This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Meet Maiko (Trainee Geisha) and Tea Ceremony in Traditional Gion

Wonderful experience. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by: hqd, 2018/04/15

It has been my wish for a while now to meet a maiko/geiko in person, and I finally got a chance to meet Tomichie-san. My family of eight really enjoyed watching Tomichie-san performed the traditional tea ceremony, and we really appreciate our host explaining the different aspects of the ceremony to us. After the ceremony, Tomichie-san performed a dance, then Q&A, and we had some time to play a little game with her. Tomichie-san graciously showed us her beautiful kimono and hairstyle, and was so patience with all of the photos that we were taking. If/when we come back to Kyoto again, we will definitely do this again.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!

Reviewed by: Canadian Family, 2018/04/09

This was something the entire family enjoyed: kids: 1 yr., 3 yrs, 5 yrs, 7 yrs! I would strongly suggest you make this a priority when planning your trip. Make sure you leave yourself extra time to find it or use an image from google maps to ask a taxi driver to take you there.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Warm-hearted Japanese people

Reviewed by: Joe, 2018/03/25

The address is not easy to find out but the warm-hearted Japanese old man guided us to the shop. Tidy and clean. Unforgettable experience to meet Maiko and tea ceremony for the our all family.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very grateful for this experience

Reviewed by: Eric, 2018/03/11

Thank you to the team for facilitating this wonderful experience for my clients. My clients read their documentation incorrectly and missed the reservation. However, the team in Kyoto managed to squeeze them in and give a FANTASTIC performance. Thank you so much.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful first experience

Reviewed by: Dominique, 2018/03/03

Our Maiko prepared tea and performed a spring dance. Later she came to sit with us and was willing to answer all of our questions and we were welcome to take whatever picture or video.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful moment!

Reviewed by: Deborah, 2018/02/22

We've decided to experience the tea time in Gion and we were fully satisfied.
First "our" Meiko, a Geiko apprentice (sorry I forgot her beautiful name), make us a dance performance. It was really hypnotizing. Then she make the tea ceremony and it was also great.
We could take pictures and ask her questions. We had the chance to have someone who speaks english, so it was nice. We had plenty of explanations too.
We strongly recommend this experience. Surly our best time in Kyoto!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience

Reviewed by: SRao, 2018/01/02

We had a good time with Maiko Tamochiye. She was very sweet and could speak english too. It was fun getting to know her. She was fairly new to being a Maiko, which added novelty to the whole experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Hospitality not to be missed.

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2017/12/31

This experience was Kyoto culture and hospitality at its finest. Everyone we met went above and beyond from the moment we arrived. As at all tea houses, guests are required to remove their shoes, but I had a broken foot and was not allowed to walk without my walking boot. The tea house mother kindly accommodated by finding a bag to tie over the boot. We enjoyed watching Maiko perform the traditional tea ceremony while an interpreter explained the process. We learned the proper way to enjoy the tea as well. After a wonderful dance we were given time for a question and answer session with Maiko followed by a photo opp. Maiko even came outside for photos need the tea house door. She was absolutely a pleasure to spend the afternoon with as was the interpreter. Highly recommended. Tip: the directions given on Veltra are quite accurate, but the door is unmarked (or at least unmarked by English). Just find the door by location and go through the curtain.


  • Maiko performs the tea ceremony.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding experience!

Reviewed by: Rachel Tuhro, 2017/12/19

Meeting the Maiko and speaking with the house mother was by far the most memorable part of our trip!

We enjoyed a Japanese Tea Ceremony had some small snacks and were entertained by a traditional recorded dance. Our Maiko was so lovely, she talked with us and spoke English very well. We were able to ask her a ton of personal questions and she was more than willing to answer all of them. The house mother was so friendly and accommodating and even gave us small gifts as souvenirs after our visit.

This is a MUST!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Haeseong Kim, 2017/11/24

Everything was perfect except for the tea ceremony. It would have been nice if someone explained the exact procedure of the tea ceremony. It was nice we had a chance to ask many questions, however, question and answer session took more than half of the time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion tea with maiko

Reviewed by: BOB H, 2017/11/18

The tea house went out their way to be friendly and provide a glimpse into the unknown world of a maiko in training. Most interesting and enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magical experience!

Reviewed by: Greg, 2017/11/17

This was our first time having tea with Maiko-san, and we didn't know what to expect. We were blow away by this experience! We thoroughly enjoyed having tea with our hostess, and the location was everything we'd hoped to find in a traditional Japanese tea house. Tomitsuyu-san was incredibly friendly and polite, and spoke flawless English too! We had a wonderful time and learned so much about the geisha as well as traditional culture in Kyoto. I absolutely recommend this activity to anyone who wants a traditional Japanese experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must Do!

Reviewed by: Kristin , 2017/10/24

My Husband and I had a great time, the host/translator was so kind and her English was perfect. The Maiko we got to met was very sweet and kind. We learned a lot and loved her dance. The only down side was it was hard to find and once we did find it there is not English on the outside. Perhaps you could make a detailed map to send visitors?
If you are in Kyoto I would say this is a must do! Love it

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

perfect for everyone

Reviewed by: giulya, 2017/10/18

was a great experience and we had a great time,was so beautiful and so speachless.


  • was very beautiful

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful experience

Reviewed by: Benjinito, 2017/09/23

This was one of the highlights of our trip. We were slightly concerned that this would turn out touristy, but we had a beautiful and authentic experience that we will always remember. The price might seem a little high on the surface, but it is very rare to get a chance to meet and have a private conversation with a maiko. The maiko that we met (Tomitsuyu) spoke perfect English and shared so many interesting things with us: her childhood, her daily life as a maiko, her aspirations. Videos and photos were encouraged throughout the entire experience.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience

Reviewed by: Jaime, 2017/09/07

It was an awesome experience, truly Japanese culture. It was very nice to have this private session with a Geiko and not only be able to witness her performances but also share thoughts, ask questions directly to her and to the tea house's manager as well. Great experience, would recommend to anybody traveling to Japan willing to explorer an authentic Japanese cultural experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience and highly recommended

Reviewed by: Sascha, 2017/09/06

An experience which will stay forever in my memory. You can explore places like Tokyo or Kyoto all day long but the real traditional Japan, you will get to see in the Gion district of Kyoto. To meet a maiko / geisha is one thing but to be able to talk to them and have your questions answered around this part of Japan's culture is to a certain extent priceless. You will meet the Maiko and she will prepare tea for you. Afterwards she will perform a dance and you get a chance then to interact with her by asking questions around their tradition, where they are from, why they chose to become a maiko/geisha and what they are going to do in the future. If you need any local tourist information, they are also more than happy to share their local favourites. Great hospitality and an experience not to be missed.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A dream come true!

Reviewed by: Maricarmen, 2017/08/06

I had always wanted to see a real Maiko and, although a bit expensive (considering that I was traveling alone) I decided to do it. It was worth every single yen I paid for it!!
First, the owner of the Tea House is a very kind person. She explained everything to me in fluent English, I learned about tea and she introduced me to Tomitsuyu, the beautiful girl who performed the ceremony.
The sight of Tomitsuyu, the maiko that I met, was breathtaking. She performed the tea ceremony with the utmost care and then she danced a piece. Again, the owner of the Tea House explained to me some details about that dance.
Then it was time for questions. This provided a great insight of this awesome world. Tomitsuyu was very nice and she smiled all the time.
being a photo-addict I took a lot of pictures and she was kind enough to let me take as many as I wanted. The owner of the tea house even took my picture with her both in and outside the tea house.
I am seriously considering doing this again. It was an incredible experience and a moment of pure beauty and wonder. Two of the most fascinating Japanese traditions (tea ceremony and Maiko dances) combined.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea time with a Meiko

Reviewed by: Alayna, 2017/07/12

This was an amazing and intimate experience. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a cultural experience. Tommikiku was very welcoming and talented. Her dance was so precise and beautiful. My group and I were all mesmerized


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Lyndel, 2017/07/09

One of our favourite experiences while visiting Japan - loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mailing experience

Reviewed by: Jack, 2017/06/30

Love it. This was a great experience ce that I , my wife and two friends will hold dear.
My wife was on cloud 9 for the rest of the afternoon as this was a big tick off her bucket list

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazinh

Reviewed by: My name, 2017/05/27

Amazinggggggggggggggggggggggggggghgggggggggggggggggg is that more than the needed 50 characters now??!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommend!

Reviewed by: Courtney, 2017/05/19

Really special experience, we have always wanted to have insight into the life of a Geisha and this is the perfect experience to do so. We were able to ask our Geisha questions after the tea ceremony and take photos with her. The host was also amazing, really insightful and accommodating. We were luck enough to be the only two within the group. 100% worth it, in fact probably the best part of our Japan trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended - highlight of our trip to Japan

Reviewed by: Japan2017, 2017/04/28

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience and feel so honoured to have been able to meet and talk to Tomitsuyu who is a wonderful and dignified maiko-san.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience in Japan

Reviewed by: Penny, 2017/04/15

If you choose to do any activity then this is the one. Had an absolutely amazing experience and could not rate it highly enough. A*****. Book today, you will love it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT TIME!

Reviewed by: Erik Payne, 2017/04/15

Our time at Tomikiku Ochaya was an incredible experience. The feeling for us was like magic. The geiko of the house, Tomitae is a very gifted person. The samples of her artistic abilities gave us a beautiful sense of the closed culture that is so highly refined in these hanamachis. We would also like to comment on the owner of this ochaya as being very polite and welcoming to its guests. She was also informative about the interesting history of her ochaya. It was also a bonus to us to meet the maiko of the ochaya, Tomitsuyu. We highly recommend this activity to anyone who is considering it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Authentic experience

Reviewed by: AMTL, 2017/04/02

We absolutely loved it.
It was a delight from start to finish and we are grateful that we were able to experience an authentic side of Japanese culture.
It was also one of the rare occasions when we had our very own activity, not being in a big group or visiting popular attractions with thousands of otourists.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Kristi , 2017/03/16

This experience was everything I thought and more! Four of us attended a tea ceremony that included delicious treats beforehand. Our Maiko was beautiful. I enjoyed every moment of her dance, how the tea was prepared, a fun game, conversation and a few photos afterwards. Our English translator was so friendly and made us feel comfortable. She took time to explain things, answer questions and take a group photo. This was one experience I was looking forward to the most coming to Gion, Kyoto. It was one of my favorite experiences from our trip and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a glimpse into Gion's rich history and tradition. Okini!!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea with Geiko

Reviewed by: Chris & Monika, 2017/03/04

We were the only two at the meeting and were warmly welcomed at Gion Tomikiku. The most gracious Geiko Tomitei served us tea and danced for us. She also played games with us and answered many of our questions about her life as a Geiko. Our interpreter too was extremely friendly and informative and explained to us many of the Maiko and Geiko traditions. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience not to be missed

Reviewed by: Michael, 2017/02/26

Went as two couples and was a great experience that we all enjoyed. We all learnt so much and we felt so privileged to see Tomitsuyu perform a dance and tea ceremony. We were also very glad that she could speak fluent English so that we could speak to her and ask all kinds of questions. Perfect Japanese experience we will never forget!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Kyoto Categories