Kyoto Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.134.13 / 5

Reviews

15 reviews (Post a review)

Great Tour!

Reviewed by: ARJ, 2016/10/25

The tour was good. We did the half day tour and had the rest of the day to ourselves. I don't recommend this if you don't have any other activities lined up. The train that they will have you on is at 830p at night. The tour lets out around 1230a/1p.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A rushed tour...

Reviewed by: Lily, 2016/04/28

Since we had to take the first train out to Kyoto from Tokyo, we figure the morning would be jam backed. It really felt rushed, overcrowd because the bus was at capacity so we could not hear the guide and due to the fact that we needed to be at the Imperial Palace at a certain time, we really could not enjoy the stops as much as we wanted. With that being said, what we did see what beautiful even thought it was raining and cold. Be mindful that the tour ends at noon but your train will not leave until 8 pm so you must find things to do because you cannot change your ticket to an earlier time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and Historic Kyoto

Reviewed by: Laura M., 2016/04/22

This is a fantastic tour for people who are staying in Tokyo but want to see Kyoto. Because of scheduling, we were unable to stay outside of Tokyo but this allowed us to travel to Kyoto and experience its beauty. The bullet train tickets arrived at our hotel with instructions on how to get from Tokyo to Kyoto. We had no problems at all and the bullet train was a great experience in itself. Once we got to Kyoto, we simply followed the map to our meet-up. The morning tour was fabulous and we were able to see many sights such as Kinkaku-ji and Nijo Castle with a guided tour. Our tour guide was fabulous and helped us understand more about the culture in Kyoto. After the tour, lunch and the afternoon were free. We spent the evening at Kiyomizu-dera but there were so many options to explore with a free afternoon that one could do almost anything in Kyoto before needing to return to the train station. We had no problem getting back to Tokyo at the end of the day. I would definitely recommend making the time in your schedule for this tour if you are staying in Tokyo. It was an amazing experience.


  • Kiyomizu-dera in the afternoon


  • Kinkaku-ji in the morning

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thank you

Reviewed by: Tatiana , 2016/03/31

Our tour was great! I wish we saw more of Kyoto. Our guide was very knowledgeable

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really easy, enjoyable tour

Reviewed by: Erin, 2016/03/16

The tour was great and really easy for two people with school-level Japanese skills. We caught the shinkansen from Tokyo without any problems and found the tour desk easily in Kyoto.
Our tour guide was lovely, spoke good English and had a good sense of humour.
We had picked this tour specifically so we could do our own thing and visit other specific temples/shrines in the afternoon, so finishing back at Kyoto station around lunchtime made this achievable.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Half Day Tour

Reviewed by: Gail from Michigan, 2015/12/19

We very much enjoyed the half day tour of Kyoto and the guide was excellent. However, the tour finished up around noon and the return train ticket to Tokyo was not until after 8pm. We wanted a few hours to wander around on our own but not 8 hours! We would not recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour of Kyoto

Reviewed by: Terri, 2015/11/06

I enjoyed the tour and also the free time at the conclusion of the tour before the train ride back to Tokyo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent GUide

Reviewed by: Rajeshwari, 2015/10/28

I was on bus No. 1 and the tour guide was very enterprising and made the tour a memorable experience. well managed and well done by the guide, forgot his name hope you figure that out and reward him suitably.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good sights but tour needs improvement

Reviewed by: Mel W, 2015/10/26

Enjoyed all of the sights we visited. We had adequate time at each of them and the bus trips were smooth & well driven. The guide seemed rushed & nervous. Was hard to understand her on the bus as she kept taking the microphone away from her mouth. When in the castle & temples we could not hear her at all. We got stuck at the back of the group & missed all of the info. Also would have been useful to be given a map & more info about the train stations & area.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed It

Reviewed by: Matt, 2015/06/21

We did the half day tour of Kyoto and it was perfect. The sightseeing was terrific. We used the afternoon to explore on our own, then took the bullet train back to Tokyo. It was a long day but a highlight of our trip.

Not inexpensive, but I understand a large portion of the tour price was in the train tickets, which is understandable. Our tour guide's english was excellent and easy to understand.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Tokyo Categories