Bernina Express to St. Moritz and Swiss Alps Day Trip from Milan

Berninia Express

Reviewed by: Kathy Goldman, 2016/09/22

Trip was very good and very comfortable. St. Moritz was a little disappointing since most of the shops were closed for the season. Our guide was informative and did a great job explaining the history of the area and pointing out different scenery to us. Loved the little town of Torina and the church there.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very well done (you'll be waking up early!)

Reviewed by: Brian, 2016/06/29

We loved all parts of this trip except for waking up early. The bus ride over to Tourin was quite scenic and involved a brief stop (going each direction) at Italian mini markets that were fun in their own way (lots of interesting food). The town we stopped in to look at the church and then have an authentic lunch in was quite nice. The Bernina Express itself was excellent - we were able to put down the windows of our train cars to take pictures and had several chances to take pictures of each view.

My main reasons not to give 5 stars were (a) we had to wake up very early, being at the (downtown) pickup site by 7:45. The company did not provide a list of hotels that they would pickup from, just telling us too late to rebook that our hotel was not one of them. I felt that the stop at the church was not needed if a later start would have been possible. I realize that the train sets the time of travel to a large degree but staying in St. Moritz (even in the down season) would have been good). The other issue was that (b) the guide, while speaking excellent English and providing good logistical information, did not say as much as I expected. Some sights were explained but others were not, especially on the train ride.

Worth our time. I am not a morning person so I was a little sick the whole time but most of the others were having a great time and we met some interested co-passengers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Tour

Reviewed by: Gabby, 2016/04/09

I loved this tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful the entire time. I would definitely take another tour with them again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bernina Express, Swiss Alps from Milan

Reviewed by: YKK, 2016/03/28

This was the highlight of our trip to ITALY where we spent 1 week. Before the Bernina, we spent time in ROME, Venice, Milan and did 4 tours. The Bernina express/Swiss alps tour was absolutely breathtaking !! Also since most of the tour was spent inside of the coach and inside the train seated, it was not as tiring as the other tours. These sell out so get it reserved ~6-8weeks in advance.

You won't be disappointed

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Train trip of a lifetime!

Reviewed by: TravelingArtist, 2015/10/09

I had heard of the Bernina Express on a PBS special about famous scenic train rides and started my research on the tour. During the research, I ran across tours offering the trip and decided to book. I am so glad I did! I had hoped to capture a few shots to paint along the way and ended up with so many it will be hard to choose from them all. After a quick trip by bus ( which was also very scenic through the famous Lake Como), the bus took us to Torino where we stopped for lunch and did a bit of local shopping. We then boarded the Bernina Express and started our journey through the Swiss Alps. The tour was led by Andrea who did a fantastic job preparing us before we approached key sights so we could prepare our cameras. The challenge was what to pick from...my camera couldn't take the pictures fast enough to capture all the eye candy! After we arrived in St Moritz and enjoyed a cup of hot cocoa at a local restaurant, we headed back by bus and experienced even more exciting views. One of the thrilling pics I got on the way back was when we drove down thousands of feet in just a few minutes. The road twisted and turned back and forth. Then onward to even more great pics! This was by far the highlight of our trip to Milan! I wouldn't hesitate to do this again as I imagine each time you go...in any season, the scenery would change based on the weather conditions.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bernina Express

Reviewed by: Ron Gipson, 2015/10/09

This was our first time to Italy and this excursion was one of the most exciting evens. The views are amazing and our tour guide Andre made the event much more interesting with his discussion about the areas as we passed through. Since we were not experienced with travel methods in Italy it made this outing stress free since all of the activities were organized for us. The view of the countryside was breathtakingly beautiful and early October seems to be a good time to do it as the weather was perfect. I was amazed that we were able to do the entire trip through the Alps with the windows down! Now that's fresh air. In addition to the fantastic train ride the bus portion of the activities was also very comfortable and interesting. The combination of both the bus and train on this route made for a great day.


  • Beautiful views of Lake at San mortiz.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

More than what I expected

Reviewed by: Traveller, 2015/08/24

It was a lovely tour which exceeds my expectations. Originally when I booked the tour I thought it is just like a combo ticket with bus from and to Milan and the train Bernina Express. But it had more to offer. The tour guide was very friendly and helpful as she provided many useful information about the region along both the bus and train rides. I thought that this trip would be like an escape-kind-of excursion to Switzerland from Milan but I actually learned a lot more about Italy from the tour guide's commentary. And of course, the views from the Bernina Express train ride are superb and never disappointing.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bernina Express (Jun 02 2015)

Reviewed by: anonymous, 2015/06/14

Riding the Bernina Express has got to be the best and most scenic train ride I have ever taken.

The bus departs early from Milan and after one hour to one and a half hours, you will pass by Lake Como. The views along the lake are stunning, especially in the morning. (Tip: Sit on the left side of the bus if you wish to snap a few pictures.) Unfortunately, the route that the bus travels also has numerous tunnels, so the nice view cannot be seen half the time. After about twenty minutes, you will arrive at the rest stop, before proceeding to the Tirano. Tirano is a charming little town with one main street. You should take pictures at the church and the tourist train (near the main shopping street). You should try the restaurant recommended by the tour guide and try their speciality dish. After that, it's time to hop on the Bernina Express (and remember to snag a window seat)! The train starts off slow, but it gets more exciting as you climb up. Once you higher up in the Alps, the view keeps getting better and better. The best part is to be near the (frozen) lake sitting pretty next to the snow-covered mountains (even though it's already late spring/early summer). After ninety minutes, you will arrive in St Moritz, which has a wonderful lake. If you go in the low season, chances are that most establishments will be closed. Still, the town is worth exploring. You will take the same bus back to Milan. The bus will drive along the lake, before descending the steep roads down the stunning mountains.

Riding the Bernina Express is the highlight of my trip to Milan, and it is very worthwhile to try it out if you're visiting.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful views from the train

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

The view from the window of Bernina Express was wonderful! We could see snowy mountains, lakes and white, yellow, purple alpine flowers. Just sitting on the seat alone enabled us to view the Alps mountains towering about 2500 meters. At Saint Moritz, we could stroll leisurely by the lake. Although I joined an English tour, the tour guide spoke very clear English and I did not have any problems understanding him. I think this tour will satisfy even elderly people.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A lone traveller on the Bernina express

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

Because I came here all the way, I thought I should drop by the neighbour country and joined the tour. Certainly Saint Moritz is very Swiss, unlike Italy! I enjoyed the atmosphere, but the Bernina express was the best part of the day.
I was thinking about getting quality sleep on the train, but falling asleep would be truly a waste of time. After all, I ended up staying up to keep on shooting photos from Tirano to Saint Moritz.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |