Sound of Music and Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

9 reviews (Post a review)

A must-do side trip!

Reviewed by: KSC, 2016/11/06

I highly recommend this tour for both fans and non-fans of Sound of Music. Our group enjoyed the semi private tour with 8 people (two groups of 4). The minibus was cozy. We were picked up promptly at 8:30 am from our hotel lobby. The first half of the tour was Sound of Music related, while the second half of the tour featured the beautiful Austrian country side and the truly breathtaking views of Austrian Lake region - Hallstatt. Personally, I feel that only half a day for each part is required and Veltra is the only site with this combo tour available. We went during fall season so we had the added advantage of capturing some beautiful fall colours. At the end of the tour the group was dropped off at the Mirabell Garden (another Sound of Music sight), we wish the tour guide would accompany us all the way through to walk us through the garden and point out some of the significant sights related to the Sound of Music. Overall, we enjoyed this tour very much and Hallstatt is definitely the highlight of our Salzburg visit!


  • I am sixteen going on seventeen...


  • The breathtaking view of Hallstatt

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Sound of Music and Hallstatt Tour

Reviewed by: Rachel & Charles, 2015/09/29

This was our first tour of our vacation and it was wonderful. Our driver, a local raised in Salzburg, was knowledgeable, friendly and most helpful. The large van we traveled in ("Tours by Bob") was most comfortable. The tour titled, "Sound of Music" indeed covered many of the main sights, but our tour guide/driver made it so much more about being in Salzburg and Hallstatt. Was a highlight of our vacation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Adina, 2015/05/28

The tour was great. The group consisted of me and three other people who were all traveling together. The tour guide was understanding when I was late (had trouble finding the tour office). His explanations were interesting, and it was great seeing beautiful Hallstatt and all the Sound of Music sites. I had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The world of Sound of Music

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

I was traveling with my friend ant it was a first time we joined a group tour! We were worried if the bus will really come to pick us up and we were relived that it arrived right on time. There was an American family and a young Japanese girl on the tour. Thanks to the nice weather, fun guide and the driver, we had a really great day! The restaurant recommended by the guide was amazing as well and food was very good. The weather in Hallstatt was wonderful, the sun was glittering on the lake, the town and a little church were lovely and we had enough time to see everything.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sound of Music Tour and Hallstatt from Salzburg

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

There were only 5 people on the tour - family of 3 from America and us 2. The guide was very good and nice.
After visiting a few Sound of Music locations, we arrived at Hallstatt.
We had lunch in a cosy restaurant in St. Gilgen called Muehlradl (www.muehlradl-stgilgen.at). The view on Lake Wolfgang was beautiful. For lunch we had local dish Bauernschmaus with sausage and beef. Then we went to the lakeside in Montsee, visited a small church and walked around the town. We had plenty of time to see everything.
The guide was a walking encyclopedia of Sound of Music and was able to answer to all our questions. We will definitely watch the film again after we come back.

I have become a Sound of Music fan again after many years!

<Translated by Veltra.com>





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sound of Music Tour and Hallstatt from Salzburg

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

There were only 5 people on the tour - family of 3 from America and us 2. The guide was very good and nice.
After visiting a few Sound of Music locations, we arrived at Hallstatt.
We had lunch in a cosy restaurant in St. Gilgen called Muehlradl (www.muehlradl-stgilgen.at). The view on Lake Wolfgang was beautiful. For lunch we had local dish Bauernschmaus with sausage and beef. Then we went to the lakeside in Montsee, visited a small church and walked around the town. We had plenty of time to see everything.
The guide was a walking encyclopedia of Sound of Music and was able to answer to all our questions. We will definitely watch the film again after we come back.

I have become a Sound of Music fan again after many years!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good excurtion to hallsutatt

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

It was sunny and very hot.
We took a boat to have a good view from the lake.
Tis is a very good experience and had a good time there.
The view of the village from the lake was wonderful.
the lake was not clear because of the flood caused by the heavy rain in the eastern Germany.As for the tour of sound music ,it reminded us of some scenes of the movie.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Impressive

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

We confused the meeting point, but actually it helped us to break the ice with other participants. There was a lot of photo stops at different Sound of Music locations around Salzburg, which was great. Hallstatt was our main destination and even though it was foggy, the view was impressive. The tour was in English and the guide's explanations were easy to understand. We really enjoyed the tour. Totally recommend it!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I recommend it

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

Hallstatt was beautiful - definitely worth going on this tour!
The guide was very polite, he asked us if we want to have lunch at Hallstatt or the Salzkammergut restaurant with a nice view on the town, and we all decided on the latter. The view on the lake was amazing and we had a plenty of time there. I recommend it.
In Hallstatt we free time to walk around. Because we had a limited time there, we followed guide's advice and went on a sightseeing cruise first, after 45 min we arrived at a different wharf and continues sightseeing through there to the meeting point.
We bought some amazing wooden toys and some rock salt that was cheaper than in Salzburg.
You will enjoy it more if you see Sound of Music before the tour.
You should definitely go!

<Translated by Veltra.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Salzburg