Kyoto Maiko Entertainment in Gion w/ All-You Can Drink Kaiseki Dinner & Photo Op reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kyoto Maiko Entertainment in Gion w/ All-You Can Drink Kaiseki Dinner & Photo Op

Overall Rating

4.78 4.78 / 5

Reviews

99 reviews
Post a review

Great experience

Reviewed by: Rebbie Radtke, 2020/04/01

This dinner and show was everything I hoped for. The setting was beautiful and the people at Gion Hatanaka were the nicest hosts. The food was great and the service was very attentive. The drinks were plentiful and all very tasty. The show itself was beautiful and then we had chances to ask questions (with an interpreter for those not fluent in Japanese) and play games. There were many options for geisha experiences and I am so glad we chose this one - it was a fun and amazing experience I will not soon forget. Thank you all for all the work you do to make this such a special experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome

Reviewed by: miyabi, 2020/01/21

it was truly an experience to be had. seeing the maiko dance and hearing the geiko play the sanmisen is fascinating.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved this experience!!

Reviewed by: Lilia , 2019/12/02

My family and I loved our Geisha experience. They were truly stunning and it was such a unique way to learn about Geisha & Maikos first hand. The dances, games, and times chatting with the Maikos were lovely. I highly recommend this as an experience to remember! Note that if you are used to Western cuisine such as myself, the food is definitely different -- but it's wonderful to try the seasonal dishes and get the exposure that!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Aaron, 2019/12/01

We had a great night, and I highly recommend it. Honestly, I didn't really enjoy the food. It was okay; I ate some of it and passed on some items. As an American, it just wasn't to my tastes. But the food isn't why we were there, and it's not the end of the world to nibble on some new foods you're not crazy about. Order some of the free alcohol to help wash it down.

Obviously we were there for the geiko(geisha) and maiko experience. The evening was very informative with excellent English translation. They gave us some history and facts, the each performer presented a traditional dance. The information was great; the dancing was interesting but not terribly exciting for me personally. Then they went table to table for some conversation with the translators. This is when the formality was broken down and we got to interact with them more as people. Geisha culture seems a little weird to me, but it is somewhat intriguing. After that they led us in a couple drinking games and it made sense how somebody might hire them for an evening of entertainment. Fun was had by all and it was a great experience.

My wife and I agreed we are glad we did it, but would probably not feel the need to do it again in the future unless we were taking others with us.

Final answer: we recommend you go.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

舞妓ディナー 

Reviewed by: Himawari, 2019/11/09

文化の触れ合いも出来て良かった。楽しかったです。ありがとうございました。またご利用したいと思います。 

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect restaurant to experience a Geisha show in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Álvaro Lago , 2019/10/14

The place is perfect. Excellent food with all you can drink included. Geishas (Maikos and Geikos) will perform during dinner. After that they come to each table and with the help of an interpreter they chat with everyone. They take pictures with people at the table and also on the dancing stage. They invite to you to ask them questions and they also play drinking games with you. The host also explains the history, clothing and traditions of geishas while you eat. Unique experience that must be seen while in Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible experience

Reviewed by: Michaël, 2019/08/21

The food was realy good but the show with the maikos was better :)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful evening and a highlight of our trip to Japan!

Reviewed by: Heather and Derrick , 2019/07/19

We were fortunate to have two lovely Maikos and a lovely Geiko for our dinner evening. The photo opportunities were outstanding! The ladies were dressed in full exquisite traditional attire and allowed wonderful photos with my husband and I. We played traditional dinner games with the Maikos and Geiko and everyone in the audience was able to get incredible videos and photos of themselves engaged in these sweet activities. The dinner was delicious and beautifully presented. The open bar was generous and high quality! Fantastic once in a lifetime opportunity and incredible value!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko Experience with Traditional Kaiseki Dinner at Gion Hatanaka in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Heather, 2019/07/01

It was a very lovely memorable and authentic Japanese experience. The dinner was very delicious as well, the Maikos and Geiko that were there were kind, friendly and educational. It was nice to hear their stories, being able to speak with them and for them to share the path they took to become Maikos as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Couldn't have asked for anything better

Reviewed by: Mitch , 2019/05/24

After research a handful of geisha experiences I have to say I was blown away with this dinner and all you can drink. A traditional Kieseki dinner with a wide variety of common and unusual foods.
All you can drink really means it.... not once we're we waiting to call a staff member over for another drink (you do however have to finish what one you have before ordering the next, which wasn't a problem).

We had both a meiko (apprentice) and geiko (geisha) present for our performances and live games. They took time to answer questions with an English speaking translator and we got to play a sufficient amount of fun drinking games with them. They were patient and happy to take photos. It was well worth the money and I would recommend this tour to anyone who isn't sure which one to choose. You won't be disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Fil, 2019/05/24

It was an unforgettable experience. Great dinner with one maiko and one geiko

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unmissable activity in Kyoto

Reviewed by: ゾリー, 2019/04/03

Absuletely incredible performance. Having a great time. Specially and unique lifetime experience. Bring close the traditional japanese feeling. And the dinner was also fantastic. Amazing night.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Better than expected

Reviewed by: Kai, 2019/03/24

Lots of food, open bar, the staff were great, the gako and Maiko lovely and attentive, games are fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to experience Maiko (Geisha) of Japan

Reviewed by: Joob, 2019/02/28

Great service! Delicious kaiseki dinner! Great performance from the Maiko and Geiko. You can see from the faces of all guests that they were happy for the evening, the Maiko was definitely train on how to make us smile and laugh. Couldn't be better in any other way.

  • Delicious starter box from the kaiseki dinner, more to come

  • Us with the Maiko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a lovely experience

Reviewed by: Lauren , 2018/09/16

This was such a great experience— the food and the entertainment did not disappoint! I would definitely recommend this to get more culturally submerged while in Kyoto!

  • Playing drinking games!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the highlights of our trip

Reviewed by: PRS, 2018/05/21

Unless you've got connections this is a great way to see Geisha. Gion Hatakana does a great job and it made for a wonderful evening.
The menu is approachable for even someone not used to Japanese food and they are generous when it comes to the drinks.
TLDR: Great service, great entertainment, great food

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Grace summerhays, 2018/04/18

This was an amazing once-in-a-lifetime experience to meet a Maiko! She was delightful graceful beautiful and entertaining. She showed us two beautiful dances while the geiko played and sang. They then showed us traditional Japanese drinking games and let us play it was so fun! She came around to each party and answered questions and spoke with us by interpreter and was just precious. But dinner was very good as well but the experience was what made it worth it the culture I loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Jess , 2018/04/14

My 10 year old son and I booked this experience and it was the highlight of our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner with maiko

Reviewed by: Mattia, 2018/01/06

Esperienza fantadtica...incrociare lo sguardo di una maiko trasmette emozioni indescrivibili...molto bello anche potere parlare con lei e fare dei giochi divertenti tutti insieme...spettacolare anche la cena kaiseki... assolutamente da provare

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Insight in a part of historical japanese culture

Reviewed by: Jens, 2017/11/30

Great event for those really interested to understand Japanese better. Not necessarily for the average tourist. We had the luck to see 2 geiko and 1 meiko. All of them had been really a pleasure to meet. Also the interpreter did a great job, as the geiko and meiko she was a perfect example of japanese dignity. Ah, dinner was great too. Recommended for anybody who is interested in such things.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Toma, 2017/11/01

The Maiko were very friendly and created a fantastic atmosphere!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great for foreigners interested in Geiko and Maiko!

Reviewed by: Michael, 2017/08/14

I was traveling to Japan alone, but my parents were going to visit for a couple days. I have studied and read about Maiko and Geiko, and since my parents saw my interested they wanted to attend some kind of dinner. I was a bit nervous to find one for them, because I know Japanese but they do not. The translator was AMAZING and so helpful. I have no idea how she was able to remember everything and translate for everyone while talking to guests.

The whole experience is very much set for newcomers, so you don't have to read intensively before coming, they do explain a lot about what they wear, and preform. When we were there, there was one Geiko and one Maiko. They both greeted every group individually and allowed for small chat. Many photo ops and a good way to get them instead of waiting around Gion. I really highly recommend for anyone interested in the truth about Geisha and their art.

The Geiko and Maiko we saw were from Miyagawacho if anyone was curious.

  • Geiko Kofuku

  • Maiko Koen

  • Geiko Kofuku

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!

Reviewed by: Laura, 2017/07/30

A fantastic experience, food and drink was beautiful but the main highlight was the entertainment by Maiko and Geiko and the opportunity to speak with them -absolutely priceless, highly recommend it, this will stay with me forever.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Jess, 2017/07/23

I've studied geiko and maiko so this is a dream come true for me. We were not only able to see the performance but to talk to the ladies and interact with them in games. Approach the food with an open mind; great for foodies but the couple next to me wasn't enjoying the food. Google kaiseki before committing.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great overall experience in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Chris, 2017/07/04

Good food - ok, my partner found it strange and weird, it was her first trip though and she was still used to the usual sushi-and-tempura staples, so it is all good ;) - all you can drink menu was great, and the best part, were the Maiko perfomances and games.

A note for couples/solo travelers, is that tables accommodate four people each, and chances are that you will be seating with other people. We sat together with a fun American couple, and had a lot of fun talking, and interacting together in the Maiko games, so that actually enhanced our experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our Japan trip.

Reviewed by: John, 2017/07/01

Everyone in our family enjoyed this experience as the highlight of our Japan trip. We highly recommend it to anyone. Families had their kids there (7 and above) and you could see the kids were really enjoying it too. If you can book this dinner do it.

We ended up with two Geiko, the full-fledged Geisha, so that was great. You sit at low tables with chairs. A couple of members of our family really enjoyed the unlimited drinks. The English translator did a great job translating the experience. One of the Geiko spoke pretty fair English so we had a nice conversation with her at our table and the other Geiko who came to our table had the translator along to facilitate our individual questions. The Geisha are very controlled during their performance so I was pleasantly surprised that when we had a chance to talk with them individually at our table they were so friendly and open in their conversations and actions when not performing. There were a couple of different drinking games that everyone found great fun, especially when you get a video of someone in your party. Everyone had a chance to participate. Even some kids participated in the drinking games (drinking tea or something non-alcoholic). There was a lot of laughing going on during the drinking games. The dinner itself is mostly seafood based so if you do not like seafood it would be good to get something to eat ahead of time. Gion Hatanaka where the dinner took place was a perfect venue. It had a very authentic Japanese feel to it. You probably will take a cab there and they can call a cab for you when you are ready to leave.

I booked this a couple of months in advance fearing that it might run out of space and it was pending confirmation of enough other guests for the experience to operate that night. I got a final confirmation about two weeks before our date that the experience was confirmed and we were good to go.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice and well organized

Reviewed by: Olivier, 2017/06/24

Nice moment reserved of course for tourists but there are not 1000 ways to experience this. I thought the food would be of higher standard but it was also good. Thanks!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!!

Reviewed by: Alana and Claire, 2017/06/23

It was such an amazing experience, and the crowd-interaction portions were both fun and informative! The food was delicious and exciting and the service was very fast and polite. Talking with the meiko was such a unique and amazing opprotunity! We really enjoyed our evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko + Kaiseki Dinner

Reviewed by: QAH, 2017/06/21

4.5 An amazing experience to meet a maiko and geiko! The food was superb, with convincingly fresh ingredients and a great selection. The entertainment was fantastic, once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to interact with geiko/maiko. The only thing I wish were better was that I my group felt rushed at times. We didn't get very much time to talk with the maiko/geiko, and the host rushed us at the end to leave when we wanted to just finish our drinks.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show/experience so fun! Weird food.

Reviewed by: EEE, 2017/06/11

Appetizer dish was a lot of strange foods. Don't go for the food. 2 maiko and 1 geiko were there! Games were really fun! Recommend. Unique experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]