Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

Overall Rating

4.894.89 / 5

Reviews

9 reviews (Post a review)

Cesky Krumlov full day tour

Reviewed by: from USA, 2016/06/25

The service provided by tour company was "mostly excellent" and Cesky Krumlov is great to visit. However, this tour was not the best idea because Cesky Krumlov is long, long way from Prague. That means a very long time sitting in a shuttle bus. AND, more importantly, the time allocated for Cesky Krumlov was too short. We would have enjoyed more time there. We did not drive ourselves because of the distance. In hindsight, driving and spending more time would have been preferred - or have a trip providing more time at Cesky Krumlov. One additional point must be made. The tour company nicely picked us up at our hotel BUT surprised us (and others on the tour) by dropping all of us off downtown at the end of the tour and telling us to find our own way back to our hotels. Be sure to read the find print of your tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour indeed!!

Reviewed by: Dubai, 2016/04/07

Amazing views and scenery!! Couldn't ask for more. The only drawback is the 2.5 hour drive, but it was all worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour!!!

Reviewed by: Mana, 2015/11/02

I have really enjoyed this Cesky Krumlov Day Trip tour!!
It was good timing for me to go there because that day (the end of October) was the last day to enter the castle this year. I was really lucky.

The tour guide was kind and she taught us a lot of things about the history of Cesky Krumlov. She has a deep knowledge. Although I took a guidebook, I felt that it was not necessary to refer it because I could get every information from her.

The scenery of Cesky Krumlov was great.I will never forget that...

If I have a change to go somewhere in Czech, I would like to use this VELTRA tour again. Thank you very much!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was Nice One-day Trip

Reviewed by: Andrew & Hatsue, 2015/09/26

This guided tour was very enlightening in terms of learning about the history of the area, with rich anecdotes from a very knowledgeable, talented & friendly guide who spoke 5 languages. (She conducted the tour in both Spanish & English.) The scenery was, as expected, picturesque & the restaurant where we had lunch was top-rate with traditional food & the best quality local beer. The added bonus (for us) was the opportunity to wander & explore the streets on our own. Despite the crowds, the guided tour itself offered great value & we felt that we learned (& saw) more than if we had simply gone by ourselves . . . High recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a day!

Reviewed by: Oi Ying, 2015/06/07

The day tour included two hours of free time for lunch and shopping in Cesky Krumlov. It was very nice spending an hour on a restaurant terrace facing the river, watching people who were rafting while enjoying a cold lemonade on a sunny day. I also found the shops there very interesting, as some of them were selling self designed leather bags and purses.
I would recommend this tour to anyone who don't want to walk so much. The tour guide arranged to drop us down at a car park near the top of the castle hill, which means I was walking down the hill most if the time. If I went by myself I would have to walk up the castle hill, which was quite steep and it would have been very tiring for people at my age.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip!

Reviewed by: Kevin Wong, 2015/06/07

The day trip was fantastic!
The tour company was very punctual when a driver picked us up at the hotel. After he finished picking up all other participants, I was transferred to another bus at the meeting point. In hindsight, I would advise others not to utilise the pickup service if staying near the city centre, you could save some time for breakfast.
The tour guide I had was a lovely, friendly and energetic Czech elderly, who spoke good but sometimes broken English, willing to tell you every single detail about his experience living in communist Czech Republic and anything you will see along the journey. Not only he did a great job in explaining things along the way to CK and within CK itself, he even introduced the history of some of the landmarks in Prague.
I would highly recommend this trip to anyone travelling to Prague and looking for a day trip. CK is so picturesque.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must see!!! :D

Reviewed by: dora the explorer, 2015/05/12

The tour included a free hotel pick-up service which was very convenient. It was a long ride going to Cesky Krumlov so I was worried that too much time will be wasted. However, we had an excellent tour guide and I really had fun listening to her stories. It was interesting to know about the history which gave me a better understanding and appreciation not only of the present-day Cesky Krumlov, but also of Czech Republic as a whole. ☺

The Cesky Krumlov experience was really magical. I enjoyed walking around the town. The houses were so unique. Moreover, the food was also cheaper compared to the ones in the city so I ended up eating a lot. Haha! Best part was even with its low price, the quality and taste were not compromised. ☺

The package also included a guided tour inside the castle. The interiors of the castle were really beautiful. Every part of the castle had its own story. The tour guide was very entertaining. Aside from the historical facts, she had a lot of funny jokes which kept her audience on their toes!

Overall, I would absolutely recommend this tour. The long ride was really worth it. Cesky Krumlov is definitely a must-see as it offers a unique magical experience for explorers like me! ☺


  • Castle :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Like a fairy tale

Reviewed by: Mysticstaff, 2015/05/11

The bird's eye view of Cesky Krumlov from the castle was absolutely breathtaking, as though it was straight from a Disney movie. For me, the view alone already made the long trip worthwhile, even better than what you see on pictures on the Internet. Even so, be sure to bring your best camera and take good panorama shots!

We were very lucky... the weather was predicted to be terrible, but we were blessed with perfect sunny weather during our stay (it rained only when we were about to leave).

I took a quick lunch at the main plaza – a huge juicy sausage served with bread and mustard, and caramelized almonds for dessert... all of them cheap and very tasty. Afterwards, we had time to walk around the cute little medieval town before meeting our guide for the main castle tour.

The bus ride back and forth will take around four and a half hours total, but it was far from uninteresting. From our departure from Prague and almost all throughout the bus ride, our knowledgeable tour guide told us interesting stories about the history of the Czech Republic and its people. All that time we enjoyed a view of the Czech countryside filled with cheery yellow flower fields and cute little villages.

I think this day trip to Cesky Krumlov is great for travelers who have only a few days in the Czech Republic but wish to escape the hustle and bustle of the capital city, and experience the fairy-tale like enchantment of the Czech countryside.


  • View from Castle wall window

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We enjoyed it

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/13

I went on this tour with my daughter. The bus driver came to pick us up from the hotel (Hotel Andels Praha). It was a first pick up, so the bus was empty and we could chose our seats freely, but later the bus was packed. There were tourists from all over the world, Japan, America, Italy, UK and so on. The guide was very nice and very experienced (it seems he guided many tours in Czech and abroad).
We arrived to the destination after 2,5h drive. We had a soup, a schnitzel and a cake for lunch - it was very good and portions were big. We had some free time to walk around the town and then we visited the castle.
The breakup point was at the Republic Square, but it was summer and quite busy with tourists, so we managed to get back to the hotel safely.
I also want to compliment the driver on his safe driving. Some people may say that it's cheaper to go to Cesky Krumlov by bus on your own, but in this tour you have lunch and entrance tickets included and also you don't have to worry about making it on time for the return bus, so I'm glad we joined this tour.
Thank you for a great tour!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Prague