Buddhist Zazen Meditation at Shourinji Temple in Kyoto reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Buddhist Zazen Meditation at Shourinji Temple in Kyoto

Overall Rating

4.51 4.51 / 5

Reviews

71 reviews
Post a review

I was not able to relax

Reviewed by: mact, 2019/08/16

The meditation was explained in Japanese and they are not very accommodating to visitors.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience!

Reviewed by: Tota, 2019/08/15

Nice experience! It was the first time for us! Nice environment also!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Americans trying Zazen.

Reviewed by: Lori S, 2019/08/07

Loved the experience. Would be 5 star reviews except for the language barrier Written instructions were provided in English but the monk only spoke in Japanese. I feel we missed out on a lot of the history and reasoning behind Zazen meditation, which would have been very interesting. I highly suggest going - we actually learned quite a bit and i improved on my meditation technique We left feeling refreshed after such a beautiful experience. We recommend !

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a nice experience!

Reviewed by: Jacobo, 2019/07/24

It was cool but I didnt understand a word, but they give you english instructions. XD

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting cultural expetience.

Reviewed by: Laura, 2019/07/14

I ended up meeting some locals and learning some intricate details about Zen Buddhism. The meditation was a great challenge after having had so many chill days sight-seeing. The temple is beautiful and everyone was very welcoming. :)
However, the service was all in Japanese and the translation was VERY brief, so unless you speak Japanese, you must be ready to interpret the experience without understanding any of what is being said. I would do this again, though, because I think there would be more I could get from it going a second time.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Zazen meditation

Reviewed by: Jorisdb, 2019/05/02

Good experience for beginners. There was a leaflet in English and tea after the meditation. The monk explained in Japanese and there were two periods of 15 minutes sitting.

I was the only non Japanese person to attend the session and some came as a family so it looked rather touristic.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Sasha, 2019/04/29

My husband and I are practitioners of mindfulness meditation and wanted to try something traditional in japan during our visit. The Zazen session was really good. Despite the monk only speaking Japanese, he was charismatic and we were able to follow along easily with the English instruction printout and his hand motions. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: French friends, 2018/11/02

Great experience in a really beautiful area!
A must try :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An experience popular with locals— away from the tourist crowd

Reviewed by: Peixuan , 2018/04/28

We were pleasantly surprised that the zazen session were attended by mainly Japanese participants.. there were only 4 tourists, including my friend and me. Instructions were purely in Japanese, but there were English printed instructions which was sufficient. Just follow the rest when inside! There were 2 15min sessions of zazen meditation, total activity time was about an hour. Another plus point is that the temple is slightly off the main tourist attractions, the neighbourhood was peaceful and quiet. Highly recommended for people open to new experiences!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience!

Reviewed by: Ana, 2015/06/15

I definetelly would do it again. It was a great way to experience a part of japanese culture. After the meditation section a traditional japanese breakfast was served. Although the monk in charge did´t speak any english at all, He was very kind and made me feel at home by giving me the leaflets with all the introduction and explanations in english. Thank you veltra Team for all the support! xoxo

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/05/24
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Welcome to Kyoto~

Reviewed by: Yutan, 2014/11/05

I finally gave Zen meditation a try.
It was very refreshing although I didn't realize it was so difficult to empty my mind.
I am still not totally sure what that means...

First, we received the monk's precious lecture, then 2 15-minute meditation times.
For some reason, the second one seemed shorter. Maybe your concentration increases as you try more?
I want to try again next time I visit Kyoto!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]