Tickets to GEAR, Kyoto's First Non-Verbal Theater Show

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

7 reviews (Post a review)

Amazing!!!!

Reviewed by: May, 2016/10/19

The show is different and unique!!! Just go see it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutly fantastic show

Reviewed by: Alex, 2016/10/19

Very creative show in a modern intimate theater. Talented performers. We recommend it very much.


  • GEAR Theater

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Funny and Entertaining Show

Reviewed by: Willie, 2016/01/08

This show is fantastic to watch! It was a very fun and enjoyable show to watch. Very very entertaining and will recommend to anyone to go watch this show!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An unbelievable world

Reviewed by: Milk, 2015/12/21

The show is held on a tiny theater where the stage is up close.
I found it rather amusing to be able to see the actor’s expressions and to be able to understand the story without words. Seems like many actors interchange for each performance, but they all were in sync to the point you began to think they were always working together. In between all the comedy, we were entertained with magic and juggling performances. It was my first time being able to see magic tricks where an empty can suddenly filled up with juice or seeing cards come out of a person’s mouth! The actors get off the stage and into the audience area to perform coin tricks too. All the shows were super colorful and pretty.
I also really liked the expressions on the yellow and red robot to the point they made me laugh. I had so much fun laughing.
The fan at the very end was amazing. You thought it was going to end, but it kept blowing non-stop. Haha!
I would totally love to go back again when I’m in Kyoto!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super satisfied!!

Reviewed by: Douda00, 2015/12/21

My friend invited me to go along to see this show.
I went not knowing anything aside from it being a show where you use all your senses to experience the show. Heading over to the stage from Kawahara city, I was worried I was going to get lost, but managed to find my way there without a problem. It was nice to be able to sit on cushioned seats with baskets for your luggage on the side. I was told the show was popular among visitors to Japan, but it was filled with a Japanese audience. The crowd ranged from the elderly to young children. I was a bit skeptical on whether the children will be able to watch quietly. I won't spoil any of the content of the show itself, but I was really satisfied!! The crowd had to join in and I was able to watch the show from the start to finish without getting bored. I feel like it's a show suited for all ages. Apparently, the show is slightly different depending on the performers. I would definitely like to go again. The Nishiki market is right by, so it'll be a great way to enjoy Kyoto.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shared family experience.

Reviewed by: oso, 2015/12/21

It was my first time being able to enjoy such a moving experience without any words. It seemed almost like a street performance, but this was far more emotional than that. I was happy to be able to share this enticing feeling with my grown children as well. Even with the same story, I'm sure you would be able to enjoy this show from a different perspective with different actors. I'd love to go back and see this again.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful!

Reviewed by: A Businessman, 2015/01/06

I have lived in Kyoto for a long time, but I did not know that this kind of show existed. Honestly I did not expect much, but as the size of the theater was small where we really felt part of the show, which made me feel good. It was just close enough.

Each performer had a special talent such as dancing, pantomime, magic and juggling. What impressed me the most is the magic, especially seeing it done from close-up.

I have seen Cirque du Soleil several times, but personally this show was the best I had ever seen in terms of realism and empathy.
As one of the performers was not feeling well, which might change the show's contents, I was given a free ticket as a token of apology. But honestly I felt sorry, as the show was perfectly fine. But I hope to take advantage of the ticket as it was very interesting.
The price is reasonable, and the contents seem to change a little every time, so I want to go there several times.
I would recommend it.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Categories