Kyoto by Night with Maiko Performance, Tea Ceremony and Zen Cuisine reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kyoto by Night with Maiko Performance, Tea Ceremony and Zen Cuisine

Overall Rating

4.43 4.43 / 5

Reviews

14 reviews
Post a review

Interesting

Reviewed by: Anait. Great Britain, 2019/05/10

Well organised event. Variety of activities which brought us closer to understanding Japanese culture- tea ceremonies, concert which included geisha dancing, playing different musical instruments, theatre and even ikebana arranging.
Zen-buddist dinner was good. Pick up and drop off was organised very well. We felt comfortable and looked after. Recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of information, very enjoyable experience

Reviewed by: Ben, 2019/04/14

Very well organised tour, met in hotel by very friendly staff and taken to the Maiko performance. Was a good performance with a good overview of different cultural activities (Tea Ceremony, Plays etc.) but was definitely designed for tourists. Bit of a shame that everyone was taking photos and videos which distracted from the show which is probably our only criticism of the tour.

Then followed by a very good walking tour through Gion learning lots of information about the district, before having a delicious dinner. Highly recommend taking this tour if in Kyoto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: DReim, 2018/06/04

Food was great, show fun and tour guide excellent! I recommend this package!......................................................................................................................

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko

Reviewed by: Kml , 2018/05/28

Very disappointed with gion corner maiko performance 1 mailing 2 dances. Tea house ceremony well explained and vegan meal ok

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Leora

Reviewed by: Leora , 2018/05/21

Tour guide was fantastic
Dinner was very enjoyable
Maiko perfornance and tea ceremony beautiful experiences
Overall a great job
Would have liked to see more maiko performance and less of the comedy performance. I didnt enjoy the comedy act in the show at gion corner
Thanks
Leora

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Una experiencia hermosa!

Reviewed by: Gisela, 2018/03/22

Hay que ser puntual porque arranca en un teatro, el conjunto de obras muestran costumbres típicas: arreglos florales, ceremonia del té, música y cierra con danzas típicas hechas por maikos: aspirantes a geishas.
Es muy interesante!
La cena deliciosa y la verdad que muy abundante también, muy amables todos.
La ceremonia del té privada es reducido en pasos pero muy interesante también, es una costumbre que está en vías de extensión lamentablemente.
Todos son muy coordiales y muy serviciales la verdad que la pasamos muy bien

  • Obra

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic night

Reviewed by: Alan, 2017/07/03

We were brought around Gion by a very pleasant and friendly guide, starting with a performance of traditional Japanese theatre crafts. This was very engaging and a good way to get the true scope of Japanese theatre. Afterwards we had a very enchanting walking tour through Gion, ending with a delicious meal and tea ceremony in one of Gion's restaurants. The teahouse was very historical and even had a small museum, which the staff guided us around. Our guide offered to arrange transport back to our accomodation, but we wished to walk around Gion for another while so she allowed us to do so. Our group had only around several people, which meant we had a very intimate experience. We would highly reccomend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A cultural experience

Reviewed by: AZQ, 2017/05/20

A very enjoyable tour of Gion and watching the Geisha dance. We enjoyed the dinner which was vegetarian a nice break after eating a lot of sushi and fish. The tea ceremony was the highlight conducted in a secluded room at the back of the house. We did this tour with a 3 year old and he enjoyed it and the staff very accommodating.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Allison, 2017/04/11

Enjoyable show, dinner and tea ceremony. Unfortunately, as it was raining , the walk in the gion district a rather short .

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto tea ceremony

Reviewed by: Claire, 2016/06/04

Great evening , very authentic and a lovely experience .

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tatjana , 2013/11/30

It was an interesting tour. The guide was lovely. Evening show was interesting, the dinner was delicious and the ceremony lovely.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Luke, 2010/09/17

I had a great experience and would recommend this to anyone that is going to Kyoto.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Pattie, 2009/09/07

Best thing we did while visiting Japan! LOVED it - from the tea, to the tempura dinner to the plays at the Gion Center.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Eva, 2009/08/30

Every one involved in the evening was very friendly and pleasant. We really enjoyed the evening.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]