Maiko Dinner Show at Shozan Garden and Night Sightseeing in Kyoto

Maiko Dance

Reviewed by: Stuart, 2017/06/16

I thought this was a great experience...I was really only here for the maiko dance, even though I enjoyed the meal & gardens.
I really enjoyed talking to the maiko after the dance and feel that it's something I'll really remember from my trip!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok but not really tourist oriented

Reviewed by: All, 2017/06/04

You will see a maiko and get dinner for a significantly lower price then most tours that do this.... but honestly I would go to geisha corner and just watch the show there and not join this tour if you were to ask me again. This is as the tour is in Japanese- I was prepared for this and did not mind it but still.... on the bus you are given a English hearing guide so you can understand and they point out different buildings as you drive but it is pretty dark throughout the tour so you can't really see so much. The food was not tourist friendly, it was authentic Kyoto cuisine and it looked nice but there were very weird looking dishes with no English explanation.... so I did not eat 2/3 of it because I did not want to get sick with ingredients my body cannot handle (we are talking very strange unidentifiable ingredients). The maiko comes and does 2 dances, then you can take a picture with her and then she answers questions in Japanese. So the whole interaction with her is about 15 minutes long tops. Finally the gardens in the location were nice but overall not worth the 60 pounds just go to geisha corner and treat yourself to fancy nice dinner (that you can eat).

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poor show and experience

Reviewed by: Ariel, 2017/06/01

The show was too short, we expected it to be longer. The dinner was ok. Food similar to those offered in a Ryokan. We expected to have a more enjoyable eve. The sightseeing part was just ok.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maikoo dinner and show

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2017/05/24

We had a very pleasant experience for that night, the dance show was good and the hotel they took us for dinner was in a very nice setting with a nice Japanese Garden. However, it was very dark to take pictures. The night view on the peak in Kyoto summarize our trip nicely.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth it

Reviewed by: Anthony, 2017/05/22

Very detailed and specific directions helped easily locate and sort out the tickets which was great for us english speakers. The whole experience was worth it. The maiko was unforgettable to meet, the staff very helpful and the night view was spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It needed a better venue

Reviewed by: Kit, 2017/05/20

The venue didn't allow people to see both dances by the Maiko. The food and staff were excellent but the room was an odd shape that blocked people eating from seeing part of the dance

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A tiny taste of Japanese culture

Reviewed by: Soraia, 2017/05/15

Very well organized trip! Interesting dinner (traditional) and we enjoyed the maiko show.
BEAUTIFUL gardens!!




  • City view from the top!



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE

Reviewed by: Nori, 2017/05/07

I loved this. The Dinner was delicious and the show was mesmerizing, the Maiko was so cute! I definitely recommend this, great value for your money :)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth to see

Reviewed by: Alan Hon, 2017/05/01

The performance is good, dinner too. Garden is pretty to see. Night view is beautiful. Value for money.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Scott , 2017/04/22

We weren't sure what to expect with this dinner as it's a very reasonable cost we had low expectations, however were very pleasantly suprised. The hosts at Shozan were very friendly and accomodating and the food was lovely and traditional.
The arrival of our Maiko was announced and she danced so beautifully allowing the the rare opportunity for a photo with her even a few questions, followed by a walk in the gardens.
The bus tour allowed us an insight into places for us to visit in the following days.
Thanks for a great evening!


  • Maiko


  • Shozan garden

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Kyoto Categories