Meet Maiko and Have Tea Time in Gion

Highly Recommend!

Reviewed by: Courtney, 2017/05/19

Really special experience, we have always wanted to have insight into the life of a Geisha and this is the perfect experience to do so. We were able to ask our Geisha questions after the tea ceremony and take photos with her. The host was also amazing, really insightful and accommodating. We were luck enough to be the only two within the group. 100% worth it, in fact probably the best part of our Japan trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended - highlight of our trip to Japan

Reviewed by: Japan2017, 2017/04/28

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience and feel so honoured to have been able to meet and talk to Tomitsuyu who is a wonderful and dignified maiko-san.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience in Japan

Reviewed by: Penny, 2017/04/15

If you choose to do any activity then this is the one. Had an absolutely amazing experience and could not rate it highly enough. A*****. Book today, you will love it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT TIME!

Reviewed by: Erik Payne, 2017/04/15

Our time at Tomikiku Ochaya was an incredible experience. The feeling for us was like magic. The geiko of the house, Tomitae is a very gifted person. The samples of her artistic abilities gave us a beautiful sense of the closed culture that is so highly refined in these hanamachis. We would also like to comment on the owner of this ochaya as being very polite and welcoming to its guests. She was also informative about the interesting history of her ochaya. It was also a bonus to us to meet the maiko of the ochaya, Tomitsuyu. We highly recommend this activity to anyone who is considering it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Authentic experience

Reviewed by: AMTL, 2017/04/02

We absolutely loved it.
It was a delight from start to finish and we are grateful that we were able to experience an authentic side of Japanese culture.
It was also one of the rare occasions when we had our very own activity, not being in a big group or visiting popular attractions with thousands of otourists.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Kristi , 2017/03/16

This experience was everything I thought and more! Four of us attended a tea ceremony that included delicious treats beforehand. Our Maiko was beautiful. I enjoyed every moment of her dance, how the tea was prepared, a fun game, conversation and a few photos afterwards. Our English translator was so friendly and made us feel comfortable. She took time to explain things, answer questions and take a group photo. This was one experience I was looking forward to the most coming to Gion, Kyoto. It was one of my favorite experiences from our trip and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a glimpse into Gion's rich history and tradition. Okini!!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea with Geiko

Reviewed by: Chris & Monika, 2017/03/04

We were the only two at the meeting and were warmly welcomed at Gion Tomikiku. The most gracious Geiko Tomitei served us tea and danced for us. She also played games with us and answered many of our questions about her life as a Geiko. Our interpreter too was extremely friendly and informative and explained to us many of the Maiko and Geiko traditions. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience not to be missed

Reviewed by: Michael, 2017/02/26

Went as two couples and was a great experience that we all enjoyed. We all learnt so much and we felt so privileged to see Tomitsuyu perform a dance and tea ceremony. We were also very glad that she could speak fluent English so that we could speak to her and ask all kinds of questions. Perfect Japanese experience we will never forget!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing amazing tea ceremony

Reviewed by: Lynn, 2016/12/20

First of all, most of the group was late but Gion Tomikiku was soooo accommodating! I also asked if I could add more children to the group and they were fine. The hostess met us out on the corner to make sure we would make it! Our hostess made sure the toddler had some cake to keep her busy. And then we had a geiko entertain us and make us tea. We got to ask questions. This is something I've wanted to do since I was a little girl so a dream came true and it was an amazing experience!




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea with a maiko

Reviewed by: Helen Murphy, 2016/11/29

Excellent experience and insight into Japanese culture at first hand. Opportunity to ask questions to the maiko. Would highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Kyoto Categories