This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Meet Maiko (Trainee Geisha) and Tea Ceremony in Traditional Gion

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: AL R, 2019/06/06

We weren’t sure what to expect as I did this online before our trip. However, all the reviews are accurate - this was a great experience. The tea house is outside the main Geiko areas in Gion but it’s very easy to find. We ended up having a private event with our family of five and it could not have been better. Our Maiko was very sweet, spoke very good English, and performed a beautiful a dance and tea ceremony. Very happy we booked this event instead of others we saw elsewhere that had larger groups, unnecessary inclusions, or were much more expensive. Note this performance and tea ceremony were with an apprentice Geiko (Maiko) but it was perfect for our family to observe and learn more about such a fascinating and elegant element of Japanese culture.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely activity!

Reviewed by: Anon , 2019/04/30

Had a lot of time for questions
The maiko was very sweet and lovely
Dance was nice
Enjoyed ourselves

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Japanese experience!

Reviewed by: Caterina , 2019/04/23

It was a deep dive into Japanese culture. A Gheisha (but they call theirself “Geiko”) danced for us and then made matcha tea for us (it was very good, and they also served us some Japanese sweets). After the tea, the geiko has talked with us about many things (where we came from, what we’ve visited in japan and so on). The whole cerimony lasts 40/50 minute.
I suggest to arrive a few minutes before, because the tea House is non so simple to find. I absolutely recommend this experience because it takes you into the real Japanese world, and you have the opportunity to talk to a real gheisha and know her lifestyle, her education, etc.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Laura, 2019/04/22

This was a really great experience and one we all will remember! I recommend to anyone visiting Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Meeting with Geiko

Reviewed by: Hudson Family, 2019/04/12

We had quite low expectations after reading in guide books that tourist tea ceremonies usually aren’t held with real Geiko, however this experience was fantastic. The tea room is rather unassuming but our party of 3 adults had the pleasure of a Spring Dance, tea ceremony and 30 minutes chatting to the Geiko (who spoke excellent English). We would highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A MUST DO.

Reviewed by: Silpa, 2019/04/09

We got a real taste of the geisha culture. We got to meet a geisha and a maiko.
We got to talk to them about their culture and lifestyle and also got pictures.
The dance performance was lovely, and the tea ceremony was fascinating. The house mother was very accommodating. Although she always seemed in a rush, a hurry.. she was very sweet and even translated conversations between us and the geisha and gave us a brief insight into their lives.
Overall, it was a memorable experience, we thoroughly enjoyed it even though it seemed a bit rushed.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience!

Reviewed by: Huang, 2019/03/29

Our family really enjoyed the entire experience and was fortunate to be able to talk to Tomichie directly and exchange experiences about each other's lives. I highly recommend this - they are also very accommodating to my children (age 1 and 4).

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience exceeded expectations

Reviewed by: Meghan, 2019/03/05

It was wonderful to have this authentic experience. Great environment both the teahouse mother and the geiko-san were gracious and accommodating. They're truly dedicated to the geisha art and educating people about.

We learned so much and enjoyed our time at the Tomikiku tea house.

I would highly recommend. This is one of the highlights of our trip!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enchanting afternoon.Highly recommended.

Reviewed by: Alessandra, 2019/01/04

We were not quite sure what to expect from this. It is really hard to meet Maiko in private but thanks to Veltra we were able to meet a real Maiko (actually a Geiko), talk with her and have our photos taken with her.
We had all the time the we wanted to be with her, we never felt like we were rushed. The Maiko spoke English and she was an absolute delight to be seen. We will never forget this time. Thank you so much Veltra!.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable experience

Reviewed by: Sue Shepherd , 2018/11/17

This was a truly special experience with a charming maiko who spoke good English (as did the owner). We were expecting to be in a group but found there was just the two of us. What a treat. She danced for us, made matcha tea and then chatted to us. She was very generous in letting us ask anything and take as many photos as we wanted. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2018/11/04

Once in a lifetime experience, I highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: A Hall, 2018/09/25

Such a wonderful experience with such an amazing Maiko and host. They both spoke great English, explained what was happening and were extremely accommodating. Was one of the best experiences I have ever had and would definitely recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Gavlick, 2018/09/12

I loved everything about this experience. the lady who owned the house was s knowledgable and the Maiko we met was lovely. it was a private event so we felt very specials

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A rare and magic experience

Reviewed by: Jade, 2018/09/07

I have worked as a tour guide in Japan in the past and have done many tea ceremony's but none compare to this experience!
The artistry of a geisha is one of the oldest and mysterious jobs in the world. This experience breaks down that mystery to make it even more respected and beautiful.
I was so happy to be holidaying and sharing this experience with my friends this time and will definitely be back in the future again.

Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea ceremony with a Maiko

Reviewed by: AKCH, 2018/07/27

It was a very nice experience with a young Maiko. If you are interested and you know already the life and their habits, it is a no-brainer (go for it). If you don’t know anything you may be a bit tense during the discussion with the Maiko. In the past, this was impossible (still 10 years ago). Today some Okia (place where the Maiko and Geiko are living) has open to foreigners as they will likely not continue in 30 years. This culture will end slowly unfortunately.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very special experience

Reviewed by: RTO Group, 2018/06/04

If you want to meet and see a Maiko up close, this is the experience for you. My family and I were seated in an intimate setting and served tea and sweets while we witnessed a traditional tea ceremony as well as dancing and game playing with the Maiko. After the traditions were presented to us we were permitted to ask questions and take photos. It was a wonderful experience and definitely a highlight of our trip to Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by: hqd, 2018/04/15

It has been my wish for a while now to meet a maiko/geiko in person, and I finally got a chance to meet Tomichie-san. My family of eight really enjoyed watching Tomichie-san performed the traditional tea ceremony, and we really appreciate our host explaining the different aspects of the ceremony to us. After the ceremony, Tomichie-san performed a dance, then Q&A, and we had some time to play a little game with her. Tomichie-san graciously showed us her beautiful kimono and hairstyle, and was so patience with all of the photos that we were taking. If/when we come back to Kyoto again, we will definitely do this again.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!

Reviewed by: Canadian Family, 2018/04/09

This was something the entire family enjoyed: kids: 1 yr., 3 yrs, 5 yrs, 7 yrs! I would strongly suggest you make this a priority when planning your trip. Make sure you leave yourself extra time to find it or use an image from google maps to ask a taxi driver to take you there.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Warm-hearted Japanese people

Reviewed by: Joe, 2018/03/25

The address is not easy to find out but the warm-hearted Japanese old man guided us to the shop. Tidy and clean. Unforgettable experience to meet Maiko and tea ceremony for the our all family.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very grateful for this experience

Reviewed by: Eric, 2018/03/11

Thank you to the team for facilitating this wonderful experience for my clients. My clients read their documentation incorrectly and missed the reservation. However, the team in Kyoto managed to squeeze them in and give a FANTASTIC performance. Thank you so much.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful first experience

Reviewed by: Dominique, 2018/03/03

Our Maiko prepared tea and performed a spring dance. Later she came to sit with us and was willing to answer all of our questions and we were welcome to take whatever picture or video.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful moment!

Reviewed by: Deborah, 2018/02/22

We've decided to experience the tea time in Gion and we were fully satisfied.
First "our" Meiko, a Geiko apprentice (sorry I forgot her beautiful name), make us a dance performance. It was really hypnotizing. Then she make the tea ceremony and it was also great.
We could take pictures and ask her questions. We had the chance to have someone who speaks english, so it was nice. We had plenty of explanations too.
We strongly recommend this experience. Surly our best time in Kyoto!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience

Reviewed by: SRao, 2018/01/02

We had a good time with Maiko Tamochiye. She was very sweet and could speak english too. It was fun getting to know her. She was fairly new to being a Maiko, which added novelty to the whole experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Hospitality not to be missed.

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2017/12/31

This experience was Kyoto culture and hospitality at its finest. Everyone we met went above and beyond from the moment we arrived. As at all tea houses, guests are required to remove their shoes, but I had a broken foot and was not allowed to walk without my walking boot. The tea house mother kindly accommodated by finding a bag to tie over the boot. We enjoyed watching Maiko perform the traditional tea ceremony while an interpreter explained the process. We learned the proper way to enjoy the tea as well. After a wonderful dance we were given time for a question and answer session with Maiko followed by a photo opp. Maiko even came outside for photos need the tea house door. She was absolutely a pleasure to spend the afternoon with as was the interpreter. Highly recommended. Tip: the directions given on Veltra are quite accurate, but the door is unmarked (or at least unmarked by English). Just find the door by location and go through the curtain.


  • Maiko performs the tea ceremony.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding experience!

Reviewed by: Rachel Tuhro, 2017/12/19

Meeting the Maiko and speaking with the house mother was by far the most memorable part of our trip!

We enjoyed a Japanese Tea Ceremony had some small snacks and were entertained by a traditional recorded dance. Our Maiko was so lovely, she talked with us and spoke English very well. We were able to ask her a ton of personal questions and she was more than willing to answer all of them. The house mother was so friendly and accommodating and even gave us small gifts as souvenirs after our visit.

This is a MUST!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Haeseong Kim, 2017/11/24

Everything was perfect except for the tea ceremony. It would have been nice if someone explained the exact procedure of the tea ceremony. It was nice we had a chance to ask many questions, however, question and answer session took more than half of the time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion tea with maiko

Reviewed by: BOB H, 2017/11/18

The tea house went out their way to be friendly and provide a glimpse into the unknown world of a maiko in training. Most interesting and enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magical experience!

Reviewed by: Greg, 2017/11/17

This was our first time having tea with Maiko-san, and we didn't know what to expect. We were blow away by this experience! We thoroughly enjoyed having tea with our hostess, and the location was everything we'd hoped to find in a traditional Japanese tea house. Tomitsuyu-san was incredibly friendly and polite, and spoke flawless English too! We had a wonderful time and learned so much about the geisha as well as traditional culture in Kyoto. I absolutely recommend this activity to anyone who wants a traditional Japanese experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must Do!

Reviewed by: Kristin , 2017/10/24

My Husband and I had a great time, the host/translator was so kind and her English was perfect. The Maiko we got to met was very sweet and kind. We learned a lot and loved her dance. The only down side was it was hard to find and once we did find it there is not English on the outside. Perhaps you could make a detailed map to send visitors?
If you are in Kyoto I would say this is a must do! Love it

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

perfect for everyone

Reviewed by: giulya, 2017/10/18

was a great experience and we had a great time,was so beautiful and so speachless.


  • was very beautiful

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |