Hakata Owl Cafe Reservations in Fukuoka reviews, Fukuoka tours & activities, fun things to do in Fukuoka | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hakata Owl Cafe Reservations in Fukuoka

Overall Rating

4.74 4.74 / 5

Reviews

349 reviews
Post a review

Warm and friendly staff

Reviewed by: Min, 2019/08/03

The staff is very friendly! She is very informative and speaks good English which is really very helpful to us as we do not understand Japanese.

The owls were cute though it would be good if there are more owls to be held / played with.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommend for visiting

Reviewed by: Nond, 2019/07/23

- Very friendly staff
- clean
- There’re english speaker
- Many cute owls

- Little bit small but its ok...

Generally recommended to visit.!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Corinna, 2019/06/21

Good to see almost 20 owls at one time. However, we could only interact with 4 owls during our visit - definitely not enough!
The owls are really cute though. Worth visiting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love it!

Reviewed by: Ahyr, 2019/03/19

I love this owl cafe. The owls are cute and friendly. Staffs are also knowledgeable and friendly. Lots of photos taken! I enjoyed it so much with my family!!! Hope to visit this cafe again and to see new owls.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting experience and easily located

Reviewed by: Ahyr, 2019/03/18

Interesting experience and easily located. Great service too, place is very clean...the timing was just nice for photo taking and having my tea. Will go back again :)
Enjoyed it totally!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun&unique experience!

Reviewed by: Gina, 2019/03/10

I do really enjoyed the time visiting Owl Family. Actually the most reason I hesitate before make my reservation was that me and my mother can’t speak Japanese. But it wasn’t be matter thanks to friendly staff! You don’t have to worry about the language, they will provide you an information in not only Japanese but also English&drawings.
I made my reservation in the afternoon and I visit them about 10min early, but it wasn’t necessary. Because the program begins on time.
The owls are stated at the 1st floor, but we should go upstairs first. We can order one drinks each, leave our load, and listen the way how to commune with owls there. There is two security camera on 2nd floor, so you can lave your loads without worrying about stealing.
And then we have time to meet owls about 40min. We can put them on our hands, shoulders, and heads. We should be careful because they can poo on our head. It wasn’t happened in my case, but noone knows when that happens. We can touch and take a pictures with them but no movies. Me and my mother took about 100 pitures! It was lucky to know this place before I visit Fukuoka.
It located very nearby Canal city Hakata. So if you are planning to visit there, plase come and have a good time with cute and adorable owls:) You will never regret!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Novel & beautiful experience!

Reviewed by: Jacq, 2019/03/03

The trainers were very competent and knowledgeable about the owls, calling hem by name and answering our many questions about their behavior. Was very fun to be able to have them perch on our hands / shoulders / heads. They were all of different sizes and species. Just beware of falling poop!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: DTinFUK, 2019/02/26

The arrangement is perfect. First of all, you order the drink which you will have after having fun with the owls. Then u sanitise your hands and the staff will brief you about the whole process and things to notice. For example, you can only pet the head of an owl & the owls have no control of the poop poop..There are quite a numbers of owls there. They are all adults. Some species are exceptionally smaller than the others. They are really lovely. The staff will let the owls stand on your forearms. It is a really close contact with the owls. The staff is nice and friendly. You would not be frightened by the owls.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a hoooot!

Reviewed by: Jonny boy , 2019/02/26

The experience was wonderful. We had so much fun and took plenty of photos. The workers there helped us and even spoke english well. Very helpful staff and gave us a ton of knowledge about owls. We found out which where from Japan. My girlfriend even had a favorite owl, satsuma. I guess you can take multiple tours because they rotate the owls too, so depending on the time you go you might have a different set. I highly recommend this tour for anyone, it really made our experience in Fukuoka so memorable. It was easy to find and we shopped at places close by after. We also enjoyed petting the owls they were very soft. The large owls were somewhat scary to start but after we spent time with the smaller ones it became easy to handle the larger ones. They even allowed us to have two owls at once while we took photos. I must have taken around 100 photos in the hour. It was very private and we had the whole place to ourselves. It defiantly is worth a visit because it will be the only opportunity to handle owls in my life. I have never heard of this type of place in America. The staff was so friendly we felt very safe the entire time. We even bought a couple souvenir and we used a coupon and got a free gift. We will always remember the time we went to the owl cafe, we will always have the great memory of petting owls. It was the highlight of our trip. We spend a few more days in Fukuoka and the owl cafe defiantly is one of the best times we had. The food places around there also allow for a great experience after the owls. We where able to get some last minute gifts after the owl cafe. We have been to cat cafes before but they paled in comparison to the owl cafe, cats were more difficult to handle than the owls. Owls feeding time was interesting as well. We also enjoyed the names of the owls and the verity of the owls. There were so many different types ranging in size, color, eyes, feathers, and area where they are from. Finding out about the types of owls was very cool!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the highlights of our trip!

Reviewed by: Jewel, 2019/02/14

Overall, the Hakata Owl Cafe experience was one of the highlights of our trip! I have never seen so many magnificent owls all in one place. The owls were all very adorable and gamely posed for photos! Those that were allowed by the staff hopped onto our arms for some up close and personal time. The staff were all friendly and accommodating, and tried their best to bridge the language barrier and did their best to speak English.

For improvement of the establishment: Have snack selections for your patrons as some might be looking for a light snack after the activity.

Tips for future travelers: research the location of the place well in advance, especially if the location of where you are checked in is a bit far off from the cafe. The cafe is very strict with the reservation schedule, as the owls’ rest periods are taken into consideration. Make sure to be outside the cafe at least 15 minutes before your scheduled slot.

On an end note, Harry Potter fans will surely enjoy this activity as one of the owls in their care is a Snowy Owl breed, similar to Hedwig. They also offer Gryffindor uniforms so that you can do cosplay with the owl. :)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very amazing and comfortable

Reviewed by: Wesley Lam, 2019/02/08

The staff is very nice. We had a very happy moment in the owl cafe. Owls are very cute and attractive. They can interact with people to take photos. I will recommend people to go to enjoy this experience.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing experience!

Reviewed by: kiwi, 2019/01/22

it was an amazing experience! there were so many cute and well behaving owls, and the staff were very helpful and lovely. Love how everyone get to hold a few owls and lots of time to pet them and take photo of them. the owls seems like they are in good condition too which is nice!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good owls, nice staff, shitty coffee

Reviewed by: Marebear, 2019/01/02

Don't come early at all. They will never let you in even 5 min early. There are no benches to wait. If you can't climb stairs, don't do this activity. The owls are on the first floor, the tutorial/gift shop is on the 2nd floor. This is completely in Japanese, although the staff attempted to speak English. They only bring out about 5 of the 15 owls. Otherwise, you can photograph, but not handle all the owls. They are incredibly tame, but they will all poop/pee on you at some point. The staff is great at taking photos for you. The gift shop is ok. Skip the coffee. It sucked. The owls we're beautiful and very cool to hold. Would recommend, but have Google translate on your phone.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time of my life as a Harry Potter fan

Reviewed by: Potterfan, 2018/12/31

I was first a bit surprised by the size of the cafe-I imagined it bigger. There was a lot of people in one time slot, but that was not a problem. Owls were in great conditions, and staffs were supervising every moves of people and owls. If you're a Harry Potter fan, I'm sure you'll have a great time. Don't forget to wear hogwarts uniform and Potter glasses! There's only gryffindor ones-if you want other houses, you should bring it by yourself. I got the best selfie of my life.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good service

Reviewed by: Eva Au, 2018/12/28

Staff are very nice and helpful. There were quite a few different kind of owls to see and touch. It was a very good experience. The kids had lots of fun.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.I am happy that the children also enjoyed it.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It's a great time!

Reviewed by: Dylan, 2018/12/28

I definitely would recommend this cafe to any one interested in owls! The birds were beautiful and calm! You could easily hold them and pet the backs of their heads. It was such a great experience! Even though I came alone, I still had a fun time ^^

One rule I found out was that your phone's sound needs to be turned off. If you have a phone from Korea, you can't take pictures without sound. So be ready to find a solution to that problem before you go! One of the other visitors took pictures and air dropped them for me, so it was ok!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience at the owl cafe

Reviewed by: Suz, 2018/12/26

We had booked a slot at 12 noon but there was also a big group of family who had booked the same slot. We thus requested for a change in time slot to 1pm as we would prefer a less crowded session. The person in charge was very flexible and allow us for to change. We had a very wonderful experience at the owl cafe and got to hols many different species of them. The owls were very tamed and well behaved. My kids enjoyed so much that they kept talking about it after the session. We will definitely come back again!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FIRST TIME WITH OWLS :D !!!

Reviewed by: Haressa Fan , 2018/12/16

My girlfriend booked a time slot and I didn't really know what to expect. Today as we peeked into the store, an assistant cheerfully welcomed us in! We sat with 2 friends and she explained the 'how tos', 'dos' and 'donts' in Japanese and English. It was time to pick a drink & souvenir as well. Headed downstairs the owls were well groomed, calm and the ladies professionally loaded owls onto our arms and shoulders to pet. My girlfriend loved the Hermione and Harry costumes!!! If you like dogs, cats and fluffy creatures you are in for a treat. It doesn't matter if you don't know owls, the store assistants know and will fill you in :)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snowy Owl and so much more!

Reviewed by: Joyce, 2018/12/12

Even though you couldn't touch the snowy owl, the cafe played up the Harry Potter theme by including a backdrop, and Gryffindor school robes for you to wear and take photos with the owl. Especially exciting for Harry Potter fans!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helpful English-speaking staff made the experience even better

Reviewed by: Joey, 2018/12/12

For me, this was the second time visiting the owl cafe in Fukuoka, so I did not expect any surprises. However, they had a number of new owl species which were not there before, and an English-speaking staff who was able to tell us more about owls and their habits.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience with kids

Reviewed by: Bren, 2018/12/12

Overall a great experience! After we went in, we sat down upstairs and ordered drinks. Afterwards we sanitized our hands and was briefed about how to handle the owls. Then we were lead back downstairs to meet the owls! No time wasted, which was perfect with elders and kids.

We went with two 4 year olds and they thoroughly enjoyed letting the small owls stand on their hands. The English speaking male staff was very attentive to them, and we had more than enough time to take turns with each owl and take pictures. We were allowed to handle 5 owls, as the other owls were resting in their cages and could only have their picture taken, but not touched.

Many types of owls of various sizes were inside the shop. We're pretty amazed at the variety of owls we saw since it was our first time being in such close encounter with owls. Amazing experience and convenient location right in the center of Hakata. Would definitely recommend this place.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible experience

Reviewed by: KCN, 2018/11/29

One of the highlights of our trip. The hosts were friendly, and the owls were fabulous.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely hour with the owls

Reviewed by: Coie@fukuoka2018, 2018/08/12

I enjoyed the time at the cafe with Alex and the lovely owls. Visit the cafe for an interesting experience if you are in Hakata!

Thank you. I will definitely visit again if I'm in Hakata.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cute Owl Experience!

Reviewed by: OwlEnjoyer, 2018/08/07

I loved this place! Upon entering, staff were very welcoming and friendly, and took us upstairs for a bit of housekeeping. While the staff’s English is not perfect, there was no trouble on either end making ourselves understood.

Then the owls! There are five owls out at a time for handling, the others are resting. You can hold any size of owl on your hand, arm, shoulder, or head (!).., stroke them, make friends. Staff are happy to help, explain about the owls, take photos, etc. There are also Harry Potter robes to wear for photos!

There are all varieties and sizes of owls! All are very cute. Some might get a little snappy and try to nibble your hand if you hold it too close, so make sure to stroke them only on the back! They are very soft and adorable.

There is a small chance the owls will poop on you, and there will be no warning, but we didn’t witness this.

Also, when you enter the cafe, knock and wait to be let in by the staff. I expected there to be a lobby, but the front door opens directly onto the main room with all the owls.

Overall, a fantastic and memorable experience! Would recommend!

  • Yu-chan

  • Moko-chan and Yu-chan

  • Off duty owls

  • The snowy owl. No touching!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for visiting us.
We are glad that you enjoyed it.
It is a nice picture!
We are looking foward for your visit again.
Thanks for the experience story!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hoot Hoot!!

Reviewed by: darioeugene, 2018/08/01

Hakata Owl Cafe was a lot of fun. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The owls were so cute and cool to hold. If I visit Fukuoka again, I will make sure to visit again. It was a lot of fun, thanks.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for visiting us.
We are glad that you enjoyed it.
It is a nice picture!
We are looking foward for your visit again.
Thanks for the experience story!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Owlfamily Cafe in Hakata

Reviewed by: GHO, 2018/04/30

Time goes very fast inside this cafe. After a short briefing with clear instructions, lovely owls are waiting downstairs to share the funny time with you.

Happy to know that the owls are working on shift so that they will not be too busy or too tired.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your comment!
I am fortunate to have a nice time with the owl.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Visit Owl Café in Fukuoka

Reviewed by: Joey, 2018/04/10

This is my first time to bring 2gals to Japan. They are so excited and glad to touch owls closely. The staffs are so nice and the briefing is simple and clear. Good and memorial experience for us to visit Owl Café in Fukuoka.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your comment!
I am fortunate to have a nice time with the owl.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and enjoyable

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2018/04/09

Loved the experience! Would want to do it again if could!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a great time with my kids

Reviewed by: JONGEUN SIM , 2018/04/04

I live in Deagu, South Korea.

Last year I was visited owl cafe in Osaka. My kids(8years old boy, 6years old girl) were so happy in Osaka. So I searched in owl cafe in Fukuoka.

Finally my kids were very satisfied in Owl family.
It was a super great time with my family!

I used to visit Japan 2~3 times per year. At next time, my family will go to Owl family and I highly recommand Owl family to my friends.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our shop!
You seemed to be able to interact with a lot of owls, which was nice.
I will be waiting next year ☆

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Staycation fun

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2018/03/27

I visited as a part of my "staycation" (I live in Kyushu). It was definitely worth it. It's a unique experience. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It helps to speak Japanese, but there are multilingual instructions for visitors who cannot. If you've got an hour to spare during your visit to Fukuoka and fancy spending it with some ridiculously cute creatures then I'd stop by.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for visiting us.
We are glad that you enjoyed it.
It is a nice picture!
We are looking foward for your visit again.
Thanks for the experience story!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]