(All Reviews) JR Pass, Japan tours & activities, fun things to do in Japan | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for JR Pass in Japan

Overall Rating

4.14 4.14 / 5

Reviews

7 reviews

JR Flex Rail Ticket: Tokyo to Mishima Area Bullet Train Ticket & Coupon

Excellent train ticket package for visit to Numazu and Uchiura!

Reviewed by: Sunnay, 2020/01/20

This package is a must get for visit to Numazu or Uchiura!

We used this package as part of pilgrimage tour to Numazu and Uchiura, where popular anime series Lovelive Sunshine. The package includes ticket to Mishima, which is the closest Shinkansen station.

Pickup ticket is easy, we just went to the tour office at Shinagawa station, present the vouchers, and got the tickets. This save lots of time especially during rush hours when the ticket office has long queue.

Shinkansen is great as always. It is fast, comfortable, and reliable. The train ride from Shinagawa to Mishima took around an hour. Be sure to check out the Bento in stations as they are all delicious.

From Mishima it is a short one stop train ride to Numazu. Numazu is a great small Japan town, which has a different feel to large cities like Tokyo or Osaka. It still retains feel of older Japan before the tourist boom in the last 10-15 years. You won't be able to find a tax free shops in Numazu, which is always a good sign for real authentic Japanese experience.

We visited Awashima Hotel for lunch, which is great value for the quality of the meal. The boat ride to Awashima island should have great view of Mount Fuji, unfortunately we went on a cloudy day.

Numazu also have a great fish market at Numazu Port, with lots of fresh seafood and restaurant similar to the fish market in Tokyo. We definitely recommend Numazu Burger, which has the best fish filet burger we have ever tasted.

Fan of Lovelive Sunshine and Aqours will definitely want to visit Numazu to visit all the spots that appeared in the anime and movie, such as the famous beach, cafe, shopping arcade, and the stamp rally.

Overview we highly recommend getting this Flex Rail ticket to anyone visiting Mount Fuji area and Numazu!

  • Numazu Port

  • Awashima

  • Mount Fuji behind the clouds

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/01/16
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

JR Flex Rail Ticket: Tokyo to Hakone Round-Trip Bullet Train Ticket & Coupon

Fun Hakone Day

Reviewed by: Noli from Florida, 2020/02/13

It was a little confusing to find the office where we had to exchange the vouchers for tickets, and it took more than 30 mins to get them because the lady at the counter had to keep validating something at the back.

But once we got the tickets, it was smooth sailing all the way. Took the 9am'ish bullet train to Hakone, was there in about half an hour, then had to find the office to claim the included bus tickets, which was tucked away in a little office at the back corner and outside of the train station.

There was a nice lady at the bus terminal that gave us the bus schedule - try to get that sheet so you don't spend a lot of time waiting for the bus.

We headed out to Hakone Open Air museum which was SUPER nice and had a lot more artwork on display than expected, had a quick foot bath (bring a little towel so you don't have to buy one, but if you forget you can get one for 1000Y at a vending machine!), a fast lunch, then headed out to Lake ashi for a ferry to the Ropeway, went up the mountain for AMAZING views, but shy Mt Fuji-san was covered in clouds (if you want a chance to see Mt Fuji - make sure you go early, in the afternoon there are already lots of clouds), then we went back towards Yamamoto station for an onsen experience at Hakone Yuryo - once you get past the butt naked embarassment it's sooooooo relaxing!

Then caught the bullet train back home.
Wonderful Hakone day!! Hope to come back adn visit another town soon!

  • ropeway tickets

  • Hakone Open Air museum

  • Hakone Open Air museum

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/02/01
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【JR Flex Rail】東京⇔箱根・新幹線自由席往返車票(東京站or品川站出發+贈伊豆箱根2日巴士周遊券)

輕鬆箱根三日遊

Reviewed by: Lin Ming yin, 2020/02/04

箱根已經去過了四次,這次因爲嬰兒隨行,所以選擇搭乘新幹線,比小田急浪漫特快號快速又舒適許多,而且可以從東京車站或品川進出相當方便。下次若再去箱根也會選擇搭乘新幹線前往。
這次的套票含有伊豆箱根巴士二日周遊券,剛好飯店前就有巴士站停靠,相當便利。第一天我們選擇由飯店接送。第二天用周遊券去了雕刻之森,很適合家庭的景點,不但景色優美,還有遊樂設施讓小孩放電。第三天因為late checkout 所以可以悠哉地用周遊券搭回小田原站。這套票包含了這周遊券相當划算。(其實巴士還能到箱根神社和大湧谷等知名景點,不過我們之前已去過很多次,這次以放鬆為主,所以就沒再去)
新幹線前往箱根的班次相當多,而且自由座車廂也多。所以都有座位可坐。跟台灣高鐵一樣,很便利舒適。
不過由於換票作業比較繁瑣,建議需預留20-30分
鐘辦理。不過新幹線實在很方便,下次還是會用同樣方式去箱根。

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2020/02/02
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

JR Flex Rail Ticket: Tokyo to Mishima Area Bullet Train Ticket & Coupon

Travel conveniently to Mishima

Reviewed by: Marlon, 2020/01/28

We redeemed Veltra’s voucher at the Tokai Tour office in Tokyo station at exactly 10am and travelled to Mishima via the first available shinkansen. Luckily we were able to get seats at the unreserved car; ride was very fast and convenient as expected. We stayed for one night nearby area and checked in a ryokan with onsen. The next day we redeemed the 1 day Tokai bus pass and entrance ticket in Mishima Skywalk. As it was cloudy day we were not able to see Mt Fuji but we still enjoy our trip. We used the return ticket to Tokyo at our own convenient time. Highly recommended for tourist who would like to experience riding Shinkansen and visit Mishima Skywalk and do sightseeing at their own phase.

  • Mishima Skywalk

  • Mishima Skywalk

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/01/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

5-Day Unlimited JR Train Pass: Kansai and Hiroshima

Value for money

Reviewed by: Azizi Ahmad, 2018/04/04

We booked this JR Rail pass from Veltra. The voucher was email to us before arriving in Japan. We exchanged the voucher to the pass at Osaka station. This pass allow you to travel in western Japan. We took the Shenkansen to Hiroshima and back. We also used the pass to travel from Osaka to Kyoto and Nara on the local train. Great value for money if you are planning to travel on the JR trains.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

JR Flex Rail Ticket: Tokyo to Mishima Area Bullet Train Ticket & Coupon

Not Recommended to Use if You Plan to Visit Mishima for One Day Only

Reviewed by: myebautista, 2019/12/06

We were able to redeem the voucher after lunch, this is not enough as Mishima Skywalk closes by 5 pm. We were not informed by the JR Office that we won't be able to catch the Skywalk, they should have suggested to redeem the voucher the next day. They did not inform us.

After a 55 minute Shinkansen ride, we arrive at Mishima around 3:30 pm, after about 30 minutes of Google Translated communication with the Bus office staff, we finally realised we won't be able to use our Skywalk ticket because the last bus going back to Mishima train station would have already departed once we ride the last bus going to Skywalk. That means we won't be able to use the Unlimited 1 Day bus pass and the Skywalk ticket. It was also raining hard that day. The lady in the desk of the Bus office was very helpful, and even found an english speaking lady from the Tours Office to help us understand that there won't be any bus going back from Skywalk if we take the last bus to Skywalk.

This is ideal if you plan to stay at least one day in Mishima and use the unlimited bus pass the next day.

We weren't able to refund the Mishima Skywalk admission ticket and bus pass.

  • Rainy day in Mishima Sta.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/11/28
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

JR Flex Rail Ticket: Tokyo to Mishima Area Bullet Train Ticket & Coupon

The trip was fine but I though that Mt Fuji is a lot closer to be seen based on the description Mt Fuji area .... is not true, it is very far from it, I think Veltra is really misrepresented what is this trip for ....disappointed

Reviewed by: Beatrice , 2019/10/21

The trip was fine but I though that Mt Fuji is a lot closer to be seen based on the description Mt Fuji area .... is not true, it is very far from it, I think Veltra is really misrepresented what is this trip for ....disappointed because we wanted to go to Mt Fuji not to a little city very far away from Fuji. Be aware if you want to go to Mt Fuji, this is not what you want to book, do more research and get a different trip, I wasted our money but we did the best of it and enjoy the train trip and the skyline....

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]