Evening Maiko Performance and Traditional Kyoto Cuisine Dinner reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto (With pictures only) | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Evening Maiko Performance and Traditional Kyoto Cuisine Dinner

Overall Rating

3.89 3.89 / 5

Reviews

19 reviews
Post a review

Great Show

Reviewed by: Shannon C, 2016/11/05

Great show! We enjoyed seeing the different art forms; each performance was fantastic. The Kyoto lights at night were definite beautiful. While the Kyoto dining experience was fun and interesting the food was a little lacking in taste, but is was an overall terrific experience.

  • Wonderful experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable Evening

Reviewed by: Squirrel Girl, 2016/05/29

I was visiting Kyoto with my mother who had come to see me in while I am living in Japan. I speak Japanese but she does not, and we were the only non-Japanese people on our tour. The tour is also largely conducted in Japanese, with the only foreign language assistance being an automated voice guide on the bus which provides some information, and the pamphlet and some narration at the show. That said, knowing some Japanese is helpful but not necessary.

The food and atmosphere of the restaurant we had dinner at was good, although the portions were not very large and thus not really filling. Overall it was a good assortment of traditional food at a fair price.

The show at Gion corner was good as well. It does not have a lot of any one thing, but rather a bit of various types of Japanese traditional performing arts. It is a great way to sample those things, especially for those who may be new to Japanese culture.

The night view was a nice addition, too. Although Kyoto is not particularly known for its skyline, it was still enjoyable to be able to look out from the mountain and say "This is Kyoto."

This tour was relatively inexpensive compared to others involving dinner and maiko, and I think it was a great deal for that price.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not bad

Reviewed by: Wilson, 2016/04/13

tour guide only speaks japanese. it was very hard to find the bus. it was situated in the very back corner of the bus terminal and we got lost trying to find it. other than that, the tour was not bad

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko, Kyoto-style dinner and Night View Tour

Reviewed by: HAT, 2014/12/02

I took 4 friends from Taiwan on this tour. We actually had been on a different tour in the afternoon, and connected to this one. The guide and bus ended up being the same, which was kind of funny. My guests really enjoyed the show at Gion Corner, and I liked seeing all the various performances too. My friends were most excited about taking pictures with the maiko, even though they were shy about it. They also enjoyed the Kyo-ryori dinner and night view.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

  • Gion Corner

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience in Dinner Maiko Show and Night Scene in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Cheung Jolly, 2013/05/21

Every great Japanese tour guide and driver!
Great dinner
Great Maiko and traditional Japanese Introduction Show
Great nightview from Highshiyama
Great service
Very professional!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]