Lake Shikotsu, Toya & Mt. Usu Scenic Exploration Tour from Sapporo reviews, Sapporo Area tours & activities, fun things to do in Sapporo Area | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Lake Shikotsu, Toya & Mt. Usu Scenic Exploration Tour from Sapporo

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

4 reviews
Post a review

The highlight of our trip!

Reviewed by: JennaR, 2020/02/11

This tour is a great opportunity to explore the lakes and mountains around Sapporo. We didn’t have a car, so this tour gave us a rare opportunity we otherwise wouldn’t have had to see spectacular views of Lake Shikotsu, Lake Toya, and countless others. I was especially happy to see Hokkaido’s “Fuji”, Mount Yōtei. Also, the tour guide was great. He was very personable and friendly. I really enjoyed the small group atmosphere. This allowed the tour to be more flexible. For example, at the last location, the tour guide allowed us to ride in a tube pulled by a snowmobile during our free time. This was very fun and I highly recommend asking your tour guide to do this activity. We had clear skies the whole trip and we were able to see a lot of beautiful nature. Lastly, the ice cream was amazing!!!!! I recommend the blue salt and milk cream flavor.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Tour!

Reviewed by: Jenna, 2020/02/11

The tour guide was very friendly and helpful. He did a good job of showing us the famous in Hokkaido! It was nice to have a small, intimate group. It was easy to talk to each other and bond. We saw a lovely view of Lake Shikotsu and enjoyed some yummy cheesy mochi potatoes. Then we went to the rope way and saw beautiful views on the mountain! After, we ate delicious fresh Hokkaido milk gelato. They had many flavours to choose from, and the staff at the shop were very nice and accommodating to my allergies. I recommend you try the cream cheese flavor. It tastes like a mozzarella cheese string! Then we saw more mountains and had the opportunity to ride a tube pulled by a snow mobile to get a better look, as well as shop for some souvenirs. In between all that we were able to stop for a nice lunch with many options. It was a great day and I really recommend this tour to anyone who visits Hokkaido! It did not feel rushed like other tours I’ve been on, the pace was great. the bus driver was also friendly. It was nice to experience this with my friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The tour was awesome!

Reviewed by: Nixts, 2020/02/06

We start the tour at the meeting location near Sapporo north exit. It took a while for us to find our guide because we were waiting in front of the coffee shop and we did not know that we should look for her outside of the building. After that everything went smoothly. On that day, there were only 4 guests included us that join the trip, so its feel very exclusive. Our guide is Angie, she is very friendly and take good care of us. Same with our Japanese driver (Sorry we did not remember his name) which also very friendly and take great care of us, drove us safely to all the destination.

The day that we took the tour is the first week that Sapporo having it first big snow. There was snowing while we visit Lake Shikotsu and it was very windy and very cold (-11C) but that was a price we gladly pay for the beautiful winter sceneries around the Lake. Our next stop is at Mt.Usu, we hop on a ropeway and went to the summit of Mt.Usu. The view is majestic. The place seems to not have many visitors that day and its feel like we have all the summit for our self.

After we spent some time on the summit, we took a short visit at Lake Hill Farm (very delicious homemade ice-cream) and then a short walk to Silo Observatory with the view of the water along with the wonderful Mt. Usu and Nakajima Island in the back.

Overall, it was a very good experience, strongly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review of Lake Shikotsu, Mt Usu and Lake Toya tour

Reviewed by: HYLee, 2020/01/04

Excellent tour despite the erratic weather.
Was almost a private tour as it was only our family of 5 and another couple.
Van was warm and comfortable on a very cold winter day,
Tour guide Geoffrey was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
We went to Lake Shikotsu first - lake was beautiful but weather was really too cold and windy for us to stay out too long.
Headed next to Mt Usu ropeway. Fortunately weather cleared up abit and sun came out so we had a great view of lake Toya and mount Usu from the ropeway and from the top mountain overlooking lake toya and the volcanic cavern.
We then headed for lunch at a wonderful small family run Restaurant. Food was awesome and good variety menu to choose from.
Lake Toya was next but it was way too foggy and cold for us to see much.
Stopped at a small cafe which sold the best milk ice cream on the way back,
Overall we had a really great time and got to see a lot.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for joining and for the kind feedback!
We’re so happy you could enjoy the day, despite the winter weather being a little unpredictable:)
Hope to see you again in Hokkaido one day’

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]