Maiko Dance Show, Kyoto Cuisine Dinner with Multilingual Audio Guide

Overall Rating

3.903.90 / 5

Reviews

10 reviews (Post a review)

Great Show

Reviewed by: Shannon C, 2016/11/05

Great show! We enjoyed seeing the different art forms; each performance was fantastic. The Kyoto lights at night were definite beautiful. While the Kyoto dining experience was fun and interesting the food was a little lacking in taste, but is was an overall terrific experience.


  • Wonderful experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable Evening

Reviewed by: Squirrel Girl, 2016/05/29

I was visiting Kyoto with my mother who had come to see me in while I am living in Japan. I speak Japanese but she does not, and we were the only non-Japanese people on our tour. The tour is also largely conducted in Japanese, with the only foreign language assistance being an automated voice guide on the bus which provides some information, and the pamphlet and some narration at the show. That said, knowing some Japanese is helpful but not necessary.

The food and atmosphere of the restaurant we had dinner at was good, although the portions were not very large and thus not really filling. Overall it was a good assortment of traditional food at a fair price.

The show at Gion corner was good as well. It does not have a lot of any one thing, but rather a bit of various types of Japanese traditional performing arts. It is a great way to sample those things, especially for those who may be new to Japanese culture.

The night view was a nice addition, too. Although Kyoto is not particularly known for its skyline, it was still enjoyable to be able to look out from the mountain and say "This is Kyoto."

This tour was relatively inexpensive compared to others involving dinner and maiko, and I think it was a great deal for that price.





Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not bad

Reviewed by: Wilson, 2016/04/13

tour guide only speaks japanese. it was very hard to find the bus. it was situated in the very back corner of the bus terminal and we got lost trying to find it. other than that, the tour was not bad


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An experience in Kyoto

Reviewed by: cheung, 2016/04/03

The dinner was colourful but not much taste. The show was a separated location quite fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A little touristy, but actually an amazing value!

Reviewed by: August, 2015/07/16

The tour itself is great. The food was absolutely delicious and is worth the experience alone. Gion Corner (a hodgepodge of traditional Japanese cultural acts) was a little touristy, but it was still fun and enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No tour needed. Just turn up

Reviewed by: Lee, 2015/05/19

So the bus tour was ok but as most of it is in Japanese (English you get a headset) you may as well skip that and head for Gion Corner on your own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Maiko Show, Kyoto Cuisine & Night View Tour

Reviewed by: Trond Rese, 2015/05/03

The Gion Maiko Show was excellent. The Kyoto Cuisine was not to our taste and we were dissapointed that the tour was in Japanese only. The night view was not very spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience and quick overview of Japanese culture

Reviewed by: Amandine, 2015/04/21

The tour started with a bus excursion from Kyoto station to a restaurant in the north of the city. Interesting descriptions of the main streets and monuments were provided (mostly in Japanese) as we passed by them. The English audioguide that was provided gave very little amount of information compared to the guide.
Then we got to the restaurant. The food was very good and varied and served in nicely decorated plates and bowls. Nice and relax atmosphere. However we would have appreciated a description of the food because although it was good and probably traditional, we couldn't identify some of the plates which were after all part of the discovery. We went then to Gion district where we saw several short performances of Japanese arts: tea ceremony, ikebana, bunraku, maiko show and others for a total duration of about one hour. The tour ended then with a last bus ride to mount Higashiyama from which a beautiful night view of Kyoto and its surroundings could be seen. The bus took then the passengers back to Kyoto station and proposed to stop at different places for those who preferred leaving the bus somewhere else.

Nice tour for tourists who want to have a (very) quick overview of Japanese culture in a few hours. Probably not recommended to those who wish to focus on the maiko/geisha show which is very brief. Yet lacks of explanation in English, we sometimes had the impression to miss the descriptions of the places we went through.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko, Kyoto-style dinner and Night View Tour

Reviewed by: HAT, 2014/12/02

I took 4 friends from Taiwan on this tour. We actually had been on a different tour in the afternoon, and connected to this one. The guide and bus ended up being the same, which was kind of funny. My guests really enjoyed the show at Gion Corner, and I liked seeing all the various performances too. My friends were most excited about taking pictures with the maiko, even though they were shy about it. They also enjoyed the Kyo-ryori dinner and night view.

<Translated by Veltra.com>


  • Gion Corner

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience in Dinner Maiko Show and Night Scene in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Cheung Jolly, 2013/05/21

Every great Japanese tour guide and driver!
Great dinner
Great Maiko and traditional Japanese Introduction Show
Great nightview from Highshiyama
Great service
Very professional!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Categories