(All Reviews) Full Day City Tours (Sightseeing Tours), China tours & activities, fun things to do in China | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Full Day City Tours in China

Overall Rating

4.18 4.18 / 5

Reviews

94 reviews

Best of Shanghai Guided Tour with The Bund Visit and Hotel Pick-up

Great tour itinerary

Reviewed by: Wesley, 2019/11/29

This is the beat tour for first timer in china. Great guide and good english speaking personnel. Nice view and experience. What i love about this is that you will really feel that you are a tourist together with different nationalities.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Historic Beijing II: Full Day Private Sightseeing Tour with Panda Garden Visit

Historic Beijing II: Full Day Private Sightseeing Tour with Panda Garden Visit

Reviewed by: CMac, 2019/07/03

Great tour day with pearl factory, silk factory and tea house included but not mentioned. Panda House was a waste of time. Lama temple and Summer Palace were great.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Historic Beijing II: Full Day Private Sightseeing Tour with Panda Garden Visit

Tour Guide was exceptional but everything else was a waste of money.

Reviewed by: Joana, 2018/04/24

The tour guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable and I would have gladly spent the day listening to the History behind the Summer Palace.

However for a full day tour, I have to say, 70% of the time was spent in traffic and in stores to get money from the tourists (something that is not on the website, and not in your schedule when you book the tour)
- 7h30 pick up from Hotel. On time, very pleasant first meeting. Comfortable car and polite driver
- 8h00-8h45 Panda Garden. It was not my main interest but it was really nice to see the pandas having breakfast and wondering around.
- 9h00-10h15 Summer Palace. Such a beautiful and big place to visit and only a bit more than an hour was spent there, when it has the potential to last at least 4 hours and discover so much more!!
- 10h15-11:45:Driving to get to a Pearl Market that is nothing more than a big store, in a shaddy building, with a lot of employees waiting to sell you jewelry. You can of course say no. But there is a lot of pressure for you to purchase something and you will always have a sales person close to you.
11h45-12h20: Lunch. Satisfying but not the best chinese meal I ever had. Water is served from an opened half filled bottle (probably left over from previous guests) and the food is nice but frugal. The tour is not allowed to eat with you.
12h20-13h15: More driving and now to a Silk Market shop. Same as for the previous shop. Very interesting but all they want is for you to buy and you lose your time.
13h15-14h15: Lama Temple. Visit to the temple. A very beautiful place, filled with History
14h15-14h30: Drive back to hotel

So all in all, a 7 hour Historic tour that only spent 2 hours in Historic sites and 45 mins in the Zoo.It was my third time in Beijing but my first ordering a Tour and it won't happen again, since I don't get what I am interested in.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Shanghai Guided Tour with The Bund Visit and Hotel Pick-up

shanghai tour

Reviewed by: Dave, 2018/03/17

A very good tour, guide is passionate about Shanghai, very knowledgeable, customers are picked up from designated hotel. Everything is included in the price including lunch. Good visit of the Jade Buddah Temple along with some other stops at a Jade factory, pearl factory and silk

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/02/23
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Shanghai Guided Tour with The Bund Visit and Hotel Pick-up

Great tour

Reviewed by: Devon, 2017/08/30

Tour was great. Tom, our guide was very knowledgeable. Would definitely do this tour again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Shanghai City Private Tour with Jade Buddha Temple Visit & Hotel Pick-up

Reviewed by: Mark, 2017/08/09

Would have liked some free time in the market/shopping areas - this part was a bit rushed

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full Day Historical Tour of Xi'an with Terracotta Army Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/11/23

After researching the Terra Cotta Warriors, I was debating whether to try to go on my own or with a tour, and was *so thankful* that I went with City Discovery. Pick-up was exactly on time and transportation directly to the museum was incredibly comfortable. A couple on the tour had tried to go by public bus the day before and once they saw the line, headed straight back to their hotel to book the tour! Our guide, Chelsea, was super informative and had a hilarious way of referring to herself in the third person. I didn’t think I’d enjoy the stop at the ceramic factory before going to the warriors, but it ended up being very good because we learned how to differentiate the warriors by their hairst<x>yles and garments. It’s pretty noisy and crowded inside the actual pits, so the quiet of the factory was much appreciated. Lunch was tremendous. So many courses came out to the table, it reminded me of an Asian wedding! Despite it being the super-busy “Golden Week”, we had ample time to see all the excavation pits and Chelsea pointed out some highlights before each new area. Because it was so crowded, we ran out of time and had to skip the Banpo Village (which I would’ve preferred to Emperor Qin’s Mausoleum, actually). The Mausoleum’s story is fascinating but there’s not much to see at the actual site. All in all, as someone who doesn’t usually like organized tours, I was so glad to have booked this one, especially when touring a bucketlist site like the Terra Cotta Warriors which you really want to do right. It just made everything so much easier and with the help of a guide, I saw and understood so much more than I would’ve on my own. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Xi'an City Highlights Full Day Group Tour with Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/11/23

I honestly hadn’t researched Xi’an very much, other than the Terra Cotta Warriors, so having a guided city tour was a blessing! It was fascinating to hear about Xi’an’s long history. The Shaanxi Museum is huge with an impressive range of artefacts but not particularly well documented, so having a guide point out the highlights and providing some back story to some of the displays made the visit so much more enjoyable. I really liked the way all the stops fit in with each other, revealing the impact the Silk Road and all the dynasties had on Xi’an. The Muslim Quarter is fascinating and you’ll definitely want to wander back on your own just to sample all the street eats! It was raining pretty heavily by the time we got to the city wall, but Teela, the guide, was a trooper, and didn’t allow the weather to diminish the experience in any way. Even the Big Wild Goose Pagoda was interesting as there was a variety of things to see. The calligraphy lesson was amazing, showing the difference between ancient and modern sc<x>ript. Knowing what I know now, it would’ve been a huge shame to come to Xi’an only to see the warriors. The city itself, and how its people interact with its long history, is truly fascinating. Having a guide and driver, we were able to see all the sights comfortably in a day. The pacing was excellent and we never felt rushed. Lunch was also a pleasant surprise in a very pretty theatre! Truly an amazing day out!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Shanghai Guided Tour with The Bund Visit and Hotel Pick-up

Reviewed by: Jose, 2016/05/17

great experience perfect for a first visit to the city!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Shanghai Guided Tour with The Bund Visit and Hotel Pick-up

Reviewed by: Scott, 2016/03/13

***(tour guide) was excellent. He confirmed my tour shortly after I booked it and even called when the schedule had to be changed due to a cancellation. Throughout the tour, he was professional and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Shanghai Guided Tour with The Bund Visit and Hotel Pick-up

Reviewed by: Amanda, 2015/09/27

the tour was very good, we covered all othe main attractions, the guide Joy was very good. the only disappointment was that I was not contacted to advise what time pick up was at my hotel, I tried phoning - did not go through, eventually I emailed and got a response. the paper work states that a message will be left at the hotel the night before to advise what time pick up - this did not happen and so I wondered if the tour was going to happen.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Full Day Tour of Guilin's Highlights with Lunch

Reviewed by: Charanjit, 2015/06/11

Very good tour, good way to see the city. Our guide Alice was great

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beijing Ancient Altar, Lama Temple and Panda Garden Private Tour

Reviewed by: Rumen, 2015/05/25

The altar was closed. We visited former university officials about the traditions of Confucius, Confucian temple, which is now a museum, the giant pandas at the zoo and llama Buddhist temple. The service was on par with a nice tour guide and driver. In Beijing recommend private tours, given congestion and huge crowds of tourists.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Shanghai Guided Tour with The Bund Visit and Hotel Pick-up

Reviewed by: ALEXANDER, 2015/01/25

Frank is a very knowledgeable guide. Congrats

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full Day Historical Tour of Xi'an with Terracotta Army Visit

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2014/05/05

Had the greatest experience with pur guide Lucia. Day was everything we had hoped for and expected. Lucia gave us plenty of time to explore by ourselves yet ensuring that she had informed us of history and facts about location. Tour included Banh Po musuem which was unexpected and unknown to us. Fantastic experience. Small group of 12 made sure we could all find pur guide and group quickly and we could look out for each other amongst the crowd at Terracotta Warriors museum. Shopping was relevant and unpressured.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Suzhou City and Zhouzhuang Water Village Group Tour from Shanghai

Reviewed by: Rosanna, 2014/03/03

This was perhaps the best takeaway from Shanghai. And it was outside the city limits, but a much appreciated departure to a more authentic Chinese cultural experience. Being serenaded whilst riding in a Chinese-style gondola is a memory to keep for a lifetime. If I ever find myself in China again [and I hope to], I would repeat this excursion. It was that good.

Suzhou was equally exciting and informative. We visited a silk factory and it was so intriguing to see the process [re-enacted] start to finish. Our tour guide was impeccable and I think it was his demeanor and expertise plus the breathtaking sights and experience that made this a winning excursion. Must do, hands down.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full Day Historical Tour of Xi'an with Terracotta Army Visit

Reviewed by: Jaroslav, 2013/10/05

Perfect trip!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Classic Beijing Full Day Historical Tour with Summer Palace Visit

Reviewed by: Jaroslav, 2013/10/05

Perfect and funny guide tried to teach us even traffic lights :) everything was perfect except of junk-meal lunch in dirty and mouldy restaurant!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Shanghai Guided Tour with The Bund Visit and Hotel Pick-up

Reviewed by: Jacqueline, 2013/07/22

The tour gave a good broad section of sights to see and places to visit in Shanghai. July is the height of summer in Shanghai and you need to remember average temps are around 37 Deg C with 70%+ humidity. Really enjoyed the gardens and the Jade Buddha Temple. Learnt a lot about the making of silk and loved the pearl factory.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Classic Beijing Full Day Historical Tour with Summer Palace Visit

Reviewed by: Gemma, 2013/06/29

Our guide, Cherry, was very energetic and ferried us about from place to place very efficiently :) She definitely knew all the best places to take a picture, and was also brilliant with taking pictures for us so we could also be in them.
I would have liked, as with most of the tours I have taken in China, the guide to tell more stories and history about the places we were visiting, but even so I think Cherry did a better job of this than most.
In terms of the actual places visited, the Forbidden City was amazing and the Summer Palace also, loved being able to see both of these places finally. We did get taken to a couple of the usual factories (pearl and silk in this case) but they weren't pushy to make us buy things, which made a refreshing change. In fact I would have liked longer at the silk factory as was seriously considering buying some dresses, but got ushered out to continue the tour...
All in all, a great day so thank you to our guide!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Classic Beijing Full Day Historical Tour with Summer Palace Visit

Reviewed by: Lynne, 2013/06/20

Professional, informative, excellent guide. A very full, busy and memorable day. Breathtaking!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full Day Historical Tour of Xi'an with Terracotta Army Visit

Reviewed by: Lynne, 2013/06/17

Informative and well organised.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beijing Day Tour with Tiananmen Square Visit - Lonely Planet Experience

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/24

Had a wicked time with my guide Jerry, he was so informative and very enthusiastic. Had a brilliant lunch as well at a local cafe. Thank you so much for a great trip around Beijing!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beijing Day Tour with Tiananmen Square Visit - Lonely Planet Experience

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/24

It was a great tour and I got to learn and get a good sense of Beijing and some of it's most famous locations. I took the Great Wall tour the day after this one, and that was even more splendid. Guide Kevin speaks perfect English, and has excellent knowledge about almost everything. He was also extremely helpful in answering my questions about a little bit of everything in Beijing (and China in general.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beijing Day Tour with Tiananmen Square Visit - Lonely Planet Experience

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/24

Our tour took in the temple of heaven and the forbidden city with a couple little delightful sidetrips along the way, and lunch on local fare was great. A bit of drama with transport but that goes with the territory. It was wonderful touring with such a knowledgeable guide as Cherry.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beijing Day Tour with Tiananmen Square Visit - Lonely Planet Experience

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/24

Casper was a great guide. Really enjoyed seeing the sights around Beijing with her and would definitely recommend urban adventures for its day tour options. Thanks!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beijing One Day Excursion with Roundtrip Flight from Shanghai

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2013/05/22

The tours of Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, and the Great Wall were very interesting and informative. Our tour guide, Jason, was very friendly and knowledgeable and spoke very good English. Part of the tour included visiting 3 different government run markets - jade, silk, and tea. The total length of the tour was 17.5 hours from hotel pick-up to hotel drop-off which made for a very long day. I'd recommend the tour if one doesn't mind a very long day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Suzhou City and Zhouzhuang Water Village Group Tour from Shanghai

Reviewed by: Bronwyn, 2013/05/13

Great day. Frank our tour guide very knowledgable about China and Shanghai. Treated all subjects with sensiivity and respect. A credit to the company.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Shanghai Guided Tour with The Bund Visit and Hotel Pick-up

Reviewed by: Bronwyn, 2013/05/13

Frank our guide was fantastic and a credit to the tour industry. He has a passion for Chinese life and tradiition. Only complaint was lunch. We ere taken to an obviously tourist restraurant that served us a bulk produced poorly cooked menu. A pity as the day before on the water village tour the food was a lot better.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Full Day Tour of Classic Beijing with Summer Palace Visit

Reviewed by: Ann Amanda, 2013/02/25

This was my second tour I booked on city discovery. My tour guide, Cherry, was nice and knew a lot. The only negative point was that I had lunch at the same restaurant as the day before.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by China