Japanese Princess and Samurai-style Kimono Photo Shoot Experience in Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.834.83 / 5

Reviews

6 reviews (Post a review)

You should do it!

Reviewed by: HappyHawaiian, 2016/06/29

Wear a real kimono? Check that off the bucket list and preserve those memories in one easy experience. The studio is conveniently located near to Meguro station, within walking distance, even for a two and three year old. The two owners are fluent in English and were EXCELLENT in helping to prepare and photograph my rambunctious toddlers...not an easy feat! Our family looked GREAT and the pictures are fantastic!

My only caution is that although the description reads "40 cuts", you actually only receive your top two choices and need to pay more in order to have all of your pics put onto a cd. It was still a reasonable price, it's just that we weren't expecting additional costs prior to arriving, although it was made clear to us at the beginning of the session.

All in all, the ladies went above and beyond to give us a wonderful family experience.

Reply from activity provider

Dear HappyHawaiian, thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you had a great time here. Yes, we had a very good time with your kids as well! And I really apprecaite your advice about the price. I've been thinking how to clearly state about the price of all of the pictures (with my limited English ability). We consider it and will state clearly for our customers' satisfaction. Arigato-gozaimasu :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Professional Kimono Pictures and Experience

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2015/04/29

I have always wanted to try a Kimono but never had a chance to, so definitely wanted to try this photo shoot when I came to Japan. The whole experience was so amazingly wonderful. The girls spoke English well and we were able to communicate. There were so many different gorgeous Kimonos to choose from. They help to make my hair and had an abundance of hair pins to choose from (There were so many different ones that I couldn't make my choice but was glad that I had their guidance.) The photo shoot was very friendly and fun. I definitely enjoyed my pictures afterwards and wanted all of them. Best of all, you finished your experience with sweets and macha tea in the end. What girl doesn't like ending with sweets right? This was definitely a fun experience and would recommend to anyone!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Sharon, thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you had a wonderful Kimono experience with your favorite kimono and favorite hair pin. Friendliness is probably one of our best points, will continue this atmosphere! Please come back to Japan again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Kimonos and Incredible welcome

Reviewed by: Ffion, 2015/04/26

As there were no reviews of this experience, I was not sure what to expect but as soon as our taxi pulled up at the address and there was a clear sign directing to us to the right floor, I was reassured!

We were greeted by two incredibly hospitable and welcoming Japanese ladies who were incredibly passionate about their business. It was honestly a priviledge to visit them in their studio. First there was the opportunity to choose a Kimono to my tastes and then they did my hair in a style fitting for the Kimono (you also get to choose matching hair accessories too) which was great. After this I touched up my make up and they began to put the Kimono on.

The main experience is then having your photos taken in the studio part along with some fun Japanese accessories. For this experience you have one printed photo included from the photo shoot and you can pay extra to take the digital prints away - which I did as it wasn't too expensive.

I can honestly say that the whole experience was fun and professional with the Japanese ladies making you feel totally at ease the whole time. My husband came along (but he didn't fancy dressing up!) and they made him feel very welcome too and let him take photos of me for free in the kimono outside of the studio too (which I thought was very generous).

After the photo shoot we were both served some delicious green tea and Japanese sweets which ended off the experience brilliantly. This was a totally worthwhile experience and in my opinion much better than walking around outside in a Kimono which I saw lots of tourists do! The quality of their kimonos is so much better and as they are more princess style, it feels incredibly luxurious to wear them. As the lift doors closed at the end of this experience we were left with the image of the two ladies bowing to us on our way out - I cannot rate them highly enough.

Overall a fantastic experience and I'm so glad I chose to do it!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Ffion, thank you very much for your review, and we are glad that you had fun with us. Yes, we believe that our kimono quality is very good to experience KIMONO in Japan. We want our customers to experience authentic and gorgeous kimono if they wore one. Please come back to Japan again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Japanese Shoot

Reviewed by: Andy, 2015/04/26

We signed up for the kimono experience plan because my wife loves Japan and has always wanted to try on a Kimono. The whole experience turned amazing. Despite being unfamiliar with the area, the studio was very, very easy to find located in the NW corner of JR Meguro. The studio itself was very inviting and personal. We were greeted by the girls who spoke English and were super friendly. They informed us on the schedule and details of our plan, so there were no surprises later. Once done, she provided me with a catalog with all the different traditional Japanese men’s wear to choose from. As I have never worn this before, I definitely needed the ladies to help me so that I didn’t wear the pants on backwards! We then proceeded to the studio where they took probably 15-20 photos. They had all sort of different props from me ranging from samurai swords to Japanese umbrellas which was fun. The shoot throughout was very engaging, where the photographer is constantly interacting with you. As I never have modeled for anything, she was very helpful in terms of telling me how to pose, where to put my arm, and where to look. At no point during the shoot did I feel uncomfortable or unnatural. Once done, they allowed you back to the dressing room, where you were actually allowed to use your own phone or camera to take a few pictures for yourself! Since I only purchased the basic package, I was able to choose only 1 pic. However, many of the photos really turned out well and getting extras weren’t so expensive so I picked up more. Even if I selected the whole package of the shoot, the cost was still fairly reasonable (5000 yen). Best of all, the girls are never pushy for you to buy any photos. All in all, this turned out to be a wonderful experience and probably was the highlight of our trip. I would highly recommend this for anyone coming to Japan and hoping for a Japanese experience with pictures to remember.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Andy, thank you very much for your review and we are glad that you had a wonderful experience. It might be one good thing that our customers can use their own cameras and take kimono photos at our fitting room. We hope you and your wife love Japan more!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friendly ladies who will not only dress you up as a princess but also make you feel like a one!

Reviewed by: Nikki, 2015/04/15

When I first booked this experience, I expected that (because kimono is quite an expensive thing) I will feel uncomfortable wearing it and taking pictures. As I come from the country where people providing services are not really that friendly I also expected formal atmosphere. But the reality was complete opposite! The three ladies working at the studio Wa were soooo friendly and created such a atmosphere, that I couldn´t help but laugh during the whole photoshooting. When we entered the studio, they already expected me and my friend and we received very warm welcome. Then they arranged our hairstyle very pretty so it will match with kimono and we got to choose the hair accessory on our own. Also we chose the kimono we wanted to take pictures in. Even though it took us quite a lot of time they waited patiently for us to decide. Then one of the ladies helped us with wearing kimono and the others prepared for the photoshooting. They took around 20 pictures of each of us (also with some props like a sword, flowers, an umbrella) . Then we took off the kimono and got to choose one picture to be printed out. Me and my friend were so satisfied with the pictures that we decided to pay for all of them to get them on CD. While we waited for the CDs, the ladies served us with original japanese matcha - green tea and sweets. For the whole time we were there, they were really friendly. The best hospitality! Even when we returned home and I had a problem displaying pictures on my computer, so I wrote to the studio and they replied within few hours and sent me pictures again.
Honestly, I can´t find anything to complain about. The whole studio is really cozy and close to the Meguro Station, and one lady can speak English very well. I will definitely recommend this place not only here but also to my friends. And I really wouldn´t mind taking my pictures in kimono there again :) They also have a facebook page so you can check some of the photos there.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Nikki, thank you very much for such a kind review, especially we are impressed with the word, "The best hospitality!" Yes, "friendly" is probably the best word to describe our studio. We are always want our customers to smile here. In fact, we really enjoyed the photo session on the day, too! Please come back again if you have any chance, we are always looking forward to seeing you someday :)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very enjoyable experience

Reviewed by: Andy, 2015/04/11

I participated in this activity in the beginning of April with my friend and it was a very enjoyable experience. The Kimono studio is a quite small business with a family atmosphere. There were no other customers at the time, which seemed to be the standard circumstances. The two of us had 3 women staff at our disposal, who took very good care of us. They brushed our hair, provided basic make-up products and dressed us in the kimono of our choosing, which would have been very complicated otherwise. There were about 7 types of kimono in different colours to choose from. If you want your choice to match you perfectly, ask them to show you the real kimono, because the photograph in the catalogue is quite misleading. The shooting itself took about fifteen minutes. You can tell it is not a professional shooting session, but the staff is very pleasant and they try hard to make it work. They also have some additional accessories such as umbrellas, flowers, fans and katanas. Every one of us got 20 photos and we could choose one to be printed out free of charge. If you want the digital version of the whole collection, you need to pay extra money and they burn it out for you on a cd. After the shooting we received a real matcha tea and some sweats. To sum up, this activity is definitely worth the money. It is a great experience!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Andy, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear you had a great experience with us. I learned a lot from your review, we would like to increase more kimono selections and would like to advise more for the kimono match when our customers choose kimono. We really appreciate 5 star review and please have a nice stay in Japan!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories