Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour: Skip The Line Tickets

Overall Rating

4.204.20 / 5

Reviews

5 reviews (Post a review)

DISAPPOINTING TOUR GUIDE

Reviewed by: Athena, 2016/08/29

Our first problem was finding where to meet up. You need to proceed through to the audio office and into the square beyond where you will find the meeting point by the toilets.
What should have been a very interesting tour was ruined by the tour guide.
Our guide was totally uninterested and rushed us through everywhere, urging us into a tight crowd throughout. There was absolutely no possibility of photos as we were always crowded together and were treated like disobedient school children on an outing.
Although she asked if we had questions at certain spots she never gave satisfactory replies.

We were most disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great value for the price

Reviewed by: Vladislav, 2016/02/04

I got the tickets for the tour at almost 30% off the price I would pay on the ticket desk. What was odd, though, was the numerous questions I got to answer about my contacts - including flight number of the plane that I will use to get there, name and phone of the venue I am staying at, etc. This was quite unusual and I am not sure why it's needed.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Vladislav,

Thank you very much for choosing VELTRA! We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with your purchase!
The reason we ask for a detailed information about your journey and hotel, is that we can contact you in case of an emergency, unpredicted change in the tour schedule or cancellation. Sometimes our traveller don't have access to the Internet while travelling and we want to make sure we can do everything we can to maintain the best communication possible. We sincerely apologise that you found this procedure troublesome - we will make sure to improve that in the future!

Sincerely,
VELTRA Customer Support Team

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must see and do tour - When in Venice!

Reviewed by: Clarisse Ramos, 2015/06/09

We booked the Secret Itineraries tour through Veltra. It was very easy and informative. It was easy to figure out which line we were supposed to because the directions were simple. The tour was excellent. We had a very friendly guide —we could understand them pretty well. The tour is definitely worth doing when in Venice, and afterwards we stayed around to look at the other rooms not on the tour and took pictures. We loved hearing all the stories about Casanova and seeing Titian’s oil painting, the largest in the world was amazing. It is also convenient that you do not have to wait in the long line up outside especially in the heat right now. I loved all the facts and was just in awe. It is must to do this tour!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fascinating!! :D

Reviewed by: dora the explorer, 2015/05/16

The Doge’s Palace Secret Itineraries tour was very interesting. We went to the administrative offices, interrogation/torture room and also to the prison cells which include Casanova’s. We had a wonderful tour guide who told us a lot about the palace and its people. Doge’s palace is very rich in history, so hearing our tour guide’s stories made me understand and appreciate the role of the palace especially during the old times. What I liked most about the tour was being able to see the actual site where Casanova was imprisoned and then his route towards freedom. It was really interesting especially with the tour guide describing how Casanova escaped. After the guided tour, we were able to freely explore the palace on our own and take time to admire its beauty. Definitely a must when visiting Venice!! ☺

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An interesting side of Venice

Reviewed by: Mysticstaff, 2015/05/11

If you wish to experience the shadowy side of Venice, then Doge’s Secret Itineraries will be an interesting tour for you. The tour took us to the secret prisons, torture chambers, hidden passages, and administrative offices which looked like the deck of a ship. We were escorted by a very informative tour guide who explained how powerful men of Venice schemed, and where the fearsome secret police did their “interrogations” in these rooms. The most interesting part was the story of how the famous lover Casanova’s escaped from the attic prison inside the palace. The tour itself took around an hour and a half to cover the hidden areas, neither too short nor too long. Once the main Secret Itineraries tour has ended, we were free to explore the rest of the palace at our own pace. Be sure to check out the famous “Bridge of Sighs” where prisoners have one last glance at beautiful Venice before they are sent to jail.


  • The bridge of sighs, from outside Doge's Palace

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]