Meet Maiko and Have Tea Time in Gion

Excellent experience

Reviewed by: Jaime, 2017/09/07

It was an awesome experience, truly Japanese culture. It was very nice to have this private session with a Geiko and not only be able to witness her performances but also share thoughts, ask questions directly to her and to the tea house's manager as well. Great experience, would recommend to anybody traveling to Japan willing to explorer an authentic Japanese cultural experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience and highly recommended

Reviewed by: Sascha, 2017/09/06

An experience which will stay forever in my memory. You can explore places like Tokyo or Kyoto all day long but the real traditional Japan, you will get to see in the Gion district of Kyoto. To meet a maiko / geisha is one thing but to be able to talk to them and have your questions answered around this part of Japan's culture is to a certain extent priceless. You will meet the Maiko and she will prepare tea for you. Afterwards she will perform a dance and you get a chance then to interact with her by asking questions around their tradition, where they are from, why they chose to become a maiko/geisha and what they are going to do in the future. If you need any local tourist information, they are also more than happy to share their local favourites. Great hospitality and an experience not to be missed.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A dream come true!

Reviewed by: Maricarmen, 2017/08/06

I had always wanted to see a real Maiko and, although a bit expensive (considering that I was traveling alone) I decided to do it. It was worth every single yen I paid for it!!
First, the owner of the Tea House is a very kind person. She explained everything to me in fluent English, I learned about tea and she introduced me to Tomitsuyu, the beautiful girl who performed the ceremony.
The sight of Tomitsuyu, the maiko that I met, was breathtaking. She performed the tea ceremony with the utmost care and then she danced a piece. Again, the owner of the Tea House explained to me some details about that dance.
Then it was time for questions. This provided a great insight of this awesome world. Tomitsuyu was very nice and she smiled all the time.
being a photo-addict I took a lot of pictures and she was kind enough to let me take as many as I wanted. The owner of the tea house even took my picture with her both in and outside the tea house.
I am seriously considering doing this again. It was an incredible experience and a moment of pure beauty and wonder. Two of the most fascinating Japanese traditions (tea ceremony and Maiko dances) combined.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea time with a Meiko

Reviewed by: Alayna, 2017/07/12

This was an amazing and intimate experience. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a cultural experience. Tommikiku was very welcoming and talented. Her dance was so precise and beautiful. My group and I were all mesmerized


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Lyndel, 2017/07/09

One of our favourite experiences while visiting Japan - loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mailing experience

Reviewed by: Jack, 2017/06/30

Love it. This was a great experience ce that I , my wife and two friends will hold dear.
My wife was on cloud 9 for the rest of the afternoon as this was a big tick off her bucket list

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazinh

Reviewed by: My name, 2017/05/27

Amazinggggggggggggggggggggggggggghgggggggggggggggggg is that more than the needed 50 characters now??!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommend!

Reviewed by: Courtney, 2017/05/19

Really special experience, we have always wanted to have insight into the life of a Geisha and this is the perfect experience to do so. We were able to ask our Geisha questions after the tea ceremony and take photos with her. The host was also amazing, really insightful and accommodating. We were luck enough to be the only two within the group. 100% worth it, in fact probably the best part of our Japan trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended - highlight of our trip to Japan

Reviewed by: Japan2017, 2017/04/28

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience and feel so honoured to have been able to meet and talk to Tomitsuyu who is a wonderful and dignified maiko-san.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience in Japan

Reviewed by: Penny, 2017/04/15

If you choose to do any activity then this is the one. Had an absolutely amazing experience and could not rate it highly enough. A*****. Book today, you will love it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT TIME!

Reviewed by: Erik Payne, 2017/04/15

Our time at Tomikiku Ochaya was an incredible experience. The feeling for us was like magic. The geiko of the house, Tomitae is a very gifted person. The samples of her artistic abilities gave us a beautiful sense of the closed culture that is so highly refined in these hanamachis. We would also like to comment on the owner of this ochaya as being very polite and welcoming to its guests. She was also informative about the interesting history of her ochaya. It was also a bonus to us to meet the maiko of the ochaya, Tomitsuyu. We highly recommend this activity to anyone who is considering it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Authentic experience

Reviewed by: AMTL, 2017/04/02

We absolutely loved it.
It was a delight from start to finish and we are grateful that we were able to experience an authentic side of Japanese culture.
It was also one of the rare occasions when we had our very own activity, not being in a big group or visiting popular attractions with thousands of otourists.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Kristi , 2017/03/16

This experience was everything I thought and more! Four of us attended a tea ceremony that included delicious treats beforehand. Our Maiko was beautiful. I enjoyed every moment of her dance, how the tea was prepared, a fun game, conversation and a few photos afterwards. Our English translator was so friendly and made us feel comfortable. She took time to explain things, answer questions and take a group photo. This was one experience I was looking forward to the most coming to Gion, Kyoto. It was one of my favorite experiences from our trip and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a glimpse into Gion's rich history and tradition. Okini!!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea with Geiko

Reviewed by: Chris & Monika, 2017/03/04

We were the only two at the meeting and were warmly welcomed at Gion Tomikiku. The most gracious Geiko Tomitei served us tea and danced for us. She also played games with us and answered many of our questions about her life as a Geiko. Our interpreter too was extremely friendly and informative and explained to us many of the Maiko and Geiko traditions. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience not to be missed

Reviewed by: Michael, 2017/02/26

Went as two couples and was a great experience that we all enjoyed. We all learnt so much and we felt so privileged to see Tomitsuyu perform a dance and tea ceremony. We were also very glad that she could speak fluent English so that we could speak to her and ask all kinds of questions. Perfect Japanese experience we will never forget!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing amazing tea ceremony

Reviewed by: Lynn, 2016/12/20

First of all, most of the group was late but Gion Tomikiku was soooo accommodating! I also asked if I could add more children to the group and they were fine. The hostess met us out on the corner to make sure we would make it! Our hostess made sure the toddler had some cake to keep her busy. And then we had a geiko entertain us and make us tea. We got to ask questions. This is something I've wanted to do since I was a little girl so a dream came true and it was an amazing experience!




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea with a maiko

Reviewed by: Helen Murphy, 2016/11/29

Excellent experience and insight into Japanese culture at first hand. Opportunity to ask questions to the maiko. Would highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Could have been better

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2016/11/21

We had booked for 3 and there was only the 3 of us at the session and we were lucky enough to meet the Geisha not the Maiko, but the english speaking host was on her mobile phone the whole time we were there, speaking very loudly and coming in and out of the room. There was also construction noise going on the whole time we were there, not their fault but distracting.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Meeting Tomikiku

Reviewed by: Anna, 2016/08/31

We thoroughly recommend meeting Tomikiku. Amazingly gracious, beautiful and entertaining. The children were made welcome and our little girl taken care of when she felt poorly. The house is in a lovely neighbourhood with very kind neighbours who helped us find our way. This was a lovely experience, very memorable and definately a must. The tea is also the best you will taste.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up close and personal

Reviewed by: Taylor , 2016/08/26

Never imagined to be sitting next to and speaking to a real geisha. Tomitei (hope I spelled that correctly) is truly beautiful and graceful. Its hard to believe the sacrifice and training these young girls go through. My kids really enjoyed this experience. Short and sweet.


  • Performing her dance


  • Playing games

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Experience of a lifetime

Reviewed by: Angela, 2016/08/22

I'd waited a long time to do this! The Maiko was charming, interesting and put us at ease immediately. Fascinating experience with memories to last a lifetime.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea ceremony

Reviewed by: Susan, 2016/07/16

Great experience. Very personal and intimate. Learned a lot. Would highly recommend to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible Experience!

Reviewed by: Ana, 2016/07/05

This was such an amazing experience as we had a private audience with our lovely maiko and hostess. We began with a small tea ceremony where our maiko prepared the matcha tea in one of the traditional ways. We were then given a sweet to enjoy with our tea and left in private. During this time we were able to talk with our hostess and owner of the Ochaya. She explained many things about the process of becoming a geisha and told us a little about her life. The maiko then returned and performed a summer dance for us, which was lovely and very elegant. Finally, we were given time in private to speak with her and ask any questions we had. We spent about 20 minutes talking to her as she explained why she decided to pursue this path and answered all our questions in perfect english. When we were finished they both gave us a very fond and kind farewell and walked us out. In true Japanese hospitality as we were leaving they even gave us an umbrella since it was drizzling outside and we had left ours in a cab earlier that day. I cannot say enough about this experience. Everything about it was top notch and above expectation. I highly recommend it to anyone that's interested in geishas, Japanese culture or just wants to try something different.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Neeuqia, 2016/05/16

It was simply amazing. The maiko-san prepared a tea ceremony with grace and poise followed by a fan dance.
The best part for me was when we got to speak to her and take photos.
She shared a lot about the maiko and geiko culture and traditions.
I still cant believe we managed to take photos with a real geisha.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Valentina and Marina, 2016/04/18

We had a great time with Maiko! Watching tea ceremony and Maiko dance was very interesting and having a conversation with Tomitsuyo-san helped us to better understand the art of Geiko and Maiko! Thank you so much!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Memorable Experience in Gion, Kyoto

Reviewed by: Luchi Villarica, 2016/04/06

Among all our cultural activities in Japan, the tea time with Maiko is the most memorable. Although they only serve the guest one type of tea and traditional Japanese sweets per guest, the experience was still memorable. Guests first witness how tea is produced from scratch by the Maiko and this is followed by any traditional dance number. The Maiko's elegance and grace is perfectly showcased. Her business mother is also very adept at explaining basic facts about the Maiko and the Geisha's way of life. The last part of the tea time is an interview with the Maiko wherein guests can ask questions.





Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thank You Veltra

Reviewed by: David , 2016/04/04

We want to thank Veltra for their efforts to find a Maiko available to meet with us for the making of tea, dance, chat and photo opportunity. This was done at short notice and in peak season when other agencies were not able to help. The event itself was very memorable. It would have helped if the person who oversaw activities at the tea house explained what was going to happen and when we would know it would conclude.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea Ceremony with Maiko in Gion

Reviewed by: Rob Lowe, 2016/02/15

It has been one of my life ambitions to have a Tea Ceremony with a Geiko/Maiko in Kyoto and it exceeded my expectations in every way.

The booking system with Veltra was simple and easy although it took a few days to get confirmation of the booking from the venue itself.

The directions to the Tea House were perfect (especially required with the nature of the Gion area of Kyoto with so many small back streets) and the greeting by the Okasan of the Gion Tomikiku Ochaya (Tea House) was pleasant and informative and she gave us lots of information all through the time of the visit, in good English.

The Tea Ceremony and Dance by the Maiko (Tomitsuyu) was beautiful and exquisite and we had the chance to speak to her for some time after the formalities were over. Tomitsuyu spoke perfect English and was very patient and honest with all the 'obvious' questions we asked of her, which I am sure she has been asked many times before.

There were plenty of opportunities for pictures and videos during the entire visit, which were in fact encouraged by the Okasan and the whole experience was designed to ensure the customer was happy with the event.

The dedication that Tomitsuyu has and the training required to perform so perfectly is a credit to such a young girl and we were in slight awe of the commitment is takes to take such a path in life.

The whole experience will live with me for the rest of my life and was definitely worth the wait and I would recommend anyone who is interested in this to make it a priority during your visit to Kyoto. You will not regret it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Authentic and memorable experience

Reviewed by: Ozfamily, 2016/02/07

Our family of three had a wonderful experience with the Maiko - green tea and sweets were served in a traditional tea ceremony, our Maiko performed a beautiful dance, talked with us at our table about her life as a Maiko in Kyoto, and then allowed us to have photographs taken with her both inside and outside the venue. Our 13 y.o. son was fascinated and very impressed with the experience, as were we. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely event~

Reviewed by: HHHH, 2015/12/07

We have small children and wanted to introduce them to both tea time and Maiko traditions. This was perfect. They could try things, or not, participate or not. they were engaged. Everyone loved this. It was worth the splurge.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Kyoto Categories