Meet, Touch and Photograph Cute Owls at an Owl Cafe' in Kyoto

Overall Rating

4.604.60 / 5

Reviews

15 reviews (Post a review)

Love the experience !

Reviewed by: Florence , 2017/01/01

I love owls, n this is my first experience and close contact with the cutie birds. Staffs are friendly. You can take as many pictures as you want in your allocated time. The only set back is, it is DIFFICULT to find the location. We asked at least 10 people (shop keepers around the area) and nobody knows where. They point to all different directions. Just walk ALL THE WAY DOWN Teramachi dori shopping street . It is on your right, 2nd floor. Enjoy it!


  • 2 owls at the same time !

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visiting!
We're very sorry for that our place is hard to find ;(
but also thank you for looking for and finding us!☆
You seem enjoyed your time with owls. We are really happy.
If you have a chance to com t o Kyoto again, please visit us♪

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience for the whole family.

Reviewed by: Remoterob, 2016/12/30

Stopped by after lunch and after taking a small lift up to the second floor we were greeted by 2 lovely hosts who clearly love what they do. After a short dos and don't video we were introduced to several smaller owls and got to know them. Once we got more comfortable and familiar we were give large leather gloves and a chance to interact with some of the larger ones. Kids, wife and I loved the hour and felt it was well worthwhile. 12 year old Son, who is seldom impressed by much, other than new computer games, gave it a 5/5 and we almost had to tear him away from the place.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visiting!
We're happy to hear that you all enjoyed spending time with our owls :)
As you come to Kyoto again someday in the future, please visit us!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super cute

Reviewed by: Lynn, 2016/12/24

So we booked an hour with the owls. You can tell the staff loves the owls and really knows each of the birds' personalities. We watched a safety video and that was helpful because I got nervous about what to do with the owls. The staff made sure everyone got to experience the birds! Oh yes, some owls were there to get used to humans and others were on a break. That definitely made me feel better. They had owls ranging from tiny tiny ones to medium sized ones! The staff there informed us that the cafe is too small for large owls. Oh sigh. Amazing time! Super cute owls! And we had coffee with the owls! I fell in love with a little owl named Goma!


Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visiting!
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed it very much and loved our owls :)
If you have a chance to come to Kyoto again, please visit us!
Goma and we are looking forward to seeing you someday♪

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Owl cafe

Reviewed by: points, 2016/12/04

I find it hard to locate the owl cafe. The Google map bring us to the place, we passby there a few times but still never realise we have reached. They have a poster to indicate the owl cafe is at level 2. We only manage to spot the place when the shop attendant bring one owl out to get crowd.

Will suggest to have a meal before you go. There is no food, only drink available.

It is a very small shop with around 10 owls. Big and small cute owls.

There is English instructions video for tourists to follow.

The shop attendants are very friendly and polite. They help us to position the owls, and try all sorts of way to get the owls to look at our camera direction.

Saw another guest cleaning his cloth before us. Luckily, we did not have any dropping on us.

There is a small area selling the souvenirs.

The shop attendant always spray disinfectant on our hand before we left.

Overall, it is fun to interact with the owls.

Reply from activity provider

poinnts様
この度は、フクロウのみせ+plus京都店へお越しいただきありがとうございました!
お店のこともたくさん説明していただきありがとうございます( *´艸`)☆
楽しんでいただけてよかったです♪
またのお越しをお待ちしております☆彡

Thank you very much for your visiting Fukurounomise+plus Kyoto!
And also thank you for explainig our shop's details( *´艸`)☆
We're glad that you had fun time here♪
We're looking forward to seeing you again☆彡

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cool experience

Reviewed by: SSK, 2016/10/18

We were the only ones around in the timeslot so we have plenty of room to move about and got to interact with all 5 owls on 'duty'. The staff explained the rules to us in quite good English and was friendly and attentive. It was a unique experience as we would never get a chance like this in our country.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visit !!
You enjoyed the petting of our shop owl. We are very happy.
There are a lot of owl in the shop. Owl is the time shifts.
We look forward to your visit again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great place

Reviewed by: Gigi, 2016/07/17

We really enjoyed getting to interact with the owls. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the owls. We read over the rules before handling the owls and then we got to play with them. You let the staff know which owl you wanted to hold and they would help you with it. They also took pictures of us. I highly recommend this place if you want to interact with these beautiful creatures:)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visit. It you was good to enjoy. Thank you for your nice comments. I'm looking forward to seeing you ☆

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Owl cafe

Reviewed by: Yanchan, 2016/06/17

Nice meeting~Nice service the staff is very helpful~The Owls is very cute^^

Reply from activity provider

thank you for your comment!
I hope like was able to spend a good time.
It's very cute owl we are!
We look forward to you again coming to the store.










Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Brilliant

Reviewed by: Charlotte, 2016/06/16

I couldn't have enjoyed this hour more with a few different owls and lovely helpful staff. Really great place.

Reply from activity provider

thank you for your comment.
Please come to play.
I look forward to your visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cute owls

Reviewed by: Natassja , 2016/05/26

The Owls were adorable and we were able to interact with them for about an hour. The staff were very friendly and communicated with us in English so we could understand better.

Overall it was a nice experience however I couldn't help feeling sad for the Owls as they were all tied to a little string and forced to sit there while us humans pet and hold them. I asked the staff if they are allowed to fly and where they stay at night and she told me no they don't fly and they are just kept in the same room all the time. It didn't feel right especially as some of the Owls kept trying to fly but couldn't.

The staff seemed great and the Owls were well cared for - I enjoyed being able to interact with such a beautiful bird however left feeling sad for allowing such a place to exist...they deserve to be free.


Reply from activity provider

Thank you for a lovely comment.
It was good seem to have enjoyed.
I am looking forward to your visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Strange animal to be around

Reviewed by: Pong, 2016/05/21

First time being near to owl. Found they are nice and soft feathers. Many size of themwith various price if you want to buy. However, quite heavy to jold and they poo poo ofter

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visit!
I'm happy like was able to spend a good time with the owl.
We look forward to also visit you☆
thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Kyoto Categories