Whale Watching Cruise and Nagannu Island Stroll from Naha (January - March)

Overall Rating

4.804.80 / 5

Reviews

5 reviews (Post a review)

Wonderful whale watching experience in Okinawa

Reviewed by: Rainbow, 2015/03/11

I planned to go to Okinawa with my dad in March 2015 for 5 days and we would like to have some exciting activities. Reading a lot of travel books,I found that one of the famous activities in Okinawa is Whale Watching.So I was going to check whether there would be some local tours holding this event.I would like to book the trip in advance that could make sure there were available seats for us.Finally,I booked the trip via Veltra.com because it provided a competitive offer and wonderful service.

For the boat trip on 2 March 2015, there were around 15 persons including half of Japanese and half of Hongkongers. When we got onto the boat, all of the participants were required to wear the lifejackets to ensure our safety and no one could take it off without permission.

Before the trip, I was afraid that no staff could speak in English and we could just watch without any explanation. Luckily, one of the staff could speak English and he was really nice and humor. He pointed to a picture and told us that there was 90% to see humpback whale water spouting inside the sea. 30% chance to see a whale shaking its tale and only 5% to see a whale jumping. He said that if all of us could not see a whale, we could get 100% refund.

Around 9:30 in the morning, our boat was the first one to find two humpback whales in the sea. They should be a mother and a baby whales. They swam around our boat curiously.

30 minutes later, there were four more boats coming to our direction. Including us, there were already 5 boats and all boats composed a circle, waiting for the whales came out from the sea again. Of course, not every boat was so lucky. When they came, the whales were starting to swim away and they could only see the whales for a while.

I really need to emphasize my luck and thanks for our captain. We were extremely satisfactory for this activity. I wish all of you good luck!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Whale Watching Cruise in Okinawa

Reviewed by: Patrick Star, 2015/03/03

To rich the experience of the family vacation in Okinawa, a reservation was made for whale watching cruise through Veltra (www.veltra.com) before the vacation started as a special gift for my family especially for my son. My son was very excited when he heard he will have his first whale watching tour in his life.
We arrived the Tomarin Port North Wharf in Naha Okinawa on 8:30, and boarding after check-in at the Tokashiki Tour Counter. The catamaran head to the location for whale living after a short introduction induced by the tour conductor. To make the trip more comfortable, conductor prepared free candy and small food, also the doggie bag :S. After minutes driving on the sea, the boat arrived the area that whale living, and we all walked to the deck to seek where the whale is. Suddenly, a spray appeared in front of the boat and driver drive the boat directly to that specific location. Wow, a whale! Per the guide, whales take a breath every 10 to 15 minutes, and release air through a blowhole on the top of their heads. You will see white sprays as the whales release each breath! After breath, the whale diving into the sea again, we can see the back of the whale disappeared gradually from the sea surface. The whale tour on boat lasted around 40 minutes and we counted how many whales were observed during the tour, at least five whales were found during the tour include a mother whale with a baby aside her.
The boat arrived the Nagannu Island, a small and beautiful island in the sea. We left the boat and have a short tour on the island. The beach on the island is fully covered by coral and white sand, it makes us really relax to walk on the beach or lie down the sand.
After another 30 minutes drive, we went back to the Tomarin Port and finished the amazing whale watching tour. I took some pictures from the whale tour and post them here, hope you can also enjoy the tour.


  • beautiful island for rest during the whale watching tour


  • whale watching location


  • comfortable board (catamaran) for the whale watching tour


  • observe whale from deck


  • waiting for the whale


  • observe whale from deck


  • Tomarin Port North Wharf

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Magic Trip

Reviewed by: Zhang Fu Zheng, 2015/03/02

When I planned to go to Okinawa for holiday, Whale watching is the most interesting activity for me and whole family, especially my son.
I sourced several channel for booking whale watching. After selection, the price for whale watching on this website is much cheaper than others.
Hotel of Blion is not far from the port, so we walk there in the early morning and arrived in the port at 7:50AM. after confirmation with the receiption, we were requested to wait until 8:00 for boarding.
At 8:00AM, the guidance give us printed schedule for each person including child.
After boarding, each person requested to sit in the 1st floor of the vassel.And everyone was asked to wear the lifejacket.
Before launching, the staff give a long speech, I suppose it is related to the waring about the trip and the behaviors of whales for all passengers, but the language is Japanese, we can not understand at all. Later, he use simple English to explain the warning to foreingers.
Originally, we should first arrive an island, but the whale apper on the way to island. So the boat chase the whale for 1hour. It is Ok when the boat sailing with high speed, but when it sail in lower speed, it make me very unconfortable. So I strongly suggest other guest to have Anti-nausea medicines in advance. That will make your journey more wonderful.
The staff are very experienced, they pointed out the trace of whale for passengers from time to time. We saw the white sprays from the blowhole on the top of the whale’s head as the whale release each breath, then their broad tails slapped on the surface of the water. All passengers were very excited, we all screamed and shouted when the whale appeared on the sea. We stopped this area for about 40 minutes.
Later, we arrived at a small island, all passengers took photos and played with sea for 15 minutes. The scenery is beautiful.
It is really a impressive and excellent experience! It is worthy to go!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best deal ever! Great experience, friendly staff and the lowest price!

Reviewed by: Nikki, 2015/02/24

This „tour“ was just great! Usually when I read description of any tour I prepare myself that it probably won´t be that good, but in this case, it was complete opposite! In the morning we checked in, got in the boat, then very friendly staff explained about that day´s schedule, facilities on the boat and also about whales. I can speak average Japanese so I didn´t expect staff speaking English (it´s Japan, right?) but I was nicely surprised as one of the staff – Nono (I hope I remember his name well) again explained to everyone in English what is going on. On the boat there is toilet, sink, they provide tissues and small plastic bags for those who can´t handle their sea sickness (More than half of the people who were present, including me and my friend, couldn´t handle it. I recommend taking a Pepsi or Coke with you.) and also dust bin for throwing bags away. There is also free cold and hot tea for everyone. First we went for whale watching. We spent a looot of time observing whales. For the first hour we saw only 2 or 3 from far, but then, we saw them more often. Nono always pointed out the direction we should look to. We were lucky to see many of them (every 10-15 minutes one appeared, once we saw two of them), also as Nono said that this is the end, and we will head back, another one appeared, so we stayed a bit more and enjoyed it´s „show“. Then as a part of the tour we went to one of the small islands nearby. We had approx. half an hour to explore the area. The island was cca 2km long, so you really don´t need more time. We could collect the shells and bring them back with us. Nono even gave me and my friend a bag to put the shells in there. And then we returned. It was a great day.
And to be honest, it wouldn´t be so good if the staff wouldn´t be so helpful and nice, creating friendly atmosphere. Oh, and for the people who are on budget (like I was), I did previously serious research and this tour is the cheapest one! Definitely recommend! :)


  • Stop at the small island nearby


  • One of many, unfortunately I have no clear photos (only video)


  • Waiting for whales to appear


  • Ride to the small island


  • Enjoying the atmosphere of remote island


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Impressive Experience

Reviewed by: Tracy Chen, 2015/02/11

I booked the Whale Watching Cruise from VELTRA in advance. After selection, the price for whale watching on this website is much cheaper than others.
On the day of Feb.6, my family, four people including my husband, my two kids, my son is 13 years old, my daughter is only 3 years old, and myself went to the seaport of Naha for the whale watching. Everyone was asked to wear the lifejacket. Anti-nausea medicines are provided, but need to pay.
At first, the staff introduced the behaviors of whales for all passengers, but the language is Japanese, we can not understand at all. After about 15 minutes’ sail, we arrived at a small island first, all passengers took photos and played with sea for 15 minutes. The scenery is beautiful.
Then the boat headed to the open sea for whale watching. The staff are very experienced, they pointed out the trace of whale for passengers from time to time. We saw the white sprays from the blowhole on the top of the whale’s head as the whale release each breath, then their broad tails slapped on the surface of the water. All passengers were very excited, we all screamed and shouted when the whale appeared on the sea. We stopped this area for about 40 minutes.
We had a very good time! It is really a impressive and excellent experience! As a tourist, I highly recommend you to go to experience! It is worth going!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]