Reserved Tickets for Gion Odori Fall Maiko and Geisha Dance in Kyoto (Nov. 1~10)

Overall Rating

4.864.86 / 5

Reviews

14 reviews (Post a review)

Una bonita experiencia.

Reviewed by: Mercedes, 2016/11/24

Una actuación que recomendaría no perderse a cualquiera que visite Kyoto. Son bailes tradicionales japoneses y es posible que no a todo el mundo le guste pero creo que es algo que hay que conocer. La reserva de los asientos estuvo bien, lo malo que no puedes elegir asiento.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must see feature

Reviewed by: Olga, 2016/11/19

This is traditional japanese thing you definitely want to see.
I personally love it.
You can watch it only here and only 10 days in a year, SO JUST DO IT.
On the other hand, tea ceremony is not the thing you want spend money on. It's not even ceremony: you just get matcha tea and small sweets.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful, enchanting experience

Reviewed by: Leilani W, 2016/11/18

The opportunity to see the Gion Odori was such a lovely and unique pleasure. The dance was beautiful, and the costumes and sets were spectacular. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to see into the traditional and exquisite world of Geiko and Maiko.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great cultural experience!

Reviewed by: Grover, 2016/11/12

It's great that Veltra offered this service which allowed me to buy the ticket in advance. The tickets of this performance were actually only sold at the theater
As I bought it in advance via Veltra, I just collected my ticket at the entrance without worrying about the queue and out of tickets. The show was actually full house when I arrived there! So I highly recommended to buy ticket online in advance.
Before the show, there was a brief tea session in a big room with Maiko performing tea ceremony. The dance performance was like going back in time and totally immersed into Japanese culture!



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Seat

Reviewed by: Leika Ejiri, 2016/11/11

The show was perfect, but my seat had a partial view of it! I was disappointed because I paid the same amount as other people but couldn't enjoy 100% of the show.


  • View from my seat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The essence of Gion

Reviewed by: Victoria, 2016/11/11

This is the meaning of it all, this is what the Geiko & Maiko are trained for. And this might be one of the very few opportunities that a tourist can see a Geiko perform. Not to be missed if you are in Kyoto during this period.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth doing! :)

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2016/11/10

It was a really good experience, definitely worth doing. We had really good seats right at the front, and thoroughly enjoyed each performance. One of the highlights whilst staying in Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tradition

Reviewed by: Nobody, 2016/11/08

Beautiful show of gheishas dancing singing and displaying beautiful kimonos and other costumes

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great performance

Reviewed by: Bob, 2016/11/08

We went to the tea ceremony and geisha performance in Kyoto and thought both weee wonderful. The geisha doing the tea was stunningly graceful- beautiful to watch. Re the performance, the Kabuki in Tokyo had finished the October sessions and the place in Kyoto was still not open after renovations but this performance was fabulous alternative. Beautiful costumes, live musicians, well designed sets etc made for a dramatic performance- not just beautiful girls moving around to recorded music.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience in Kyoto!

Reviewed by: Carlos Eduardo , 2016/11/07

Everything was perfect. The tickets were reserved by the time we checked in and the place of the seats were very good (third row quite near to the stage).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Kyoto Categories