This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hokkaido Crane Viewing Taxi Transfer from Kushiro

Overall Rating

4.624.62 / 5

Reviews

8 reviews (Post a review)

tancho cranes

Reviewed by: janieddy, 2019/02/16

Mr. Ishida was prompt picking us up at curbside at 0900. {He was actually early} The drive was out to a rural part of Kushiro to various crane sanctuaries. The view at each of these places was outstanding. Mr. Ishida explained about the cranes & their revival from the brink of extinction. He had setup an itinerary but was not bound to it. We bypassed one sight, since we had seen it on a previous visit to Kushiro. With this change brought some spare time, so he took us around the seaport & made several stops at scenic points for photographs.

It was a memorable experience. Definitely a highlight in our trip to Hokkaido.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you.
The Ishida drivers are those who can boast most at our company.
It seemed that I satisfied the trip of Hokkaido.
I educate many good drivers and get everybody to be glad.
Moreover, I need your help well.
I made personal computer translation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A disappointing experience. A taxi ride not a tour

Reviewed by: Pamela Levene, 2019/02/15

I appreciate that you made it clear that the driver would not be able to speak English and he did try to use an app - but it was so dangerous as he tried to drive and look at his phone that we agreed that he would not do that.

So really what I got was a taxi ride not a private tour.

If the driver had any expertise about Kushiro's nature, he was not able to share it with me.

The first place we visited was basically a bridge with a view over a river, with a few cranes on the horizon.

I understand that this bridge is a famous viewing point. You could say that there are no guarantees where nature is concerned but judging by the fact that there were only two other people there, then I believe that this fact was knowable in advance and we should have gone somewhere else.

The second was a feeding station which did at least afford a view of a number of cranes. Here there were many other people viewing them too, even coaches (proving that - see above - it is possible to know where to go - and where not to)

However, I discovered after my visit, that there are set times for feeding the cranes, so surely I should have been advised about this and my arrival timed to coincide with the feeding.

There would have been much more activity, as birds arrived for the food ...

The third stop was at an observatory which was not very inspiring. And again there was hardly anyone there.

Apparently the roof viewpoint it a highlight but I guess that is in the summer months. In winter it was simply a barren landscape.

I travelled to Kushiro especially to see the cranes. All in all, a disappointing experience.

p.s. The taxi driver himself was courteous and I felt he was a very nice man, so this is NOT a complaint about him. The tour organisers should have put more thought into it - to justify calling it a tour.

  • Lucky I had a zoom lens!

Reply from activity provider

Use thank you for this time.
I think that it is good to grasp the occasional state well and to act flexibly since nature is a partner as it says. I keep in mind to carry out good advice for that.
Moreover, I am waiting to come.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

非常愉悦的一次行程。

Reviewed by: lily, 2019/02/11

接待我们的司机是一位年纪很大的大叔,在日本开车的行业当中都是年龄较大的人。驾驶技术非常平稳。很有礼貌。语言上沟通不便,会使用翻译软件。

Reply from activity provider

出租司机老龄化前进着。可是,有驾驶技术。会话不懂言词,不过使用翻译机尽量打算明白。今后也请多关照。用个人电脑翻译了。

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Japan cranes

Reviewed by: Hawaii guy, 2019/01/21

Great tour to Kushiro area red crane observation points. We are not avid birders...just wanted to see the cranes close up. We were not disappointed. Visited 3 major sites where cranes congregated in January. Took in other sites on history, geology, ecology etc of the area. The weather cooperated for us, beautiful sunny day even if a bit cold, but it was mid January. Partner spoke some Japanese so it was helpful but our driver had a translator device which was also helpful. Great tour, lots of cranes...hundreds of them at each site...yes, really! Well worth the time and cost, and private taxi so much better than a big bus...a big bus wouldn't be able to get to some of the areas. Taxi is best way to go.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for the review.
I am very glad to be impressed by the Japanese crane of Kushiro which it is proud of in the world.
The barrier of language also becomes somehow.
Moreover, please come to Kushiro.
Thank you very much.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well worth the trip

Reviewed by: Raymond, 2018/03/03

We flew from Sapporo to Kushiro where we were met by the taxi driver. The driver did not speak English but he used an app on his phone that allowed us to communicate when we needed. The story of the cranes and how they have come back from almost extinction is amazing. We started at the interpretive center and then traveled to see several locations of the Cranes and a lunch stop. A five hour tour and then we flew back to Sapporo to take in the Snow Festival. A most worthwhile experience. There were two couples.

Reply from activity provider

It seems that the Japanese Japanese crane also had many difficulties.
However, I receive deep impression in signs that I still fly about gracefully.
Moreover, please come.
Thank you very much.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience seeing the cranes

Reviewed by: Brian, 2018/02/11

Language barrier wasn’t a problem. Our guide was early, had a sign, and then took us all over and we saw lots of cranes. Very much worth it!

Reply from activity provider

It was good to meet many cranes. Please come to see me again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Tour

Reviewed by: Rod, 2018/02/11

I could take as much time or as little time as I wanted at each venue!! Perfect!! Got some outstanding photos of Tancho Tsuru.

Reply from activity provider

a nice shot -- I am glad to have you be glad.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful cranes

Reviewed by: Ross , 2016/03/14

We took this tour, only one available on the internet to see the Japanese cranes in winter, when they do their courtship and dance. We had a very polite, kind driver, who took us to 3 different spots to view the cranes. It was just after a blizzard but the roads had been cleaned, fortunately. We would recommend this tour to anyone who likes birds in a beautiful scenery. Only slight problem is that the driver is not fluent in English but he definitely tries hard and is very nice. We still give the tour 5 stars.

Reply from activity provider

Five stars can be given and it is very deep emotion. It was good for the weather to improve. Since what can speak English was not, I imposed inconvenience. I receive the customers with much enthusiasm. Please come for Japanese crane observation again if you please. Thank you .
Dear Ross.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]