Rhine Valley Cruise Day Trip from Frankfurt including Lunch

Overall Rating

4.574.57 / 5

Reviews

14 reviews (Post a review)

Great tour of Rhine Valley, a little bit rushed

Reviewed by: Frank, 2015/11/02

I took the full day tour. The schedule was as follows:

11:15 depart from ETS headquarters, by bus
12:00 (optional, 5 EUR) 15-min cable car ride down from Rudesheim Niederwald Monument to Assmannhausen - unfortunately no stop at the Monument, just the cable car down
12:30 lunch at restaurant: chicken or vegetarian, + pay for own drinks
13:45 wine tasting at same restaurant, next door
14:30 river boat ride by Bingen-Rudesheimer from Assmannhausen to St. Goar
16:00 bus ride back from St. Goar to Rudesheim
16:45 45 minutes free time in Rudesheim
17:30 return to Frankfurt

It was a bit rushed but the tour guide was funny. As expected the views were wonderful. If I had known that this was the itinerary I would have just gone on the trip myself. Would have been cheaper and more flexible.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must do "Rhine valley Tour"

Reviewed by: Joseph, 2015/10/22

This alone made visiting Frankfurt an amazing experience.First of all everything is arranged to perfection.It was very easy to meet ,right off haupenhauf station.At 11 am we set out ,everything was done on time and the bus ride very enjoyable to rhine valley.There were 15 people from all over the world.Everyone was friendly and the tour guide excellent.When we arrived we stopped at a beautiful restaurant.The decor was breathtaking.They serve both chicken and a vegetarian meal.I had the chicken and it was delicious.From the valley I took the ski lift down and this was an unexpected plus with a nice view.We then went on the Cruise.It was serene and sunny ,so I stayed on the upper deck.Very nice.For me ,I will remember this the most .The bus was waiting for us and we went to try different wines.if you like wine you'll love this.This was a great experience and to see something different around Frankfurt.I spent a relaxing day and recommend it highly.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable Tour

Reviewed by: d_patterson99, 2015/10/03

On our way through Frankfurt we decided to take the Rhine Valley River Cruise. The tour bus was punctual and our full group was on our way. We started the tour with a ride down a ski lift into a town along the river. After lunch we got on the boat and saw many towns and castles along the river. The bus picked us up at the end of the cruise and dropped us off at our convenient starting point by the train station. An enjoyable day with no surprises that lives up to the description. Do not mistake this for a wine tour, but you could leave the tour at any point and make it into one if you are so inclined.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Tour

Reviewed by: cassandra_angel, 2015/10/02

Overall, this was a good tour and a good day trip out of Frankfurt. We went on a Sunday, which made it a large group, but a good day because most things in the city were closed anyway. After taking the bus trip out to the Rhine Valley, we opted to take the ski lift down. It was a little disappointing because we had trees on either side for 90% of the ride down, that being said, I would do it again. Lunch was good, then it was on to the river cruise which showed some beautiful scenery. We then took the bus back to the same restaurant we had lunch in for a "wine tasting". This I could have done without. With so many wineries and vineyards around, I was expecting more of an authentic experience, instead we had minuscule amounts of wine in plastic shot glasses. All being said, it was a nice and easy way to get out of the city and have a guided tour of a portion of the Rhine Valley.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Do Not Miss the Rhine Valley!

Reviewed by: Nicolas, 2015/09/20

This tour leaves from Frankfurt at 11am and returns at 7pm. The meeting place is in front of the office of Green Line Tours where you're met by the guide that will accompany you on the trip. The tour was completely sold out, and the bus was full. Therefore, it is recommended to arrive early if you want to sit with your group/partner on the bus. The tour guide on the trip (Willie) was very good, he was funny, very knowledgeable, and he was fluent in English. The bus was clean and comfortable it took around 1h to reach the Rhine region and our first destination the restaurant for lunch. The lunch included the main (chicken or vegetarian) only. I purchased a local glass of wine for 3,50€. Overall the restaurant is beautiful, offering a view of the Rhine and is decorated with stained glass. However the food is nothing special, the chicken is served with coleslaw and fries. It's decent but don't expect German food. After lunch I got on the boat for the Rhine cruise. I sat on the top deck, it was a sunny day (wear sunscreen!) where you have a good view of all the castles and other interesting landmarks. The cruise is narrated in multiple languages when nearing points of interests. For best audio it's better to sit at the front of the boat. You can purchase food and drinks on the boat. I purchased a glass of wine for 4€. The boat ride is around 1h30 and is the highlight of the trip. Do not miss the Rhine Valley! We then got back on the bus and stopped at a optional cable car attraction. For an extra 5€ (worth it) you ride above vineyards and have a beautiful view of the city and of the Rhine river. We then returned to the same restaurant for wine tasting, however we sat in a different room even more beautiful than the restaurant. The wines are described to us and we have the option to purchase some bottles. It was fun to discover delicious German wines. We then got back on the bus to return to Frankfurt. It was very enjoyable day and I highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Day in the Rhine Valley

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/09/19

I had a fantastic time on this day trip. I was part of a large group (57 people) and had Willie as the guide. He was knowledgeable and very funny. I was particularly impressed at how well he was able to keep such a large group organized. Due to a Rhine River festival that required all cruise boats to be docked early, we had lunch first, followed by the cruise, cable ride (optional for 5 EUR), and wine tasting (cannot recall the usual order of activities). The lunch was simple but satisfying. The cruise lasted 1.5 hours and travelled from Rudesheim to St. Goarshausen. The views were beautiful on that sunny day. The cable ride lasted 15 minutes. It provided great views of the Rhine River and vineyard-covered hills. The wine tasting took place in a tavern that was part of the restaurant where the group had dined for lunch. It offered small samples of five wines, which were available for purchase after the wine tasting. At the end of all these activities, there was an option for 30 minutes of free time in a small town for souvenir shopping, but only a few people wanted to do it. As an alternative, people were given the option to be dropped off in the main shopping area or the starting point upon the return to Frankfurt. Overall, I highly recommend this day trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful trip through history

Reviewed by: David, 2015/09/15

My wife and I decided to fill our Monday with a trip to the UNESCO world heritage Rhine river tour. Michael was our tour driver who spoke many languages to accommodate the various backgrounds on our tour. US, china, canada, Chile, Japan made up our team of 16. Everyone on the tour was impressed with the service. Michael made the trip more fun with humor and history. The lunch was in a cute little shop and was not over the top. We were satisfied. After a small wine tasting (which was small but informative), Then on to the boat tour. WOW. Such a cool setting, surrounded by wine vines as far as you can see... and beyond. We had no idea how many grapes were grown in the German countryside. The castles were stellar. The views were incredible. There is nothing quite like this in the US.
We would recommend taking the ski lift down to assmannshausen if the weather is nice. It is worth the price. Also, the brief shopping in rudesheim was very nice too. If there was one criticism it was the short time in rudesheim. There is much more to explore here, and we'd recommend going not on a Sunday/monday because some things are closed. This trip was one of our favorites in our stay in Germany. Not to be missed.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience in Rhine Valley

Reviewed by: Jing, 2015/07/24

I joined the tour on 18July2015, the tour is excellent. All arrangement is perfect.
I enjoyed a lot the sightseeing in Rhine, it is a World Heritage area that definitely worthy to spend time to visit. The tour guide is very knowledgable and helpful. The tour guide provided clear information about the views surrounding on cruise and always show the attitude that welcome for any questions . You can get all the answer form your questions.
In lunch time, a great lunch on the cruise was arranged. you can enjoy the nice river view on cruise with your lunch.
I have no regret to participate in this wonderful tour. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Bre, 2015/06/24

I really loved this tour! The staff was amazing, and the schedule worked seamlessly. It was a relaxing day and nice to have all the transportation between locations taken care of -- no hassle of figuring things out on your own. You can opt in or out of a cable car ride for a small fee, which I thought was well worth it. The boat cruise was beautiful. Also, on all bus riding in between locations, the staff provided commentary on things about the area and things we were passing -- very informative! You can get to know others on the tour, or keep to yourself, it just depends on the experience you are looking for. The only downside and reason I did not give it a 5-star rating was stopping at several locations to drop off passengers who had paid extra to be dropped off near their hotel. It seemed strange to inconvenience everyone else on the bus by spending extra time driving around the city. I recommend going to the main drop off station first to let the majority of the passengers off, then drive around to the locations for the few that had special requests. Or -- have a smaller van/bus take around the few that had special drop off requests on the return.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rhine River Cruise

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

By the time we got to the Rhine River, we were already like friends. There was a Brazilian judge and a Japanese sailor, but everybody wastalking in English so that everybody could understand. I was ready for the cold weather, but I was surprised that it was in fact quite warm! I fully enjoyed the cruise, the explanations with humor by the guide, having lunch with some wine and seeing the Lorelei statue and the ancient castle.
Personally, this was a 100% perfect tour tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Browse by Frankfurt