Wear Kimono in Asakusa with a Rental Dress Up Experience in Tokyo

10/10, Would Do Again

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2016/11/25

I brought my family to Asakusa, solely to participate in this activity. At first, they were very apphrehensive, but after donning the kimonos with the help and reassurances of the staff, my parents enjoyed this as much as I, a young adult, did!
If you're looking for a fun family activity, or an activity that allows you to dress up and admire the beauty of Japan's reach history, then this is the one for you! The staff are super duper helpful, and assisted us in finding the best places to photograph our outing! The staff also pointed us to Kaminarimon, a Japanese gate whose shopping street leads you directly to Senso-ji, Asakusa's most famous temple!
My only regret is that the selection of kimonos mostly consists of flower themed fabric; there were little to none featuring animals such as skylarks, koi, or even just trees and branches. But other than that, this experience was well worth it!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Jelena, 2016/08/14

I went here for a kimono dressup and I selected the option for a make-up session as well. The ladies were welcoming and very friendly. They had a lot of kimono's to choose from, and the kimono's they had were beautiful. The make-up and hair was also beautifully done (using brands such as MAC!).
I recommend this to anyone that wishes to dress up in a kimono and walk around beautiful Tokyo. There are Nice parks and sights closeby by which lovely pictures can be taken!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kimono Rental and Photo Shoot

Reviewed by: happyfeet3563, 2016/07/17

My son, nephew, and I did the kimono plan and photo shoot around Asakusa in early June 2016. The pictures were fantastic! The whole experience was the highlight of our trip in Japan. I’m looking forward to returning with my daughter and doing this again!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mother/daughter experience

Reviewed by: Penny, 2016/07/13

I did this with my 12y.o daughter. It was a great experience. Even though we don't speak Japanese, the ladies looked after us and did our hair & makeup as well as dressed us. They were very friendly and polite. The dressing up was just as much fun as the walking about. We only lasted 90 mins in costume as it was a hot sultry day and a festival was on so very crowded when we walked to the temple.


  • Many people wanted to photograph my daughter, and especially old women were appreciative of us being in kimonos.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sooo beautiful Kimonos& kind staffs!!

Reviewed by: Sejung, Hwang, 2016/06/21

I have been there with my mom and staffs were super kind. This studio has various kimonos and flowers. My mother was touched by delicate caring. When we put on kimono, they cared so much and it was all authentic and traditional way. They were very considerate.
When we went outside, so many people asked us to take photos. It was one of my happy memory. Thank you very much and we will come back to you with my sister! :)




Reply from activity provider

We are so grateful that we could serve you in Asakusa.
Thank you so much!
We are looking forward to serving you again.

thank you
sakura photo stuido
감사합니다.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kimono Rental at Sakura Photo Studio

Reviewed by: Yolette, 2016/06/11

Short review: BOOK IT NOW! Do not hesitate and just do it!

Detailed review:
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time! We got to choose from a huge collection of kimonos (seemed like 100+ styles for women). The ladies spoke English decently and put in a lot of effort to putting on my kimono. I am on the bustier side (34Ds) and after teasing that they were "too big", the lady wrapped them up tightly and made me feel and look beautiful (so don't be worried, busty ladies!).

I didn't have a choice on hairstyle (or I wasn't asked what I wanted). I just let the lady do what she felt was best. After doing my hair, I got to choose a hair piece from the "free" collection or fancier ones for an extra 500 yen.

We then roamed Asakusa and felt like celebrities! Everyone were taking pictures of us and with us. One thing I regret forgetting to do was buying an umbrella to look even more the part, but we still had a blast!

I definitely recommend this to everyone! Try to go right when they open so you have the first pick for kimonos!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience

Reviewed by: Lolly, 2016/05/23

We arrived to a room full of other customers and it felt a little cramped and rushed at first, however the workers were attentive and meticulous with the kimono dressing. The overall experience was great and is a must for a first timer.
P.s. be prepared to be the centre of attention as a lot of people will be looking at you and asking for pictures...

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it!

Reviewed by: Anoc, 2016/05/07

My friend and I wanted to wear kimono and just got the day rental, with the first appointment at 930am. Being able to wear the kimono for the whole day in Tokyo was definitely worth the price. They do your hair and we loved our hairstyles! The quality of the materials were also much nicer than some of the rentals we saw people walking around in. The ladies who worked there were also very kind. I highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

We are so grateful that we could serve you in Asakusa.
Thank you so much!
We are looking forward to serving you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great experience!

Reviewed by: Emilie and friends, 2016/04/03

The ladies at the studio were lovely, they made us feel really welcome and our time at the studio had a great atmosphere. The kimonos were stunning and there was a large variety of high-quality kimono to choose from. Thank you ladies for a lovely experience, we will most definitely be back again :)



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Must Do Experience in Asakusa!

Reviewed by: Maiko, 2016/04/02

I could not have asked for a better way to spend my vacation day in Asakusa than being able to roam around with a Kimono. The moment I entered their office, I was greeted immediately by the ladies there, and I can attest that they are all professionals. There's an array of kimonos and hakamas to choose from, and it only took less than 30 minutes for them to dress me. For women, they even fix your hair for you. When I posted up my pictures, all of my friends who visited Japan before were jealous that I got to experience this. This is definitely another way to immerse yourself in the culture, and a great way to spend your visit in Japan.

Thank you to the ladies for being so dandy! You will be pleased to know that I recommended you to all of my friends and family.





Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Tokyo Categories