Maiko Dinner Show at Shozan Garden and Night Sightseeing in Kyoto

Great stuff!

Reviewed by: Ism Shovan, 2017/07/28

This experience is truly unforgettable :)
Amazing food, amazing performance, amazon country. A Must Do if you're in Kyoto.







Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko Dance

Reviewed by: Stuart, 2017/06/16

I thought this was a great experience...I was really only here for the maiko dance, even though I enjoyed the meal & gardens.
I really enjoyed talking to the maiko after the dance and feel that it's something I'll really remember from my trip!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok but not really tourist oriented

Reviewed by: All, 2017/06/04

You will see a maiko and get dinner for a significantly lower price then most tours that do this.... but honestly I would go to geisha corner and just watch the show there and not join this tour if you were to ask me again. This is as the tour is in Japanese- I was prepared for this and did not mind it but still.... on the bus you are given a English hearing guide so you can understand and they point out different buildings as you drive but it is pretty dark throughout the tour so you can't really see so much. The food was not tourist friendly, it was authentic Kyoto cuisine and it looked nice but there were very weird looking dishes with no English explanation.... so I did not eat 2/3 of it because I did not want to get sick with ingredients my body cannot handle (we are talking very strange unidentifiable ingredients). The maiko comes and does 2 dances, then you can take a picture with her and then she answers questions in Japanese. So the whole interaction with her is about 15 minutes long tops. Finally the gardens in the location were nice but overall not worth the 60 pounds just go to geisha corner and treat yourself to fancy nice dinner (that you can eat).

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poor show and experience

Reviewed by: Ariel, 2017/06/01

The show was too short, we expected it to be longer. The dinner was ok. Food similar to those offered in a Ryokan. We expected to have a more enjoyable eve. The sightseeing part was just ok.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maikoo dinner and show

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2017/05/24

We had a very pleasant experience for that night, the dance show was good and the hotel they took us for dinner was in a very nice setting with a nice Japanese Garden. However, it was very dark to take pictures. The night view on the peak in Kyoto summarize our trip nicely.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth it

Reviewed by: Anthony, 2017/05/22

Very detailed and specific directions helped easily locate and sort out the tickets which was great for us english speakers. The whole experience was worth it. The maiko was unforgettable to meet, the staff very helpful and the night view was spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It needed a better venue

Reviewed by: Kit, 2017/05/20

The venue didn't allow people to see both dances by the Maiko. The food and staff were excellent but the room was an odd shape that blocked people eating from seeing part of the dance

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A tiny taste of Japanese culture

Reviewed by: Soraia, 2017/05/15

Very well organized trip! Interesting dinner (traditional) and we enjoyed the maiko show.
BEAUTIFUL gardens!!




  • City view from the top!



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE

Reviewed by: Nori, 2017/05/07

I loved this. The Dinner was delicious and the show was mesmerizing, the Maiko was so cute! I definitely recommend this, great value for your money :)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth to see

Reviewed by: Alan Hon, 2017/05/01

The performance is good, dinner too. Garden is pretty to see. Night view is beautiful. Value for money.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Scott , 2017/04/22

We weren't sure what to expect with this dinner as it's a very reasonable cost we had low expectations, however were very pleasantly suprised. The hosts at Shozan were very friendly and accomodating and the food was lovely and traditional.
The arrival of our Maiko was announced and she danced so beautifully allowing the the rare opportunity for a photo with her even a few questions, followed by a walk in the gardens.
The bus tour allowed us an insight into places for us to visit in the following days.
Thanks for a great evening!


  • Maiko


  • Shozan garden

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Value for money

Reviewed by: Clive, 2017/04/17

Out of my expectation for that value of money. for the price you are unable to find the service in Gion and i was surprised by all the events organised by them.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My birthday experience

Reviewed by: Sharmila, 2017/04/15

The Maiko dinner and show was Exquisite.
If travelling to Kyoto it must not be missed as the meal was a reflection of perfect Kyoto cuisine and to meet and see a Maiko performance is a lifetime experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Val, 2017/04/10

We were very pleased with the wonderful dinner set out ready for our arrival. I am vegetarian but could not organise prior notice, so the hostess explained the food types and which were suitable for me. Three of our party are elderly and stools were quickly provided for them. The Maiko was exquisite and performed two dances with opportunity for photos at the end. The walk through the gardens was like a magical forest.
We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and highly recommend as an insight into Japanese culture

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So so

Reviewed by: Annie, 2017/03/29

Not so impressed. If you just want to meet a maiko, it is okay. Nothing special. Food is average too. Select a better package!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Food was cold

Reviewed by: Penny, 2017/02/19

We enjoyed the show and the experience. But being winter, we didnt quite enjoy the meal preared because it was 80% cold.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Grover, 2016/11/12

We enjoyed every moment of this tour. It was well organized. The Kaiseki dinner was delicious. It gave us a taste of various kinds of Japanese traditional food. The Maiko dance was beautiful and captivating. After the dance, we had a short stroll at the very beautiful Japanese garden which was very enjoyable! The last brief stop of the tour was going to the top of a mountain to see the night view of Kyoto which ended the evening perfectly. We just found we hadn't had enough of all of it!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed Maiko Performance!

Reviewed by: Ken and Karen, 2016/10/23

It was such a treat to see actual Maiko performance along with a nice kaiseki dinner. The evening tour of Kyoto was an added bonus. The Shozan Garden was beautiful!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful place

Reviewed by: Erik Payne, 2016/10/17

The Shouzen Garden is so beautiful, especially at night. The maiko dance and kaiseki dinner were extraordinary. One word to sum it up- -unforgettable! Do go!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Geisha Dinner

Reviewed by: OPadus, 2016/07/25

Easy to find met up location. Ride on bus nice. Dinner was cold! No real announcement of when the Maiko came in. Great pic of the Maiko dancing and a very nice pic of the Maiko. Nice view of the city. Over all not a bad tour.


  • Maiko and Me

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful night

Reviewed by: Maria Carmen, 2016/07/05

Everything was very well organised and hostess in the bus very kind..
The Maiko dance was very nice .. We took nice pictures..
The Garden was small but nice..
This is first time I bought my activities with Veltra and I'm very confident with them.. It is a very serious company.. I will go on buying their excursions whenever I'll travel.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience!

Reviewed by: Lyanne Chua, 2016/06/03

It was a good experience to meet a maiko but it would have been better if there's an option for an English tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko dinner

Reviewed by: gaelletipaka, 2016/04/18

It was a really interesting experience and evening. The Maiko performed a wonderful danse and the garden was really pretty. thank you


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First hand experience with Maiko

Reviewed by: Gigi, 2015/09/11

Shozan Garden is on beautiful grounds. Kaiseki was interesting. Maiko danced during our dinner. Good first hand experience with Maiko.


  • Maiko dancing


  • Kaiseki

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely a Night to Remember

Reviewed by: TNH!, 2015/07/04

Walking into the Shozan Garden your receive an immediate feeling of both awe and Zen at its mere beauty. We were then greeted by several staff members who seated and served us during our meal. The meal was a traditional Japanese meal that gave you an intro into Japanese cuisine; if you are not already familiar. Towards the middle of our meal, the beautiful maiko was introduced and began her performance which was the definition of grace, beauty and eludes to the work and craft of the full Geisha. Later that evening walking thorough the Shozan Garden you feel at peace, as though this is the place in which you could live out your existence. This experience should be a #1 on your list of things to do in Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Maiko's dance was wonderful

Reviewed by: take, 2015/05/12

I went with my whole family. This was our first time seeing Maiko. Watching them dance and then taking pictures with the Maiko made for a fantastic Kyoto memory.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Glad I went

Reviewed by: Asahiya, 2014/12/02

The tour fits the title, as you get to see the Shouzan Garden and watch maiko dance. It is worth the price. The guide kept things going at a good pace, with no wasted time. Additionally, the instructions sent in advance by Veltra were very helpful. I will book from them again.

<Translated by Veltra.com>


  • Garden at night

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up Close Maiko Experience

Reviewed by: Sami, 2014/05/24

I signed up for this package thinking this tour was in English. It was in Japanese. Food was OK. Average food that you would expect from tours. Nothing amazing, but if you never had Kyoto dish this is a good experience for you. Dinner was near Kinkakuji (Golden Pavilion), not in Gion. Another detail that I had missed. Though it was impressive to see some trees as old as 500 years old in the Jaoanese garden where we had dinner, the garden itself was not so enjoyable. Night view of the Kyoto is lame and not sure if it was worth driving all the way across town for that. Recommended for Maiko experience only.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Categories