Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Glacial Lagoon Day Trip

Overall Rating

4.604.60 / 5

Reviews

10 reviews (Post a review)

A pleasant surprise

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2015/10/05

Bad weather and very windy conditions! They had to get us the most sturdiest bus in the fleet! The driver did an excellent job however. The guide spoke a bit too much about the flood that took place a few days earlier in my taste but he was very knowledgeable and friendly nonetheless. Our main destination for the day: Jökulsárlón! This blueish lagoon with its drifting icebergs is something unlike you've ever seen before. It is something you have to see in real life, pictures I've seen don't really do it justice. The boat tour surely added to the experience, we even got to taste 1000 year old ice! Is 1 hour at the glacier lagoon worth a 15 hour day trip? It depends... I for one was very pleasantly surprised!


  • Ice on the boat!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jökulsárlón... worth it, without a doubt!

Reviewed by: Mark Jochems, 2015/10/05

Despite the bad weather the pick-up at our hotel was right on time. A smaller van brought us to a central bus station where we were transfered to the bus that would bring us to Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon. It was an easy and quick proces. Since there were quite a few Germans on the tour, our guide, named Brandon, did the entire tour in (fluent) German and English. About every 10 minutes he spoke over the intercom about the surroundings, Icelandic traditions, the weather and other often funny tidbits. The bus stopped quite a few times on the way to and from the lagoon, including 2 stops for 45 minutes to have lunch and dinner. The day was long and the weather bad. Very bad to say the least as it rained most of the day. I highly recommend everyone to bring a decent rain suit as some strong winds at the Skógafoss waterfall got me soaking wet and that accounted for some unpleasant hours on the bus. I should have been better prepared for this trip. However, seeing the icebergs in the distance made up for it, big time! What a sight! A 30 minute trip by amphibian boat brought us even closer to it all. The car chase scene in the James Bond movie ‘Die Another Day’ was filmed on this lagoon and it’s not that hard to remember this particular scene while you’re there. I can honestly say the visit to Jökulsárlón makes this long trip worth it and most of the people on this tour seemed to agree. Everything else you see is just an added bonus. Definitely one of my highlights in Iceland! We arrived back at our hotel at 22h00.


  • Jökulsárlón!


  • Drifting ice...

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: AAE, 2015/09/27

Veltra made the tour easy with a simple booking process, without any problems once we arrived. The pick up process at the hotel was smooth. Our tour guide told us about Iceland's culture, geology, and history as we made our way to the Jökulsárlón lagoon - everything from the old ways of the settlement to modern language and custom. Although the grayline tour bus was a little uncomfortable (without much leg room for a long ride), the waterfalls, glaciers, mountains, coast, and countryside were amazing and we were otherwise well taken care of during the trip - a "must see" experience of ice and water. It was a good way to introduce us to Iceland and to entice us to come back when we have more time to explore on our own. We would not have missed seeing it all. Again, Veltra made it easy.


  • Glacier Lagoon

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

South Coast

Reviewed by: Carlo, 2015/07/20

Amazing siteseeing all in one long day, from amazing waterfalls to a ride on the glacier lagoon. Well worth it! Enough rest stops to use the bathroom and buy something to eat. Comfortable coach with very knowledgable tour guide. Weather was great and got to see the glaciers and waterfalls I'm their full glory, as well as the black beach at Sellfoss. Started on time and finished in Reykjavik on time. Dropped off at the hotel which is a bonus after a long day. I would definitely recommend this tour to someone who only has a few days in the country and want to see as much as possible. I will definitely be back.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Iceland day tour excursion to southern glacier lagoon

Reviewed by: Chan Kwun Pan, 2015/06/19

My trip was going to the South Coast and Jokulsarlon Glacial Lagoon. I am looking forward to this trip because I like to have sight seeing on the natural view in Iceland, especially for the Glacier Lagoon.
On the whole, the trip was quite good. The pick-up service was on time and the driver was very nice. When the bus arrived the meeting point, the bus driver helped me to pick up the luggage. Also, the tour guide could explain the history of Iceland clearly. Her spoken speed was moderate and her voice was soft. I could understand what she was talking about and I were familiar with Iceland culture afterwards. During the bus trip, the environment was quite nice. The air condition made me feel comfortable and I fell asleep easily. Also, there was electric plug for the travelers to charge their electric devices. These are the good point to travel with this bus. However, the bad thing is that the wifi signal in the bus was unstable. Sometimes I could connected with the internet but sometimes I could not. I think the bus company should improve this as soon as they can. On the other hand, the weather was not good unfortunately. It was raining and cloudy all the time. The most regrettable thing was that I cannot see the Glacier Lagoon under the sun and I cannot see any seals there. Also, I would like to travel the lagoon by speed boat rather than an amphibian boat because speed boat can move closer to the iceberg. I hope that the tour can let customers to choose which type of boat they travel by in future. And about the stop in waterfall, I think the time was not enough for us to explore about the waterfall. If the time can extend longer, it would be much better. In addition, the stop for dinner and lunch is not necessary because we supposed to bring our own food so that the trip can be shortened and smoother. Overall, the trip is worth for the travelers to participate especially for those who want to see the amazing glacier lagoon and the wonderful waterfall.


  • Glacier Lagoon :)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing waterfall

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

This tour will let you enjoy the dynamic nature of Iceland.
I decided to join this tour after my friend saw some reviews and felt a need to go there. For those who are visiting Iceland, this tour is strongly recommended.
We took this tour in the mid September. The day was still quite long and it was not that cold in Reykjavik. However, it was cold when we got to the glacial lake, so it was a right decision for me to take a thin down jacket from UNIQLO.
I saw some reviews that said it is be better to sit on the left, so I sat on the left. Thanks to these reviews I managed to see some really amazing views!

<Translated by Veltra.com>



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a wonderful day

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

This tour lasted a whole day, and I was worried whether this would be a waste of time, but I am now happy to say that I was wrong and it was an amazing day. The guide who was our driver was very nice and created a very friendly atmosphere, so everybody felt comfortable. We could feel that all he cared about was if we enjoyed the tour. He also took many pictures of us at different spots. He also asked where each of us would like to be dropped off, since it got late when we came back back. This was a very good tour. Thank you very much.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fully satisfied with the great nature

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

We saw a waterfall and went on a cruise. The view seen from the inside of the bus is so amazing that it is a waste to sleep through. You can go to the back of the waterfall, which is a dream come true, but you will be soaking wet. You need to be careful not to wet your camera! Our last stop was geothermal plant, and it was fun to see everybody panicking because of the sulfur odor.
It was a long 15-hour tour, but I'm fully satisfied.

<Translated by Veltra.com>




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Its wonderful!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

On the boat on a glacial lake, we could eat the ice from the glacier.
The waterfall we went by was wonderful.
Even in the summer it is very cold, so you should make sure you have appropriate clothes. There were many people on the tour who wore clothing for rock climbing (such as Gore-Tex). It was a very long tour but it was worth it!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Impressive!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

The glacial lake was much more impressive than I imagined it to be! The day I went it was quite sunny and therefore not as cold. It was extremely lucky! I was even able to touch a glacier. If I could, I would like to go again.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Reykjavik