Kyoto 1-Day Bus Tour to Kiyomizu-dera, Kinkakuji & Ginkakuji reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kyoto 1-Day Bus Tour to Kiyomizu-dera, Kinkakuji & Ginkakuji

Overall Rating

4.27 4.27 / 5

Reviews

11 reviews
Post a review

Great Tour to see three of the most popular sights.

Reviewed by: David Seaton, 2019/12/05

Finding the starting point was easy as it was very easy to see at the train station. It was nice that there were translations available as one of us spoke English and the other spoke Chinese. Despite rainy weather the tour was great. The tour obviously runs on a schedule so lingering to meditate will not work. There was enough time to follow the trails and get a number of photos but be aware that there will be crowds as these are very popular tourist places. This is an easy way to see the temples and to avoid numerous train and subway changes.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Ana, 2019/11/29

It was great! The guide seemed very knowledgeable, however she did not speak English and we felt that we missed some information. She did have some videos in English and signs. Overall the tour was good and would recommend it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

None

Reviewed by: None, 2019/07/17

Good tour. Well organized aaaaaaasaaaaaaaaaaaaaaeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeddddddddddddddttttttttttfffffggggg

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Crowds and delays

Reviewed by: Maile, 2018/11/27

The positives: bus transportation and pre-paid access into shrines and temples. The negatives: It was initially described as a Fall excursion but it was more like a highlights tour. They did not address any of the autumn trees or traditions for that time of year. Because of the Fall season is so popular, all of the places were very crowded, leading to a near race at each site just to get there and back in time for the bus. It also lead to a more than one hour delayed return, which, to be fair, they said might happen, but an update as the day progressed would have been better than announcing it at the tail end of a long day. We had plans to get back to JR station by a certain time so we had to depart the bus early and catch our own cab ride back which cost nearly $40.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well worth doing the trip.

Reviewed by: Michael, 2018/06/10

Beautiful Temples and wonderful gardens and scenery. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots of people!
The English translation device, which is available on the bus, only worked for the journey to the Kinkakuji Temple. After that there was no English explanation of where we we going or what we were seeing. Pity!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Tour

Reviewed by: Luanne, 2016/01/06

Guide was excellent and we plenty of time to tour the attractions! I would recommend this tour. We found it very reasonable in price, also.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Top 3 temples in one day

Reviewed by: Savvy808, 2015/06/03

There are so many temples in Kyoto but this tour took us to the 3 temples I wanted to see and the guide also pointed out all the temples along the way from the bus. It was just enough stops to maintain my 13 year old daughter's interest without getting bored. Audio headset for English and other languages were only used in the bus so we couldn't understand the guide's explanation at all the stops, which was disappointing to us and the rest of the non-Japanese speaking people on our tour. The time spent at each stop was perfect with enough time to quickly browse through the shops and try popular snacks sold near the temples. We received small omiyage or souvenirs from each temple which was a nice surprise! Although it's a ways down a lot of steps, you should take the time to drink the water flowing down 3 channels to a fountain at Kiyomizudera. They say it has wish granting powers for love, academic success and longevity. This was a great tour but would've been perfect if it was in English!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time in Kyoto

Reviewed by: teddy85, 2014/11/26

First time went to Kyoto alone, we didn't know where to go, we found on the internet about this tour. We had a wonderful time and enjoy tour, tour guide is really friendly and closer with travellers. But only each sightseeing places too much travellers, and the time for sightseeing is limited, so that we have not lot of time to sightseeing as well.
If have change to travel again, we will chose this tour. Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]