This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hakata Owl Cafe Reservations in Fukuoka

Good owls, nice staff, shitty coffee

Reviewed by: Marebear, 2019/01/02

Don't come early at all. They will never let you in even 5 min early. There are no benches to wait. If you can't climb stairs, don't do this activity. The owls are on the first floor, the tutorial/gift shop is on the 2nd floor. This is completely in Japanese, although the staff attempted to speak English. They only bring out about 5 of the 15 owls. Otherwise, you can photograph, but not handle all the owls. They are incredibly tame, but they will all poop/pee on you at some point. The staff is great at taking photos for you. The gift shop is ok. Skip the coffee. It sucked. The owls we're beautiful and very cool to hold. Would recommend, but have Google translate on your phone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time of my life as a Harry Potter fan

Reviewed by: Potterfan, 2018/12/31

I was first a bit surprised by the size of the cafe-I imagined it bigger. There was a lot of people in one time slot, but that was not a problem. Owls were in great conditions, and staffs were supervising every moves of people and owls. If you're a Harry Potter fan, I'm sure you'll have a great time. Don't forget to wear hogwarts uniform and Potter glasses! There's only gryffindor ones-if you want other houses, you should bring it by yourself. I got the best selfie of my life.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good service

Reviewed by: Eva Au, 2018/12/28

Staff are very nice and helpful. There were quite a few different kind of owls to see and touch. It was a very good experience. The kids had lots of fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It's a great time!

Reviewed by: Dylan, 2018/12/28

I definitely would recommend this cafe to any one interested in owls! The birds were beautiful and calm! You could easily hold them and pet the backs of their heads. It was such a great experience! Even though I came alone, I still had a fun time ^^

One rule I found out was that your phone's sound needs to be turned off. If you have a phone from Korea, you can't take pictures without sound. So be ready to find a solution to that problem before you go! One of the other visitors took pictures and air dropped them for me, so it was ok!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience at the owl cafe

Reviewed by: Suz, 2018/12/26

We had booked a slot at 12 noon but there was also a big group of family who had booked the same slot. We thus requested for a change in time slot to 1pm as we would prefer a less crowded session. The person in charge was very flexible and allow us for to change. We had a very wonderful experience at the owl cafe and got to hols many different species of them. The owls were very tamed and well behaved. My kids enjoyed so much that they kept talking about it after the session. We will definitely come back again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FIRST TIME WITH OWLS :D !!!

Reviewed by: Haressa Fan , 2018/12/16

My girlfriend booked a time slot and I didn't really know what to expect. Today as we peeked into the store, an assistant cheerfully welcomed us in! We sat with 2 friends and she explained the 'how tos', 'dos' and 'donts' in Japanese and English. It was time to pick a drink & souvenir as well. Headed downstairs the owls were well groomed, calm and the ladies professionally loaded owls onto our arms and shoulders to pet. My girlfriend loved the Hermione and Harry costumes!!! If you like dogs, cats and fluffy creatures you are in for a treat. It doesn't matter if you don't know owls, the store assistants know and will fill you in :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snowy Owl and so much more!

Reviewed by: Joyce, 2018/12/12

Even though you couldn't touch the snowy owl, the cafe played up the Harry Potter theme by including a backdrop, and Gryffindor school robes for you to wear and take photos with the owl. Especially exciting for Harry Potter fans!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helpful English-speaking staff made the experience even better

Reviewed by: Joey, 2018/12/12

For me, this was the second time visiting the owl cafe in Fukuoka, so I did not expect any surprises. However, they had a number of new owl species which were not there before, and an English-speaking staff who was able to tell us more about owls and their habits.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience with kids

Reviewed by: Bren, 2018/12/12

Overall a great experience! After we went in, we sat down upstairs and ordered drinks. Afterwards we sanitized our hands and was briefed about how to handle the owls. Then we were lead back downstairs to meet the owls! No time wasted, which was perfect with elders and kids.

We went with two 4 year olds and they thoroughly enjoyed letting the small owls stand on their hands. The English speaking male staff was very attentive to them, and we had more than enough time to take turns with each owl and take pictures. We were allowed to handle 5 owls, as the other owls were resting in their cages and could only have their picture taken, but not touched.

Many types of owls of various sizes were inside the shop. We're pretty amazed at the variety of owls we saw since it was our first time being in such close encounter with owls. Amazing experience and convenient location right in the center of Hakata. Would definitely recommend this place.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible experience

Reviewed by: KCN, 2018/11/29

One of the highlights of our trip. The hosts were friendly, and the owls were fabulous.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely hour with the owls

Reviewed by: Coie@fukuoka2018, 2018/08/12

I enjoyed the time at the cafe with Alex and the lovely owls. Visit the cafe for an interesting experience if you are in Hakata!

Thank you. I will definitely visit again if I'm in Hakata.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cute Owl Experience!

Reviewed by: OwlEnjoyer, 2018/08/07

I loved this place! Upon entering, staff were very welcoming and friendly, and took us upstairs for a bit of housekeeping. While the staff’s English is not perfect, there was no trouble on either end making ourselves understood.

Then the owls! There are five owls out at a time for handling, the others are resting. You can hold any size of owl on your hand, arm, shoulder, or head (!).., stroke them, make friends. Staff are happy to help, explain about the owls, take photos, etc. There are also Harry Potter robes to wear for photos!

There are all varieties and sizes of owls! All are very cute. Some might get a little snappy and try to nibble your hand if you hold it too close, so make sure to stroke them only on the back! They are very soft and adorable.

There is a small chance the owls will poop on you, and there will be no warning, but we didn’t witness this.

Also, when you enter the cafe, knock and wait to be let in by the staff. I expected there to be a lobby, but the front door opens directly onto the main room with all the owls.

Overall, a fantastic and memorable experience! Would recommend!


  • Yu-chan


  • Moko-chan and Yu-chan


  • Off duty owls


  • The snowy owl. No touching!


Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for visiting us.
We are glad that you enjoyed it.
It is a nice picture!
We are looking foward for your visit again.
Thanks for the experience story!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hoot Hoot!!

Reviewed by: darioeugene, 2018/08/01

Hakata Owl Cafe was a lot of fun. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The owls were so cute and cool to hold. If I visit Fukuoka again, I will make sure to visit again. It was a lot of fun, thanks.







Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for visiting us.
We are glad that you enjoyed it.
It is a nice picture!
We are looking foward for your visit again.
Thanks for the experience story!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Owlfamily Cafe in Hakata

Reviewed by: GHO, 2018/04/30

Time goes very fast inside this cafe. After a short briefing with clear instructions, lovely owls are waiting downstairs to share the funny time with you.

Happy to know that the owls are working on shift so that they will not be too busy or too tired.


Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your comment!
I am fortunate to have a nice time with the owl.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Visit Owl Café in Fukuoka

Reviewed by: Joey, 2018/04/10

This is my first time to bring 2gals to Japan. They are so excited and glad to touch owls closely. The staffs are so nice and the briefing is simple and clear. Good and memorial experience for us to visit Owl Café in Fukuoka.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your comment!
I am fortunate to have a nice time with the owl.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and enjoyable

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2018/04/09

Loved the experience! Would want to do it again if could!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a great time with my kids

Reviewed by: JONGEUN SIM , 2018/04/04

I live in Deagu, South Korea.

Last year I was visited owl cafe in Osaka. My kids(8years old boy, 6years old girl) were so happy in Osaka. So I searched in owl cafe in Fukuoka.

Finally my kids were very satisfied in Owl family.
It was a super great time with my family!

I used to visit Japan 2~3 times per year. At next time, my family will go to Owl family and I highly recommand Owl family to my friends.


Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our shop!
You seemed to be able to interact with a lot of owls, which was nice.
I will be waiting next year ☆

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Staycation fun

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2018/03/27

I visited as a part of my "staycation" (I live in Kyushu). It was definitely worth it. It's a unique experience. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It helps to speak Japanese, but there are multilingual instructions for visitors who cannot. If you've got an hour to spare during your visit to Fukuoka and fancy spending it with some ridiculously cute creatures then I'd stop by.




Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for visiting us.
We are glad that you enjoyed it.
It is a nice picture!
We are looking foward for your visit again.
Thanks for the experience story!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super experience!

Reviewed by: Ivan, 2018/03/25

Lots of fun and great service. Place and owls are clean and friendly. Lots of different owls and amazing photo ops. Had a super time and highly recommend for kids and even adults. Not to be missed!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Feeding and Peting

Reviewed by: K.P., 2018/03/22

First you get your drink and he information how to handle with the owls. After that you Start Feeding (if booked) and Peting the owls. Not all owls are free for Feeding ans Peting. The Stuff choose the owls before. So the owls can Relax After Peting before. The stuff is very friendly and helpul to get many beautiful photos. And they are very gentile to the kids. Really a Great experience. Would do again!


  • Feeding Hedwig ;)


Reply from activity provider


Thank you for having experienced the feeding plan. I appreciate comments that are easy to understand. We are looking forward to seeing you again ☆

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful owl cafe

Reviewed by: Milodrums, 2018/03/19

I've been to a few animal cafes before and this is just wonderful. They lead you up to take your drink order and provide a lot of photos, references and notes on how to proceed with the animals. They make sure you are comfortable and teach you how to hold them. There's always a risk of injury to both owls and humans but they reduce the risk with a lot of safety rules.

The staff are very wonderful and kind. They do speak some english which is enough to have a good time in the cafe.

I really enjoyed the owls and how tame they are. The staff rotate their owls so not to tire them out, hence you get different owls at your time slot, compared to the previous or next one. They even have harry potter cloaks for you to wear to fantasize yourself in hogwarts!

I had a good time and would definitely come back with friends :D

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your comment!
I am fortunate to have a nice time with the owl.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great owl feeding experience at Owl Family Hakata

Reviewed by: fawong, 2017/11/18

Fantastic experience at Owl Family Hakata! this is my second owl cafe experience. first time feeding owls, it was so much fun! the staffs are very nice and friendly. they explained the details to us first then guide us through the feeding process. Definitely will come back again if we visit Hakata next time, thank you very much!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your comment!
I am fortunate to have a nice time with the owl.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent feeding and touching owl

Reviewed by: CHA JUNG SUG, 2017/11/04

I have only son. he is 12 years old. we can feed owl. I was a little scared. but owls do cute and nice. when I put a baby owl on my hand. I couldn't stop smiling. It was so fun. I recommend this experience.


  • cute owl

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed touching the owls at our shop.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Encounter

Reviewed by: JPoPStaR, 2017/11/03

I am sooooo happy to have this rare opportunity to interact with the beautiful owls at this cafe. the feeling is just surreal. the owls are sooooo cute and fluffy! it was very exciting to be able to feed them and pet them. they look well taken care of. I just hope that the staff will always be good to them because they are fragile =)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed touching the owls at our shop.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan again!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: PrettyEdmond , 2017/10/10

All Owl so cute and make me feel happy, it's a great and special experience, I'll come again to visit them.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your comment!
I am fortunate to have a nice time with the owl.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Owls are so cute

Reviewed by: dy kim, 2017/09/30

It was unique experience. Although their appearances look scary, they're not aggressive and so cute.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
We look forward to you again coming to the store.
Thank you very much!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting

Reviewed by: Hsu,fang-chi, 2017/09/07

This is my first time taking pictures and owls, a little nervous but professional service staff made me feel at ease to take pictures, shoot a lot of pretty pictures, the Internet is convenient scheduled, would recommend to a friend.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
We are very happy that you enjoyed it!
When you come to Japan again please come to our shop in Osaka!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jakarta Owl Cafe

Reviewed by: CCP, 2017/08/22

Adorable owls and super friendly staff. We had an awesome afternoon here!!


Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store.
We are very happy that you enjoyed it!
When you come to Japan again please come to our shop in Osaka!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

還可以

Reviewed by: 呂佳潔, 2017/08/21

很特別的體驗。 可以摸摸貓頭鷹,小朋友超開心的,還有各式各樣的貓頭鷹,但飲料也太小一杯了。 喜歡貓頭鷹的人可以去看看。


Reply from activity provider

感谢您的访问和体验故事!
我们非常高兴您在我们的商店享受感人的猫头鹰。
再次访问日本时,请来我们的商店。

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend

Reviewed by: Heather, 2017/07/21

I would recommend this cafe to everyone. Very exciting. Very fun.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our store!
And thank you for your experience story.
I am very thankful that you visited our store.
Please come to our shop when you come back to Japan!
I am looking forward to your visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |