Maiko Experience with Traditional Kaiseki Dinner at Gion Hatanaka in Kyoto

Overall Rating

4.624.62 / 5

Reviews

24 reviews (Post a review)

Superb food and great culture

Reviewed by: Drew T., 2017/05/01

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening being entertained and educated regarding all things Maiko. The whole experience was a night not to be forgotten. The food was the highest quality.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous

Reviewed by: Lorna from London, 2017/04/14

What a privilege it was to meet an authentic Maiko and see her dance accompanied on the shamisen by a Geiko and then meet her and speak to her about her life which is about as far from the ordinary 17 year old's as you can get !!! The "waitresses" are lovely and so attentive . Food is a bit of a challenge for some western tastes but the whole evening is an unmissable experience . Highly recommended .

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: DCL, 2016/12/31

We really enjoyed our experience at Gion Hatanaka. .The dinner was great and the maiko/geiko we met were very poised and kind.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing one-of-a-kind experience

Reviewed by: willie r., 2016/06/06

Went to Kyoto with a friend and we wanted something authentic. This fit the bill perfectly. The Maiko performed well, and look flawless, as expected. The staff was super helpful, and as usual the language difference was not an issue.

Pros: The food is delicious, open bar, the ambiance, the drinking games, the information/history presentation.

Cons: food is pre-set, shoes are removed so wear socks, the room was quite warm by the end of the night.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely wonderful!!

Reviewed by: Erika, 2016/05/11

Show was great!! Dinner was very good, especially since my husband and I are not big fish eaters. They are not stingy with the drinks either. The two maikos performance was beautiful along with their costumes and make-up. The interactive games afterwards had the whole room laughing. A bit pricey but highly recommend. Great experience since there are so few geisha left practicing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko Experience

Reviewed by: Hank, 2016/04/30

Absolutely fantastic experience. First time to see Japan, & the Geisha was one of the top of the list. The catering staff were professional & very friendly. The Maiko themselves carried out a great performance. There was time for photos & interactive conversation. They also played some Geisha games with the dinner group. All in all, highly recommended, especially if you have never seen Geisha perform in real life.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/08
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our Kyoto experience

Reviewed by: YK Han, 2016/04/23

The Maiko Experience gave us an interesting and unforgettable insight into the lives of Maiko-san and Geiko-san, which otherwise would be inaccessible for non-Japanese. Fun games and photo session were also included, which gave us an overall unforgettable evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experiwnce

Reviewed by: Ruth, 2016/04/17

Travelled solo and felt welcome. Assigned with a family of three and enjoyed their company. Worth the price in completing a trip in Gion. Food was your traditional Japanese Kyoto cuisine. For first timers an adventure! Will do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chance of a Lifetime!

Reviewed by: Andrea Withers, 2016/04/03

It is difficult if not impossible to see a real Geisha in Japan without booking a special tour such as this. I was on a group tour that didn't include a Geisha evening, and all the people on the tour stood for an hour on a street corner in Gion, hoping to see a Geisha, but to no avail. They were certainly jealous to hear that I'd booked a separate tour to ensure connecting with this special part of Japanese culture. And it was SO worth it to enjoy the endless courses of Japanese specialty food and overflowing drinks, as well as the beautiful dances and songs of the Maiko and Geisha, not to mention the fun drinking games and the table-side chats we had. The two ladies came to each table (four at a table) and talked with us, answering any questions we had (via a translator) and taking photos with us. I have precious memories on video from this very special evening. Highly recommend it!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous evening!

Reviewed by: Carl, 2016/03/19

Lovely venue, great food and drink, and excellent entertainment. Would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Kyoto Categories