Hong Kong Big Bus Hop On Hop Off Sightseeing Tour reviews, HongKong tours & activities, fun things to do in HongKong | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hong Kong Big Bus Hop On Hop Off Sightseeing Tour

Overall Rating

4.13 4.13 / 5

Reviews

184 reviews
Post a review

Cheap price - for a whole tour

Reviewed by: Karen Pinto, 2019/06/26

This is a very interesting offer, as it brings the possibility to discover Hong Kong from three different perspectives. In that sense, in my case I went to Hong Kong with my boyfriend. Although we were not actually really lucky (we spent 2 days in Hong Kong and in both of them the rain was heavy), it was enjoyable to go through these buses and to meet the best buildings and places of the city. In some other city tour buses, there is only one possible tour. In this case, you get three and, at the same time, it also includes a ticket with return to cross the bay. I would strongly recommend it, especially for those who (like us) do not have enough time to follow the tours by foot. And even though it rains, it does not matter - you will always be able to discover Hong Kong from the second floor, which is the covered one!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hop on Hop off sightseeing bus

Reviewed by: Tony C, 2018/05/01

What a fantastic way to see Hong Kong
The attendants had a "no problem, I can help you"attitude
The narrative given as we were being driven around was quite informative and helpfull
We saw all the sights and got a real "feel" for the island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makes your trip much easier!

Reviewed by: Reina, 2018/02/17

I'm definitely glad we tried this adventure! It was easy to find the bus stops and plenty of rooms for many people. They also provide you with the headphone with different languages so you can learn about the area while passing by. We only used for one route but I think that was worth it enough.

Although bus ride itself was great, we did have trouble with redeeming our voucher at the desk. We had to ask about 5-6 staff members who were on the street and asked where we can redeem our voucher and they all have told us different locations. We ended up taking a ferry ourselves (voucher is suppose to come with round trip ferry rides) and went to the main office. We were able to redeem it but the lady was very rude and didn't answer any of our questions (where the bus stop is, ferry thickets etc). She also told us she has nothing to do with the company we bought our thickets from and shooed us away.

Advise: if you are traveling during the winter time, try to stand in bus line early (line gets ridiculously long and you are standing in the cold) and sit in the lower part of the bus. Top part is cool for picture taking but very windy and you can't really enjoy the view since you are hiding in your hoodie. Also there are many tree brunches that you encounter that's dangerous.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robert, 2017/07/18

We had a great time, and got to see a lot. We got the two day tour and went back the next day to do the green tour and revisit places. The Stanley market was a must for souvenir shopping. If it's a nice day take your bathing stuff and hang out on the beach for a bit.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Keith, 2017/04/12

Hong Kong covers more area than we thought- it takes forever to walk Nathan St! So the bus is brilliant.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy to Understand Guidance

Reviewed by: Keyman, 2017/03/09

Looks like there are 10 languages available. It was pretty easy to understand so I didn't feel the need for an actual guide. You can hop on and off anytime you want to, and I got to see a lot of things. The only thing I didn't like was that the 2nd-floor seats were kinda hot. I'd say it was a pretty good deal overall.

(Translated by VELTRA.com)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

With Work Friends

Reviewed by: Y.G., 2017/03/09

Joined the tour with around 10 of my Japanese workmates. We absolutely had no knowledge of Hong Kong whatsoever, but the audio guide provided detailed, easy-to-understand explanation. The bus itself was sort of an attraction, which was interesting. I was even surprised that bus drove us to really narrow streets!

We got to see a lot of Hong Kong in one day, so everyone agreed this was a pretty good tour!

(Translated by VELTRA.com)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2017/02/14

Easiest way to discover Hong Kong! can stop whenever you want, great to know all history! loved it

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2017/01/23

Great way to see all the sites with limited tme

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: TERESA, 2017/01/05

It was perfect. It permited us discover the city in two days!!! We didn't need to line up because we already had all the tickets.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Moshe, 2016/12/25

The Big Bus Hop on tours are the best way to see Hong Kong, I took all the tours. The night tour should use more colorfull sites of the city. If someone wants to see the Victoria Pick the company should propose times because noontime and evening are so full that waiting time for tram are very long and then for the next bus. Other problem is that the bus moves very fast and the drivers should slow or even stop in interesting places, specially on the green line.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2016/09/07

A stress-free and reasonable way to see all the sights in Hong Kong!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mark, 2016/03/21

With only two full days in Hong Kong the Big Bus tour was an excellent way to see as much as possible - and to learn a lot about the destination. The commentary was very informative and we enjoyed the extra benefits of the deluxe package including the Night Tour. The ease of using the bus enabled us to also visit Stanley, Aberdeen Harbour and Repulse Bay on the south coast of Hong Kong Island which provided a contrast to the hustle and bustle of Kowloon. Great value for money

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rusyah, 2016/03/02

Everything is excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Maria, 2016/02/29

Big Bus Hong Kong is a fantastic way to travel around and see the must do tourist attractions on offer. The ticket system for the ferry and entry tickets were well organised and efficient. Would recommend to others .

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2016/02/25

The site was very easy to use and our vouchers came through really quickly; no waiting at all.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Maria, 2016/01/29

I have used City Discovery before and found prices are very competitive and I have never had any problems when using my vouchers around the world.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Willy, 2016/01/04

Clear, correct, and easy to book !

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Nicky, 2015/12/12

Very easy to book, quick to confirm, and even better a 10% codenExcellent servicenThank you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dante, 2015/11/16

Excellent tour. Recommend it to visitors with limited time in Hong Kong.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gerald, 2015/11/14

Booking went very smoothly and I would recommend your service to others.nThank you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Guy, 2015/09/30

This service around Hong Kong was excellent and we are so glad we did over two days. Good value, friendly, helpful,staff and a great way to see as much of Hong Kong in a short time period. See what you like....go back and visit later if time permits.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Nijole, 2015/08/12

I have been using city discovery since 2011 and I love it. I have been able to experience so much at a reasonable price and safely, as a solo tourist. nI also like the improved way of searching and booking. nPlease keep introducing new experiences that would be difficult for a solo traveller to do on their own. nThank you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: William, 2015/07/08

A fantastic way to get a great overview of all Hong Kong's varied apsects. We were there for 6 days in total and did the 48 hour Hop On Hop Off Tour in our first 2 days.......we then cherry picked the things we wanted to do from what we saw in the initial 2 days. The added value items were icing on the cake - Aberdeen sampan tour; Star Ferry 5 single journeys each + Star ferry harbour tour; free entry to Maritime museum.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jeannette, 2015/04/10

Quick and easy buying online. Lots of representatives to help passengers. Buses on time. Some buses a little old and uncomfortable. Narrow seats for western frames. Commentary very good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Miriam, 2014/12/07

We have booked many day trips with your company. we booked couple of day trips for London and Paris earlier this year and it only seemed natural to book again for Hong Kong for which we are going at Xmas. Our guides when we booked for London were excellent and the locations for pick up and drop off were very central and near public transport.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jan, 2014/10/06

Excellent service.
Booked tour for two online the night before and tickets etc.available by next morning. Very clear instructions on where to meet.
Spent a very enjoyable day travelling three different routes with good commentary - a half hour sanpan ride, free entry to Peak Tram, free Star ferry rides and a free entry to the Maritime Museum - which we didn't have time to enjoy as we ran out of time. All Big Bus personnel were very knowledgeable, helpful and spoke good English,
Highly recommended

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ann , 2014/07/03

This is a must for all who visit Hong Kong. We bought the 48hr hop on hop of tour which bought 3 routes, harbour tour, sanpan ride, high peak train and ferry tickets What value and the staff are friendly, helpful and a smile FANTASTIC

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Christine, 2014/03/31

After spending 2 days on the Big Bus Tour, I feel we really got a good overview of Hong Kong. The tour directors were very helpful and I would definitely recommend anyone who is planning a trip to Hong Kong to make sure a tour with Big Bus is on your agenda.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: geraldine, 2013/04/10

The day tour was enjoyable, however we had a hard time locating the station at hotel peninsula. We also booked for the night tour but we left behind. We were with the last trip of the big bus day tour. I suggest that the night big bus tour should wait for the last trip of the big bus day tours since there are visitors like us who booked for the day and night tour. It was a good thing we met Ms. Lucy Tabdi who gave us instructions on how to get the bus on its next stop. I highly recommend the day big bus tour but not the night big bus tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]