enjoyed this experience. Short and sweet.


  • Performing her dance


  • Playing games

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Experience of a lifetime

Reviewed by: Angela, 2016/08/22

I'd waited a long time to do this! The Maiko was charming, interesting and put us at ease immediately. Fascinating experience with memories to last a lifetime.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea ceremony

Reviewed by: Susan, 2016/07/16

Great experience. Very personal and intimate. Learned a lot. Would highly recommend to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible Experience!

Reviewed by: Ana, 2016/07/05

This was such an amazing experience as we had a private audience with our lovely maiko and hostess. We began with a small tea ceremony where our maiko prepared the matcha tea in one of the traditional ways. We were then given a sweet to enjoy with our tea and left in private. During this time we were able to talk with our hostess and owner of the Ochaya. She explained many things about the process of becoming a geisha and told us a little about her life. The maiko then returned and performed a summer dance for us, which was lovely and very elegant. Finally, we were given time in private to speak with her and ask any questions we had. We spent about 20 minutes talking to her as she explained why she decided to pursue this path and answered all our questions in perfect english. When we were finished they both gave us a very fond and kind farewell and walked us out. In true Japanese hospitality as we were leaving they even gave us an umbrella since it was drizzling outside and we had left ours in a cab earlier that day. I cannot say enough about this experience. Everything about it was top notch and above expectation. I highly recommend it to anyone that's interested in geishas, Japanese culture or just wants to try something different.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Neeuqia, 2016/05/16

It was simply amazing. The maiko-san prepared a tea ceremony with grace and poise followed by a fan dance.
The best part for me was when we got to speak to her and take photos.
She shared a lot about the maiko and geiko culture and traditions.
I still cant believe we managed to take photos with a real geisha.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Valentina and Marina, 2016/04/18

We had a great time with Maiko! Watching tea ceremony and Maiko dance was very interesting and having a conversation with Tomitsuyo-san helped us to better understand the art of Geiko and Maiko! Thank you so much!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Memorable Experience in Gion, Kyoto

Reviewed by: Luchi Villarica, 2016/04/06

Among all our cultural activities in Japan, the tea time with Maiko is the most memorable. Although they only serve the guest one type of tea and traditional Japanese sweets per guest, the experience was still memorable. Guests first witness how tea is produced from scratch by the Maiko and this is followed by any traditional dance number. The Maiko's elegance and grace is perfectly showcased. Her business mother is also very adept at explaining basic facts about the Maiko and the Geisha's way of life. The last part of the tea time is an interview with the Maiko wherein guests can ask questions.





Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Kyoto Categories