(All Reviews) The Great Wall of China, China tours & activities, fun things to do in China | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for The Great Wall of China in China

Overall Rating

4.53 4.53 / 5

Reviews

45 reviews

Beijing Great Wall of China Badaling Section Full Day Tour with Ming Tombs Visit

The best day of our lives!

Reviewed by: Jennifer y Diego , 2019/12/03

My husband and I went on honeymoon and it was the best trip ever ! Our guide Vicky was so kind and smart that she took us in the perfect time to the Great Wall when nobody still arrive so it was perfect for pictures and to climb it too. She was a perfect guide and took us to other places where the service was excellent!! Muy buen viaje :) Vicky es la mejor !

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Essential Beijing Full Day Historical Tour with the Great Wall at Badaling Visit

A really enjoyable tour

Reviewed by: Marianne, 2017/12/10

I had a really enjoyable day and also learnt a bit about the Chinese culture and history.
We were also lucky with the weather.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beijing Great Wall of China Badaling Section Full Day Tour with Ming Tombs Visit

Great Great Wall trip, and so much more!

Reviewed by: Paul, 2017/11/17

The trip was arranged last minute, but worked brilliantly. Great day out, well organised, and interesting commentary.
Lots of fun, and well recommended

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall of China Badaling Section Private Tour with Ming Tombs Visit

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2017/05/28

Great tour guide

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/07/30

Dennis was a great tour guide! Very friendly! He gave us a lot of historical information about the Great Wall and anwered any additional questions asked about China (policital system, general history, etc.)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/06/15

Had the Great Wall to myself for a few hours in the early morning before all the big bus tours arrived in. This is the tour to pick! Local lunch was also great! Loved the fact that I tobogganed down the Great Wall of China! Kevin is a great local guide, friendly, approachable and trustworthy. Everything you want when you are a solo traveller in a new city.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/05/30

Great, educational day - would have liked more involvement with local culture. GREAT tour guide Vivian!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/05/01

I really enjoyed the morning spent on the Great Wall Experience and with Kevin as our guide. He was fun and informative.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beijing Great Wall of China Badaling Section Full Day Tour with Ming Tombs Visit

Reviewed by: Olga, 2015/11/15

The booking process is really easy. The description of the tours is detailed and clear.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Tour of Great Wall of China Mutianyu in Beijing

Reviewed by: Melanie, 2015/09/20

great website and booking process

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall of China Badaling Section Private Tour with Ming Tombs Visit

Reviewed by: Jeffrey, 2015/09/01

The tour guide Jack Li was very enthusiastic and informative, and at some parts entertaining. he made sure that there were no dull moments during the tour. We made a last minute detour to Mutianyu instead to avoid huge crowds.

it was worth it. more than taking great photos, getting to know a little bit of ancient Chinese history was the highlight of the tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2014/12/15

We had an excellent guide

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2014/12/03

Vivian was absolutely brilliant. We had the luxury of only having two of us on the adventure and she made it an amazing experience. It was like three friends visiting the Wall together. The best experience ever

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Full Day Sightseeing Tour with Cloisonne Factory Visit

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2014/05/05

This section of the Great Wall was ideal as not too busy. Small group of 6 meant easy to ask questions of our guide and look out for each other on walk. Visit to Cloisonné factory was fantastic which is one reason why I chose this tour. Guide, Jackie was very knowledgable and fun to talk with. Didn't really need to visit Pearl shop and would have preferred to miss it as it wasn't on the itinerary I chose, for a reason. Lover chair lift ride up but missed out on toboggan run down as too many people waiting and bus may have left without us.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Essential Beijing Private Tour with the Great Wall at Badaling

Reviewed by: PRISCILA, 2013/06/21

Excellent service. The guide had such an experience.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beijing Great Wall of China Badaling Section Full Day Tour with Ming Tombs Visit

Reviewed by: Lynne, 2013/06/20

Breathtaking!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/27

Waited half hour for guide to have breaky and other tourists to get to main street location not a great way to start but Fong excellent Lunch in private home great Foot massage wonderful Really enjoyed the day and would use urban again especially as small group

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/27

the trip was great, my guides were great!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/24

My tour guide, Casper, was fantastic - the right mix of friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The driver was also very good. I was glad we arrived at the Great Wall early before the crowds, as it was lovely to be there when it was peaceful and feel like we had it to ourselves. Lunch was very tasty and they catered well for me as a vegetarian. The foot massage was wonderful - very relaxing, and definitely an excellent part of the day. I had a great experience of Urban Adventures.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/24

Great trip, enjoyed it and am so glad I booked through urban adventures. Guide Linda, even helped me make evening plans, which was good, and I do not think that was required of her, so I was impressed by that.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/24

I came to China specifically to see part of the great wall which I did in Mutianyu. Hopefully I'll go to China again and see another (or same) part of the great wall. I even managed to jog the full 3km length of the mutianyu section. A bit steep and rough in parts, but a great experience! Linda was good guiding us around, but would not go jogging with me. Next time I'll have to drag her :-).

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/24

Michelle was fantastic as our guide to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. She went the extra suggesting further places to explore in Beijing and helping to organise it for us. The tour is a great mix of activities and the small group is brilliant (no following a tour flag around sites).

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/24

Not only was the Great Wall Tour a magnificent experience, so were Beijing Art & Architecture, Beijing Insight, and Beijing by Bike. Our guides were exceptional, and I would recommend using Urban Adventures...my son and I had a wonderful 10 days in Beijing!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wall at Mutianyu Small Group Tour from Beijing with Local Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/05/24

I really enjoyed our trip. Going early in the morning meant we were able to miss the crowds for the most part and able to enjoy the Great Wall to ourselves. The lunch afterwards was good too, and we got to enjoy a mix of different dishes.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beijing Great Wall of China Badaling Section Full Day Tour with Ming Tombs Visit

Reviewed by: Rodrigo, 2013/05/09

The tour guide is very friendly , the tour was an amazing experience!! Maybe should be better spend more time at walls we stayed just 2 hours...

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Tour of Great Wall of China Mutianyu in Beijing

Reviewed by: Ann Amanda, 2013/02/25

It was low season that's why I only had private tours during my stay from Feb 12-18. I booked every tour on city discovery. This was my favorite! My tour guide (I think her name was Cynthia) was very nice and knew a lot.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Tour of Great Wall of China Mutianyu in Beijing

Reviewed by: PASCAL, 2012/09/01

Hi,

In a few words, we (a couple) felt clearly deceived. This tour does not worth the money! Tour desc<x>ription is OK but the guide service was very poor / abysmal.

Do not accept to go with him: he calls him Kong... but we are not sure it's his real name.

A few explanations:
- tour lasted less than 6 hours (our guide wanted to go back to his home asap)
- what do we learned from him overall? The background of China & Beijing words... no kidding!!
- he did not come with us on the Wall, just stopped at the exit of the cable car.
- no explanations on the Wall history & co

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Essential Beijing Private Tour with the Great Wall at Badaling

Reviewed by: Frédéric, 2012/05/07

very nice day with our guide for this essential Beijing with a nice great wall visit.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Tour of Great Wall of China Mutianyu in Beijing

Reviewed by: Guillermo , 2012/02/21

excellent service and attention!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Tour of Great Wall of China Mutianyu in Beijing

Reviewed by: Tim, 2011/08/24

Guide has a good knowledge of the English language. Told us a lot of information about Beijing and the Chinese wall. Gave us enough freedom and time during the excursion. We were early at the Chinese wall (guide called us the day before to leave 30min earlier) and at some points at the wall we were alone.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by China