Churaumi Aquarium and Sightseeing Bus Tour (from Naha, Ginowan, Chatan and Onna)

Not too bad

Reviewed by: Brenda, 2016/11/24

We had three hours to spend at the aquarium but will be good if the hours can be extended. However we managed to enjoy the dolphin show at 230pm (but then quickly ran to chase the bus afterwards. Bus departs at 3pm). The recommended time to watch the dolphin show is at 130pm.
When you walk in to the entrance of the aquarium, you can get your photo captured for free (only for the small-sized photo but good enough to serve as memory. If you wish to buy an enlarged photo, then you will have to purchase it). Just be prepared to queue up.

We seem to enjoy the Pineapple Park more than Butterfly Farm (lunch is no good :(

Last but not least, we had a very polite Japanese tour guide. however English may be difficult to understand for her. Audio guide is provided but would be perfect if the tour guide can speak English so that we can have more interaction.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good and compact trip

Reviewed by: HK couple, 2016/11/16

The only comment is that there are too many pick up points taking too much time to pick up and drop off.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The star of the tour - Churaumi Aquarium

Reviewed by: Jul, 2016/11/14

Very enjoyable day outing to the Aquarium, Butterfly Garden and the Pineapple park. The dolphin show was splendid so don't miss the show time; the butterflies are used to humans so they will fly instinctively to you - great for photo shoot!; at first we thought there was nothing much to do at the Pineapple Park but walk to the end to sample goodies like pineapple juice, wine and cakes.

Bring something to munch as the lunch provided is a simple one.

It was almost a 12 hour outing as there was slight traffic jam when we were coming back but we were not in a rush so it was alright. If you are not renting a car this is a great way to see northern Okinawa and it was great value for money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Aquarium

Reviewed by: John and Cheryl Ward, 2016/10/02

The coach was a bit late because of traffic, so that wasn't the fault of the tour, but other than that the trip was great. The butterfly house is in fantastic grounds and the butterflies are really used to humans. It would have been nice to have a bit longer there to get the feel of the place a bit more more, but it was a good start. The aquarium is superb! The dolphin show and manatees were extra bonuses. The location was amazing and the gorgeous little beach in the grounds of the aquarium was lovely. The pineapple park was a very brief stop. As with the butterfly house, a longer stay would have been good. The glass blowing place was essentially a shop, but if you just go there thinking about getting a reasonably priced souvenir and seeing something a bit different, it was enjoyable as well. The tour guide had very limited English but tried hard and provided us with gps based English speaking audio guides which helped us to learn a bit more about what we saw. The price was brilliant for what we did and would recommend the trip to anyone staying in Onna so that they can see a bit more of the north of the island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Churaumi Aquarium tour

Reviewed by: Pascale HUA, 2016/07/30

Tour was well organized.pick up at our hotel 5 minutes late, we were among the first person to get on the bus and could not choose our seat... We wanted to be seated at the front to prevent our baby girl to be sick during the trip.
Tour guide: she could not speak english but we managed to understand each other somehow

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great value

Reviewed by: Chrissy from Aus, 2016/06/06

I would recommend this. It works out about the same as getting public transport and buying a ticket to the aquarium alone. It was a little rushed, I think the glass place and the pineapple place are a waste of time. The butterfly place was cool as was the dolphin show. The aquarium is amazing! A must see. Overall a good well organised day out.


  • Aquarium


  • Butterfly garden


  • Dolphin show

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bang for your buck!

Reviewed by: Linda Siu, 2016/05/07

The Churaumi Aquarium bus tour and three other spots is a great value. Such a low price for an all day tour. You get lunch, a small bowl of Okinawa Soba, at the Butterfly Garden, the aquarium, pineapple park, and the glass factor. We were a group of six, and at the aquarium, five of us got lost. I followed the guide (I understand Japanese) but the others (all Chinese) failed to follow. When I went back to where I last saw them, they were gone! The guide was very helpful. She helped me look for them and found three (including my husband), but the other two were still missing. She went back to the bus and found the other two, brought them back to us. Reunited! The dolphin show was very entertaining but I was eager to see the whale sharks at the aquarium. They had three whale sharks and my husband took some great photos. The other exhibits were hard to see, so many people! Chinese tourists everywhere! We spent three hours at the aquarium and then it was back to the bus. Next stop, Pineapple park, sampled different juices and baked goods. Final stop, Ryukyu glass factory. The pieces are very pretty but pricey so we spent the short time there eating purple potato ice cream, very good, you have to try it when you come to Okinawa.
It took another two hours to get back to Naha and we asked to be dropped off at Kokusaidori. Since we're all in the service industry, and because she was so helpful, we tipped the guide. There were only two things I didn't like about this tour. First, it took 15 minutes for us to walk from our hotel (Rihga Royal Gran) to the pick up hotel (Loisir). 2nd, lunch was too smal. We all could've eaten two bowls of noodles. We were all so hungry, we had the buffet dinner on the top floor of the Ryubo department store! Still, we had a good time!


  • Dolphin show at Churaumi

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

well worth it

Reviewed by: michele, 2016/05/04

Had a great time on this bus tour however really wish we could have spent more time at each stop. I felt too rushed and couldn't enjoy the places as much as I would have liked. Definitely worth the price and will recommend to friends and family! A chunk of the trip was picking up and dropping off people to their hotels so the bus ride was very long but it was really convenient for us. Also you get free little gifts. We got a piece from the glass house and pineapple ice cream!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fruitful Day Trip

Reviewed by: Steve, 2016/04/23

Visit to the butterfly park was surprisingly wonderful but just about 15 minutes self tour would be really a deadly rush. Sufficient time to fool around the Churaumi Aquarium after the light lunch. Thumbs up ! Pineapple park tour was related products hard sell yet a good try. The last stop was merely a stop. After all, visit to the Churaumi Aquarium alone worth the value of the whole tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A bit disappointed

Reviewed by: Yann, 2016/03/28

The tour was a bit of a rush.

For the butterflies, we had to eat our Okinawa Soba very fast to get some time to enjoy them. No guide or signs to guide you, it was hard to know where to go.
The Aquarium was really nice, there was enough time to enjoy it.

The Pineapple Park visit was really disappointing : we had a 5 minutes tour in Japanese to end up in the park's shop. We saw basically nothing of the park, the point here was to buy stuff.

The Ryukyu Mura was a bit more interesting, but the point here was also to buy things (Okinawa Glass).

The tour is really made and thought for Japanese tourists, a pamphlet in English explaining in detail the program would have been nice and helpful, as well as a guide who could speak a bit of English.

This tour is useful to go to the Aquarium, but aside from that, not interesting at all for non-Japanese speaking tourists.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |