Tickets for 'SAKURA- Japan in a Box' Non-Verbal Musical Show in Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.434.43 / 5

Reviews

7 reviews (Post a review)

Very enjoyable

Reviewed by: Inna, 2016/11/27

My husband and I enjoyed the show with our two teenagers -- even the 13-year-old who isn't onto theater kept talking about the various moments that impressed him. The music and the dancing, both traditional and modern, integrated with the on-screen tech very well.


  • One of the interactive moments.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family friendly

Reviewed by: HIkari, 2016/10/28

Very light and entertaining, a good option for families with kids as it is not frightening. The performers were really giving their all.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is JAPAN!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2016/09/28

If you are willing to see a modern art show or a typical traditional japanese performance, you may be disappointed... The aficionados of traditional show will judge that there are not enough traditional instruments and dances. Fans of modern dance will think that the choregraphies could be better...

BUT, as a person living in Japan for more than a year now, I can tell you that this represents perfectly the SPIRIT of Japan! This show is a perfect mix between traditionnal and pop cultures : typical characters of manga, traditional music instruments (taikos, shamisen...) and costumes, lot of pretty girls performing on the stage... Certain scenes are really beautiful and the performances follow each other in a wild rhythm.
It is also the occasion to visit one of the most old theatres in Tokyo.

Overall, this show is a big moment of fun (big ballons sent in the public, sakura blossom confetti...) that I totally recommend. I also recommend to download the phone application of the show. During the show, it will give you informations in english about the characters and songs lyrics, and will let you take pictures in augmented reality! This use of the phone during the show makes it even more interactive!
Let's enjoy the crazyness of Japan!










Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very recommended for tourists

Reviewed by: Droppps, 2016/09/26

The show has a mix of real professional dancers and actresses and amateur teenagers. The music is certainly attractive. The idea of using an App at the same time works good. There is no argument to follow, so it is good for any age due it does not require any concentration, just let the show continue.

It mixes several aspects of the general culture of Japan, with 2 Kabuki actors dancing, 3 typical instruments and the typical anime-like background with cute teenagers.

The show plays very well with the lights and the darkness, sometimes a bit too much illuminati but it is ok.

At overall I think it is right for tourists and also for domestic public.


  • Kabuki actor

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/26
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A visual feast, but not quite moving

Reviewed by: Elle, 2016/09/09

Tradition meets pop culture in this visually arresting show. Just as the title suggests, the show is loaded with images of Japanese pop culture, peppered with performances of traditional arts. I think the show's strength lies in incorporating digital media and the theater stage, and in inviting the audience to participate. The parts I liked most were those that included trapeze performances, as well as tossing a huge balloon.

If there's one thing that I found wanting, it's probably the absence of a compelling story. The basic premise seems familiar enough -- a high school girl who wants to find herself jouneys through the seasons, and is at last transformed into Sakura, the very heart of Japan. While all the visual display that comes with the journey is mesmerizing, it does not come with a sense of urgency. The protagonist's struggle to find meaning is lost, which leaves the audience fumbling for a meaning as well.

In the end, I found myself asking, "What exactly does the show say about Japan?" I guess in the show's attempt to portray Japan in a box, it lavishes its audience with a vast array of images drawn from the popular imagination, so much so that fails to temper it with a unifying theme.

All in all, the show is entertaining. Viewers can feast on popular images of Japan, and fans of Japanese subculture would most likely have a blast. Just don't expect it to tug at any heartstrings.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Anime in real life

Reviewed by: Jasmine, 2016/09/08

Coming from New York and seeing Broadway shows and operas at the Met, it was kind of different seeing a musical in Japan. Long story short, you can't get anymore Japanese than this.
While it had traditional performances with Kabuki, Japanese shamisen/taiko drums and sword arts, it also had a mix of modern elements with the latest projection mapping and anime backgrounds! And it totally worked! The craziest part was how they WANT you to use your cellphone during the show! They ask you to DL an app before the show and with that, you can see subtitles when the characters sing and some cool AR stuff happens too. You can take photos whenever you want and after you take them, you can look at them in the gallery of your app!
Great for families with kids or first time visitors to Japan!


  • Cool AR thing on my phone with the SAKURA app


  • My OS is in Japanese but we got subtitles!


  • Awesome Kabuki performance.


  • Sakura's cosplay was so pretty!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enchanting

Reviewed by: Miss C, 2016/09/08

All in all, great show and the Meijiza theater itself is gorgeous! While the start was a little odd, I really got into it. The dancers were fantastic, and the projection mapping really added to the experience. My favorite character was Rin (the autumn spirit), her sword skills were so cool. The more traditional snow dance was breathtaking, the white kimono against the dark stage. The show ended with a shower of 'petals' which was amazing, the whole theater was bathed in pink! Recommended for a fun night out



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories