Private Tour of Suzhou City and Zhouzhuang Water Town from Shanghai reviews, Shanghai tours & activities, fun things to do in Shanghai | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Private Tour of Suzhou City and Zhouzhuang Water Town from Shanghai

Overall Rating

3.87 3.87 / 5

Reviews

15 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: ranee, 2011/04/26

Trip was fine, had content. Got what I expected. Driver was crazy, not very nice towards other drivers even by Shanghai standards. Had an accident which may not be his fault but due to him to giving way to the other driver.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Walter, 2011/04/25

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alessandra, 2011/01/10

We didn't see too much of Suzhou (everybody says it is a beautiful town, but we have seen only the Silk factory and the Gardens, we've seen nothing of the old city). We stayed only half an hour in Zhouzhuang, just for the boat ride. The lunch was horrible: everything was cold and/or awful. The only decent thing was the beef, a little dish for seven people. I asked more and thay told me I would have to pay for it.
It doesn't worth pay so much for so little.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: ivy , 2010/09/02

Suzhou No.1 Silk factory is great (not like the ones I've seen in beijing & Shanghai). Food is good, we toured in a leisurely pace, though this is a small-group tour with different nationalities. The local travel agent was communicating constantly with us (via email or phone) regarding pick-up time. The downside: MR. DRIVER does not know the roads and our tour guide had to give directions every now and then. He is also a maniac, who managed to side-swipe a cab - delaying our tour at least an hour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Keith, 2010/05/24

Tour was interesting. You need to improve the lunch. The western st<x>yle buffet was uninteresting with only warm to cool food. A proper chinese meal would have been more appropiate. The silk factory was interesting but the time for shopping too long

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Martigne, 2010/04/17

Helen our tour guide was very good - spoke good english and was very knowledgable.
We organised the trip the afternoon before we wanted to go and the company were helpful to arrange and confirm in time.
Trip is interesting and right length. Lunch is buffet so caters to most dietary needs.
There was no hard sell at the silk factory.
Would highly recommend to get out of Shanghai for a day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lynda, 2010/04/05

We would liked to have heard more about the history of the area. The buffet st<x>yle restaurant was terrible. The silk factory was interesting but we felt pressured to buy.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rhonda, 2010/01/21

It was a freezing cold day but that didnt really bother us because our guide Maggie and the driver made the trip so interesting we were so focused on the amazing stories and history. My husband and I are both vegetarians and Maggie made a special effort to ensure our meal met this criteria - great choices of vegetable dishes were offered. Highest praise to Maggie for a wonderful day. I have tried to upload some great photos but obviously some problem so maybe next time. Thanks everyone.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rodney, 2009/10/20

The tour guide was great. I went to 4 cities and a number of day tours around the country and she was the best without question.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2009/03/12

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kerry, 2008/11/24

Bernie was a very knowledgable guide and we enjoyed his commentary.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: PATRICIA, 2008/11/01

Helen Wang was our tour guide. We found her to be very knowledgeable about the ares we visited. She was also very patient with us as we took our time - we stopped for a coffee (it was an extremely hot and humid day!). Helen also gave us tips on our purchases, and she also recommended the right shop to purchase the stewed pork (these were very delicious!). Helen is very fluent in English, a BIG plus for the other 4 visitors were also English speaking only.

I highly recommend this tour, and also Helen Wang!

Thank you for making our trip a very pleasant and enjoyable one (despite the very humid weather).

Patricia Ball

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tracie, 2008/04/12

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dolores, 2008/03/23

We would have liked to have more time to walk around Zhouzhuang rather than visit the house & garden there as it was very similar to the one we visited in Suzhou.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alexander, 2007/11/09

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]