Kyoto Maiko Dance Show with Kaiseki Dinner and Shozan Garden Tour reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kyoto Maiko Dance Show with Kaiseki Dinner and Shozan Garden Tour

Overall Rating

4.24 4.24 / 5

Reviews

76 reviews
Post a review

Maiko dance diner

Reviewed by: Charlotte , 2020/03/09

Unforgettable memories with the Maiko. She was smily and very sweat.
I recommand the Jared moment with her!
The diner is good
Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience and a GREAT price!

Reviewed by: Sincerely_Serres, 2020/01/19

This was a wonderful experience that allowed my partner and I to see and do three of the things we had on our Kyoto bucket list: Enjoy a tradition Japanese meal, watch a beautiful Maiko perform, and so see the stellar night views of Kyoto! Make sure you bring your camera, as you will want to capture all the beauty of the night! I brought my polaroid and it was a big hit among other guest and the Maiko-san herself! Highly recommend taking this tour!

  • Sitting with the Maiko-san!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Tour

Reviewed by: Riaan and Jewel, 2020/01/01

This was a truly magical experience and we would highly recommend thia for anybody visiting Kyoto. The resort was beautiful, the drive was smooth and informative and the Maiko show was out of this world. This is a must to experience the wonderful art of the Maiko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A dream come true!

Reviewed by: Simon, 2019/11/05

Seeing a maiko dance live was always one of my lifehood dreams. This dream came true that night with a magnificent performance! Accompanied by a traditional Japanese dinner of high quality, it was a pleasure having been able to attend this evening. The garden walk and the mountain view were stunning as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too expensive for such a performance

Reviewed by: Azadeh Iranian, 2019/11/04

The geisha was so amateur, she was shaking while dancing. Nobody explained the way we should eat the traditional food.
On the way back, the tour leader was just speaking Japanese and didn’t care about foreigners attendants. She was speaking Japanese all the way back, and sometimes they were laughing or clapping and we as foreigners just waiting for some explanations but nothing.
In my idea it was a dishonor to non-Japanese guest. The tour provider company should provide the same Facilities for all guests. In General it was an expensive activity with poor facilities!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasent affordable geisha experience

Reviewed by: Leslie Arcin , 2019/08/11

Very convient pick up/drop off spot! Affordable Maiko experience, we chose this experience over parlor games/tea time because we wouldn’t know what to ask a geisha or if language barrier would be a problem. My sister and I enjoyed the performance very much. When we did it it was a small group and the tour leader was the best. One thing to take note is the experience is probably enhanced if you do speak Japanese or have someone that does so you can compliment the performance or ask the Maiko questions, but we knew this going in. Also the bus tour around town showing shrines and temples isn’t necessarily scenic, but rather a quick pass by of all the places (very easy to miss some spots if you don’t turn around quick enough) , but the view at the top of Osaka is worthwhile

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

maiko dinner and show

Reviewed by: willam, 2019/05/23

food and show was good ,but we could have done with a intererpreter in english on bus and dinner

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent show

Reviewed by: Sanja, 2019/05/23

I loved everything about this experience. I think it was well planned and it offered a lot of cool experience.
It offered more than I expected.
Maiko was professional, dinner was tasty and the views were amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Maiko dance show was too short - only 15 minutes.

Reviewed by: Peter, 2019/03/25

After an half hour bus ride to the venue, dinner was served following by a show with single maiko. It's a decent performance lasting 15 minutes. The photo taking session with maiko by individual guests took the longest time for the night's activities.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value to experience Japan Culture

Reviewed by: Shirley L, 2019/02/16

Maiko was very beautiful and graceful . Her performance was great. I enjoyed it very much. The tour was a little rush. After we finished dinner we only had 15 mins left to shop and walk around the garden. The staff in the restaurant was polite and nice. I only wish they could introduce in both Japanese and English (They only speak Japanese so we had no idea what was going on)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maillot dîner show

Reviewed by: Non, 2018/11/05

C était tres rapide. Et une photo pas plus, je n ai même pas pu prendre de photo avec mon fils.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wish there was more of a Geisha show.

Reviewed by: Monique, 2018/05/15

The food was based off of local Kyoto tradition and was a wide selection of food. There was a Geisha dance but it was only one Geisha and was a short performance which was disappointing. The place was nice and garden was pretty though.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The food was awesome!

Reviewed by: Dax, 2018/05/05

Really enjoyed the show, the Maiko was so pretty.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible Experience!

Reviewed by: Amanda , 2018/04/19

This tour is an incredible experience! From the beginning you are taken on a bus tour of Kyoto with audio and video in your language about the shrines, temples, and history of Kyoto. You are taken to the beautiful Shozan resort in the mountains where you are are introduced to a traditional Kyoto style feast and watch a beautiful maiko dance in front of your eyes in perfect poise. The package also includes photo with the maiko and a stroll within the shozan garden. This beautiful garden is definitely worth checking out with incredible nature and photo opportunities. You are then taken up the mountain for a breathtaking view of the city of Kyoto at night. Very relaxing and a great way to experience an authentic maiko performance.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

NO Services

Reviewed by: Billy Q-Groupleader , 2017/11/11

It was 34 people in our group. The waiter and waitress were so busy catering to two groups of Japanese customers (about 20 people), they did not offer for us to order any drink. Our group was trying to get their attention to order some beverages but they did not walk over to us. The show itself is ok but I would not recommend this event.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great stuff!

Reviewed by: Ism Shovan, 2017/07/28

This experience is truly unforgettable :)
Amazing food, amazing performance, amazon country. A Must Do if you're in Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko Dance

Reviewed by: Stuart, 2017/06/16

I thought this was a great experience...I was really only here for the maiko dance, even though I enjoyed the meal & gardens.
I really enjoyed talking to the maiko after the dance and feel that it's something I'll really remember from my trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok but not really tourist oriented

Reviewed by: All, 2017/06/04

You will see a maiko and get dinner for a significantly lower price then most tours that do this.... but honestly I would go to geisha corner and just watch the show there and not join this tour if you were to ask me again. This is as the tour is in Japanese- I was prepared for this and did not mind it but still.... on the bus you are given a English hearing guide so you can understand and they point out different buildings as you drive but it is pretty dark throughout the tour so you can't really see so much. The food was not tourist friendly, it was authentic Kyoto cuisine and it looked nice but there were very weird looking dishes with no English explanation.... so I did not eat 2/3 of it because I did not want to get sick with ingredients my body cannot handle (we are talking very strange unidentifiable ingredients). The maiko comes and does 2 dances, then you can take a picture with her and then she answers questions in Japanese. So the whole interaction with her is about 15 minutes long tops. Finally the gardens in the location were nice but overall not worth the 60 pounds just go to geisha corner and treat yourself to fancy nice dinner (that you can eat).

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poor show and experience

Reviewed by: Ariel, 2017/06/01

The show was too short, we expected it to be longer. The dinner was ok. Food similar to those offered in a Ryokan. We expected to have a more enjoyable eve. The sightseeing part was just ok.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maikoo dinner and show

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2017/05/24

We had a very pleasant experience for that night, the dance show was good and the hotel they took us for dinner was in a very nice setting with a nice Japanese Garden. However, it was very dark to take pictures. The night view on the peak in Kyoto summarize our trip nicely.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth it

Reviewed by: Anthony, 2017/05/22

Very detailed and specific directions helped easily locate and sort out the tickets which was great for us english speakers. The whole experience was worth it. The maiko was unforgettable to meet, the staff very helpful and the night view was spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It needed a better venue

Reviewed by: Kit, 2017/05/20

The venue didn't allow people to see both dances by the Maiko. The food and staff were excellent but the room was an odd shape that blocked people eating from seeing part of the dance

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A tiny taste of Japanese culture

Reviewed by: Soraia, 2017/05/15

Very well organized trip! Interesting dinner (traditional) and we enjoyed the maiko show.
BEAUTIFUL gardens!!

  • City view from the top!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE

Reviewed by: Nori, 2017/05/07

I loved this. The Dinner was delicious and the show was mesmerizing, the Maiko was so cute! I definitely recommend this, great value for your money :)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth to see

Reviewed by: Alan Hon, 2017/05/01

The performance is good, dinner too. Garden is pretty to see. Night view is beautiful. Value for money.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Scott , 2017/04/22

We weren't sure what to expect with this dinner as it's a very reasonable cost we had low expectations, however were very pleasantly suprised. The hosts at Shozan were very friendly and accomodating and the food was lovely and traditional.
The arrival of our Maiko was announced and she danced so beautifully allowing the the rare opportunity for a photo with her even a few questions, followed by a walk in the gardens.
The bus tour allowed us an insight into places for us to visit in the following days.
Thanks for a great evening!

  • Maiko

  • Shozan garden

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Value for money

Reviewed by: Clive, 2017/04/17

Out of my expectation for that value of money. for the price you are unable to find the service in Gion and i was surprised by all the events organised by them.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My birthday experience

Reviewed by: Sharmila, 2017/04/15

The Maiko dinner and show was Exquisite.
If travelling to Kyoto it must not be missed as the meal was a reflection of perfect Kyoto cuisine and to meet and see a Maiko performance is a lifetime experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Val, 2017/04/10

We were very pleased with the wonderful dinner set out ready for our arrival. I am vegetarian but could not organise prior notice, so the hostess explained the food types and which were suitable for me. Three of our party are elderly and stools were quickly provided for them. The Maiko was exquisite and performed two dances with opportunity for photos at the end. The walk through the gardens was like a magical forest.
We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and highly recommend as an insight into Japanese culture

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So so

Reviewed by: Annie, 2017/03/29

Not so impressed. If you just want to meet a maiko, it is okay. Nothing special. Food is average too. Select a better package!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]