Kyoto Maiko Makeover and Samurai Dress-up Experience with Optional Stroll Plan reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kyoto Maiko Makeover and Samurai Dress-up Experience with Optional Stroll Plan

Overall Rating

4.51 4.51 / 5

Reviews

70 reviews
Post a review

Turning Japanese, I Really Think So

Reviewed by: K Haling & Y Lucas, 2020/02/16

Overall, our Maiko Makeover was truly unique, very special and simply unforgettable. The makeover was transformational and the end result was exceptional.

When visiting foreign countries, we always like to dress up, whenever possible, to experience traditions of the past. In the case of our Maiko Makeover, we got to experience a tradition of both past and present as this is a tradition that continues to be practiced.

Advice for future participants:

1. Come wearing a normal bra and not a racerback or criscrossback bra. The reason for this is that your neck and upper back will be painted with the same white makeup as your face. If you are wearing a racerback or crisscross bra, you will have to lose the bra altogether. If you are top heavy, especially, you will want the support of your bra because wearing a traditional kimono has its tricks and you won’t want your breast to get in the way nor will you want them to be squeezed during the wardrobe part of your makeover.

2. Bring your own white tabi socks (traditional Japanese socks worn with thonged footwear). If you don’t, you can buy some there. But bringing your own can save you time and money.

Reply from activity provider

Dear K Haling and Y Lucas.

Thank you for your message.
We are very glad you spent the special time at our studio.
Also Thank you very much for your advice to future experiences.
Maiko is one of the traditional Japanese culture. So Maiko transformation is very special experience for foreign tourists and also Japanese ladies.
I hope you had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.
And please keep your beautiful Maiko pictures as a nice memories!
If you have a chance to visit to Kyoto again, we would like to see you someday.
Thank you very much.
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Gion !

Reviewed by: Macab, 2019/11/30

Maiko make over was quite an experience . My sister love this tour . The place is very clean and staff are very nice . The stroll made it possible to enjoy including the street sights of Gion which is super clean .
It’s one of the memorable tour experience we’ve done in Kyoto .

Reply from activity provider

Dear Macab.

Thank you for your message.
We are very glad you and your sister spent the special time at our studio.
Maiko is one of the traditional Japanese culture.
So Maiko transformation is very special experience for foreign tourists and also Japanese ladies.
I hope you and your sister had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.
If you and your sister have a chance to visit to Kyoto again, we would like to see you someday.
Thank you very much.
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience, very pleasant staff

Reviewed by: Ana, 2019/11/23

Very organized and we were so impressed with how diligent the staff was with our makeup and costume.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Ana.

Thank you for your message.
We are very glad you spent the special time at our studio.

Maiko and Samurai is one of the traditional Japanese culture.
So Maiko and Samurai transformation is very special experience for foreign tourists .

I hope you had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.
If you have a chance to visit to Kyoto again, we would like to see you someday.
Thank you very much.
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Maiko Experience!

Reviewed by: Nat W. , 2019/11/02

I had a fantastic time transforming as a Maiko! The location of the place is fantastic, right in the heart of traditional Kyoto City giving you a nostalgic vibe. The facility is nice and clean. The welcoming lady was so nice and pretty. I’ve always been obsessed with geisha and so grateful for this experience. I got to walk around the area for a while and so many people wanted to take pictures of me. I’d be so excited too to see ones walking on the street even though they might not be the real ones. Thank you so much for fulfilling my wish and a wonderful experience!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Nat W.

Thank you for your message.
We are very glad you spent the special time at our studio.
Maiko is one of the traditional Japanese culture.
So Maiko transformation is very special experience for foreign tourists and also Japanese ladies.
I hope you had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.
And please keep your beautiful Maiko pictures as a nice memories!
If you have a chance to visit to Kyoto again, we would like to see you someday.
Thank you very much.
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fantastic experience!!!

Reviewed by: Victoria , 2019/10/30

When we arrived to the studio the place was lovely, super clean and the personnel was very nice and professional. The atmosphere was welcoming we were treated very well, the lady that did my makeup was careful and very nice, same thing with my hair.
I loved to see me becoming a legendary Maiko ibthibk the process is beautiful, fulfilled definitely a dream, I got yo choose from tens of Kimono options of a really good quality and variety of colors I could not decide!!!
Finally I picked up my favorite lila tone and the process of dressing is also super exciting, plus you are in front of a big mirror and you almost think it is the real deal, you are like in a Geisha training house!!!! ai think it is really magical.
The photo session was great, very professional and super cute with adequate lighting and good advices I enjoyed that very much the interior location was perfect and the exterior one in a little garden was fantastic.
Finally we had around 45 minutes to walk along the street taking care that the kimono is not damaged or wet of course, and i was a bit shy in the beginning but everyone's reaction was so nice that i just let go and enjoyed the whole experience to the most i took like a hundred pictures with my phone and people were asking to take pictures with us it was so nice.
When we came back the photo book was ready and the quality of the pictures were fantastic. Recommended 100% to everyone this is a very beautiful experience.... once in a lifetime experience!
I didn't want to leave I think, the location is fantastic on the center of the Gion district. Do it, I would actually do it again if I have the chance!!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Victoria.

Thank you for your message.
We are very glad you spent the special time at our studio.
Maiko is one of the traditional Japanese culture.
So Maiko transformation is very special experience for foreign tourists and also Japanese ladies.
I hope you had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.
And please keep your beautiful Maiko pictures as a nice memories!
If you have a chance to visit to Kyoto again, we would like to see you someday.
Thank you very much.
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worthwhile makeover

Reviewed by: Gaurav , 2019/10/30

It brings me great delight to say that this was a great makeover tour of Kyoto. Worth every penny spend. Explore the city embracing the way people did here many years back.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Gaurav.

Thank you for your message.
If you enjoyed at our shop, we are very happy.
I hope you had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.
And please keep your beautiful Maiko pictures as a nice memories!
Thank you very much.
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio Shiki

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aussie Geishas

Reviewed by: Michelle Bilson, 2019/10/20

We had a great time!
After getting stranded due to the typhoon and not being able to get to Kyoto for the day of our booking, the site was extremely flexible and allowed us to move our appointment several times to ensure we could enjoy our booking.

There were 3 of us and we had a lovely time with lots of fun choosing kimono colours and the like. Then we went fir a walk around the local area, how did they do it on those cobblestones with the beautiful but heavy outfits!

Great for a bit of fun and also to understand for a moment what the geisha’s lives were like.
Thankyou from all 3 of us. Great photos too!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Michelle Bilson.

Thank you for your message.
We are very glad you and your friends spent the special time at our studio.
Geisha is one of the traditional Japanese culture.
So Geisha transformation is very special experience for foreign tourists and also Japanese ladies.
Please keep your beautiful pictures as a nice memories!
I hope you had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.

Thank you very much.
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio Shiki

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Clare, 2019/10/06

Very enjoyable being made over as a maiko and the stroll plan meant we could take photos by the Kyoto pagoda in beautiful costume as it is close to the studio. Tourists were taking our picture!

The photo shoot was great fun as well as professional and the pics turned out great - they had them ready when we got back from the walk.

Staff were lovely, make up was very well done and the kimonos were gorgeous.

When we called them saying we were struggling to find which building the studio was, they kindly came and found us, which was incredibly helpful of them.

They took cash and card when we were paying the little extra for our Japanese socks

Reply from activity provider

Dear Clare.

Thank you for your message.
We are very glad you spent the special time at our studio.
Maiko is one of the traditional Japanese culture.
So Maiko transformation is very special experience for foreign tourists and also Japanese ladies.
Please keep your beautiful pictures as a nice memories!
I would like to see you again if you have a chance to visit to our shop someday!
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Maiko makeover in Kyoto

Reviewed by: MT New York , 2019/09/05

My mom and I had a really fun time getting a Maiko makeover. The make up and kimono quality were great, and the professional photos turned out pretty good. We walked around for a while in our costumes and were swarmed by tourists taking photos.

The only thing is that you can’t get the file copy of the professional photos - it is an additional charge for a CD-ROM, usb or email is not available. They also charge extra for a number of things - different wig, eyelashes, socks, different photo studio photos etc (although these are optional).

Reply from activity provider

Dear MT New York

Thank you for your message.

We are very glad you and your family spent the special time at our studio.

Maiko is one of the traditional Japanese culture.

So Maiko transformation is very special experience for foreign tourists and also Japanese ladies.

I hope you had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.

And please keep your beautiful Maiko pictures as a nice memories!

In addition, thank you very much for your advice, we will improve it.

Thank you very much.

Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience with a high quality service

Reviewed by: Marta, 2019/08/16

Fantastic service, with high quality make up, impressive premises, clean and modern but in an old building renovated, wonderful kimonos and photography of excellent quality.
Very good products to remove the make up. Kimonos at the higher level!
I would recommend it 100%. Just one advice, be in advance because the location is not so easy to find, even if it is one of the more authentic places in Kyoto.
Perfect service at the level of my high expectations, thanks!

  • Final result after more than one hour

Reply from activity provider

Dear Marta

Thank you for your message.

And I’m sorry to have taken you a long time to find our store.

Maiko is one of the traditional Japanese cultule.

So Maiko transformation is is very special experience for foreign tourists and also Japanese ladies.

If you enjoyed at our shop, we are very happy.

I hope you had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.

And I would like to see you again if you have a chance to visit to our shop someday!

Thank you very much.

Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio Shiki

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exciting experience

Reviewed by: Darivette, 2019/06/01

The whole experience was amazing, the staff is super nice and professional, I went with my whole family and we all laughed and enjoyed the photo session, the selection of kimonos is beautiful, along side wigs and accessories, I highly recommend this place, they have also great products for when it’s time to take off the makeup, other places make you pay for unnecessary products, this company provides anything you need in order to perk up and take off :)

Reply from activity provider

Dear Darivette

Thank you for your message.
We are very glad you and your family spent the special time at our studio.
I hope you had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.
And please keep your beautiful Maiko pictures as a nicememories!
If you have a chance to visit to Kyoto again, we would like to see you someday.
Thank you very much.
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience! less crowded area

Reviewed by: ylis, 2019/05/05

Cool experience! Many people look at me!
Although i feel better customer service can be provided, because the makeup remover and wearing of the interior clothes can be confusing. And most times left alone not knowing what is going on. For people interested in this, it is good to choose the package to paint your face, because the experience is completely different and it make your trip more worth it.
Another thing to take not, the removing of makeup process is pretty long. When the whole event is over, husband, man or friends waiting for woman to finish changing, please be patient, prepare for 45-60mins for the women to be done changing off

Reply from activity provider

Dear ylis

Thank you for your message.
We are very glad you spent the special time at our studio.
Maiko is one of the traditional Japanese culture.
But kimono is very tight, wig is very heavy, and make up takes a long time, so you have to take a long time to remove it. However I think this transformation experience will be one of special memory for you in Kyoto.
If you have a chance to visit to Kyoto again, we would like to see you someday.
Thank you very much.
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Chiara C, 2019/05/02

Everything went fine, my Maiko makeover experience was outstanding, thanks a lot !

Reply from activity provider

Dear Chiara C

Thank you for your message.
If you enjoyed at our shop, we are very happy.
I hope you had a wonderful experience in Kyoto.
And please keep your beautiful Maiko pictures as a nice memories!
Thank you very much.
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio Shiki

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Courteous staff and professional work!

Reviewed by: Stephen N., 2019/03/25

I decided on this studio based on their fair price, high quality, and positive reviews, and I'm glad I did! While my wife was getting dressed as a Geisha, I decided I'd take part in the experience with her and do the Samurai plan. On the way to the dressing room there was a small outdoor area with a very unique looking duck and a good number of impressive looking koi - truly beautiful and relaxing. Upon arrival, the room was very well kept and the material of the clothes were obviously quite high. When we got to the shooting room and they handed me the katana, I was relieved to discover it had proper weight and they did not save on expense with a cheap, fake sword of weak material and poor quality.

For those wanting to try this out, I'd definitely recommend opting into the stroll/outdoor options for some truly fantastic pictures. Also important is timing! If you want to have pictures on your free stroll time with few to no people in the background, go at the earliest appointment available (that's what we preferred), however, if you'd like it to look like a bustling city in that era, an afternoon shoot will have a good crowd of other people from various shops who are also dressing up!

Enjoy!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Mr. Stephen N,

Thank you for your message!
And also thank you for coming our store with your wife.
Maiko and Samurai are Japanese traditional cultures. We hope that more people will know it through this experience.
The strolling plan is one of the most popular
plan. because you can take your favorite photos outside. We are so glad that you and your wife are satisfied with this experience.
We look forward to seeing again someday.
Thank you very much!
Have a nice trip!

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic makeover!!!

Reviewed by: Pippa, 2018/06/06

Fabulous makeover fir Maiko staff were professional and the photos are excellent !
Booking was so easy through veltra and this offer was brilliant
No hesitation in recommending them and would order other experiences and trips !!!
Excellent trustworthy and efficient

Thankyou x

Pippa ( a very satisfied customer !!)

Reply from activity provider

Dear Pippa

Thank you for your comment.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed taking your maiko pictures.

There are many maiko transformation studios in Kyoto, but I think our shop is the best for foreign tourists.

It is because we have many reservations from overseas, so all staff is studying English now.

Besides, we have English staff, Chinese staff and Spanish staff.

If you have a chance to visit to Kyoto again, we are looking forward to see you someday.


Sincerely,

Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very cozy and Great place!

Reviewed by: Anny, 2018/05/08

Amazing place and experience, the staff is so nice, my boyfriend proposed me in the studio and the girls where very nice and they also gave us some pictures more as a gift, I really recommend this place

Reply from activity provider

Dear Anny

Congratulations on your marriage.

We are so happy for you.

Best wishes on this wonderful journey in Japan, as you build new lives together.

We are looking forward to see you again any time.


Regards,

Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dream come true

Reviewed by: Chloe, 2018/04/15

The ladies of Maiko Henshin Studio efficiently transformed me from everyday Jane to beautiful Maiko!

The process took me about an hour, and it's a constant flurry of activity - from makeup, hair, and kimono fitting. There was a few ladies in the queue but I felt that I did not wait too long.

The transformation was astounding. My husband couldn't believe his eyes!

We were given 45 minutes to stroll around Gion, and I was issued a bag with a map so I knew where I was going. My makeover looked so awesome a few people thought I was a legit maiko.

Thank you Maiko Henshin Studio for making my dream come true!

Tip - don't eat a heavy meal prior to doing this! Once the kimono is on, you can't go to the restroom!

  • One of my studio shots included in the package

Reply from activity provider

Dear Chloe

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very happy to hear that from you.

If you have a chance again, please come to our shop someday!


Sincerely,

Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable Experience!

Reviewed by: Post-Uni Tourist, 2018/03/28

My sister and I completed this activity together. We loved the location of the facility. It was located in Gion along some streets with beautifully built buildings. It is very much a tourist area with many shops catering different souvenirs and foods (which we happily explored after our time in Geisha attire.

The women were very efficient with the makeup and putting on the kimonos. The whole dress-up took about an hour and since we went early, we didn't really have to wait for others. We opted for the half-wig option (which you pay for in addition in studio) and it was cool, although I think it should be called more as "wig with your fringe." Most of your hair is kept underneath the main wig piece but then they take the first inch from around your forehead area to help cover up the would-be seems. Definitely cool, but I don't know if it was worth the extra amount.

We absolutely loved the walking aspect of our plan. The studio shots were really nice (we paid extra for a group shot), but being able to walk a ways away to take shots outside made it so much more worth it. Plus, with the other people on the street, we took photos with some other people in kimonos (and were also asked for pictures ourselves).

We would do this again in a heartbeat.

  • My sister and me in full Maiko attire.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Post-Uni Tourist

Thank you for your good feedback.

We are very glad you enjoyed photo shooting and walking around our shop on free time.

All our staffs are very professional to make geisha transform, so you felt the traditional culture in Kyoto.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Have a nice day,

Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Geisha Experience in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Ana Cabral, 2018/02/18

The experience itself was well worth the money. The staff is very professional, the studio is beautiful and centrally located in old Kyoto and they have a nice selection of beautiful kimonos.
Expect to be asked if you’d like to add any “extras” at an extra cost: a better wig, fake eyelashes, change of kimono, pictures in the garden, extra pictures, etc.
The only constructive critic i’d like to add is that the staff could explain while doing the make up, hair and dressing the kimono, the meaning of each step and each piece of clothing.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Ana Cabral

Thank you for your coming several days ago.

Also thank you for your advise, I would like to talk with all our staff.

But I am sorry about our many options.

There are many requests before, so we offer them nowadays.

When you visit to Kyoto again, I would like to see you someday.


Have a nice day,

Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko makeover photoshoot

Reviewed by: Nmn, 2018/01/27

Very exciting experience. Ended up adding on items to the package because of the excitement.

The staff were excellent and professional. They're very friendly too and many of them (if not all) spoke english. :)

Reply from activity provider

Dear Nmn

Thank you for your comments.
We are very happy to hear that from you.

I am afraid that to communicate each others.
It is because our staff is not so good at speaking in English.
We are studying English for communication with foreign customers, so if you have a chance, please visit to our shop someday.
We look forward to see you next time.

Have a nice day,
Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good fun

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2017/12/02

We had a great time although they did try to up sell us a lot when it was already $150aud a little disappointing.
But I’m saying that greatbovotos and great memeriws

Reply from activity provider

Dear Michelle

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry about that, but some time ago, others felt heat because of our reception staff did not introduce our products to them.

So we need to introduce our many options, as you will realize.

Thank you for your understanding.

I hope your pictures will be one of good memories in Japan.


Have a nice day,

Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Geshia Experience

Reviewed by: smartie, 2017/11/27

We arrived early to the salon and they were happy to fit me in early. We booked a full package through Veltra, however before it began we were told of an extra cost then asked about all other items that could be done. If I had know about these extra items I would have organized extra funds. Outdoor photo's are an extra 1000 yen but you have to have all six done that way so its actually 6000 yen. All the makeup artists speak very little if any English so it was hard to understand what they wanted me to do at the beginning. Very professional, helpful girls and I will recommend this salon and the experience to everyone.

Reply from activity provider

Dear smartie

Thank you for your comment.

First of all, our staff are not good at speaking in English.

We would like to study English more and more.

I am sorry about that.

If you have a chance, please visit to our shop again.


Have a nice day,

Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Touristy Thing

Reviewed by: Jess, 2017/07/23

I think the best part about this place is it gets you to a most beautiful area in Kyoto. The makeup was done (though there were touches I kinda wanted to fix) quickly, the kimono was beautiful. It was awkward to stroll around alone but I got used to it until it was too hot. Wonderful experience. Always wanted to do it

Reply from activity provider

Dear Jess

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very happy you chose the Strolling plan.

Summer is very hot in Japan, but I think to take pictures around traditional town scape is very good experience.

For the next time, I would like to see you and your friends someday.

Sincerely,

Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible transformation

Reviewed by: Fran, 2017/04/14

This experience has been the highlight of my trip. The transformation was incredible, and every step of the way was carefully executed with the utmost precision. I was so impressed with how the studio dealt with a high number of clients and yet still made me feel well looked after. I was so delighted with the final results, I felt like a lifelong dream had come true. The staff's professionalism and kindness are stellar, and the make up, wig and dressing artists are incredibly talented. The photographer really knows how to bring out the best in you, and she was so lovely she offered to take some pictures of me with my camera during my free photo time since I was travelling solo. There even was a make up artist in the wash room to help me clean the make up on my shoulders - they truly thought of everything and cater to all circumstances. I did not feel uncomfortable for one second. Pricing was a very good deal thanks to booking through Veltra, I got 50% off which meant I could happily add on a photo book and some other extras. I would recommend the half wig, it looks much more natural and it's worth the extra money. I will truly cherish this as one of my most treasured memories from Japan. Transforming into a Maiko in Kyoto is a beautiful dream come true, and I will not hesitate to come back to studio Shiki again for a Geisha makeover next time.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Fran

Thank you for your feedback.


We are very happy that you could experience at our studio.

Our photographers are very professional to take geisha pictures, so I hope you enjoyed photo shooting with them.


I would like to ask you to recommend our studio to your friends.

We are waiting for you and your friends someday.


Cordially,


Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic pictures

Reviewed by: Amanda , 2017/03/21

It was a dream come true to experience the full maiko experience and to walk out fully dressed (which was quite an exciting experience sitting for full makeup and then being dressed) to show off to my fiancé who was waiting for me dressed as a samurai. The photographers were kind, gentle, and encouraging. They were surprisingly fast and efficient which made me nervous at first but the pictures came out fantastic. Wonderful experience and I highly recommend!! Great place with everything you need.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your comment.
We are very glad your dream became a reality at our shop.
I hope you will visit to our shop someday.

Cordially,

Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best!

Reviewed by: Narmina, 2016/08/01

One of the highlights of the whole trip to Japan. We immersed in culture by completely transforming into Maiko and Samurai. Staff was super polite and helpful. Very fast moving with the confidence on what they have been doing. Helping dress us up
into Maiko kimono was not an easy task. Same with putting full make up. It was simply awesome!! Tens of kimonos to choose from, couple of options of wigs.
Fotoshoot was also entertaining and they gave us 10 min to take pictures by ourselves as we wish. At the end they prepared a cd and a little booklet with good quality pictures which is going to be one of the best pictures from a Japan trip.
Those pictures among many we posted on FB from the trip to Japan got the most raving comments. The price was also very reasonable for a couple. Recommend it very much!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Narmina

Thank you for your comment.
We are very glad to hear that you get the wonderful comments at facebook.
I think our shop is the most reasonable and fast to transform maiko and samurai.
Also our photographer can take very graceful pictures.
I wish your pictures will be one of your important memories in your life.

Cordially,
Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and Memorable Photoshoot Experience

Reviewed by: Heather, 2016/07/12

It was a very fun experience! I was glad I was able to buy more poses and the backgrounds they used were very nice. You definitely need to plan for ample time before and during as it may take longer than expected.

As a side note, not against the company per say, but I would have liked that on the Veltra website they would have listed the various upgrade options they had for each package.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Ms. Heather

Thank you for your message.

To transform geisha takes long time, but I hope you could transform beautiful geisha at our studio.

Please keep your pictures forever.

I would like to see you again someday, if you have a chance to visit to our shop.


Cordially,

Maiko henshin studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Nicolette, 2016/05/22

This was a fun addition to our trip to Japan. The studio is in a perfect neighbourhood. The setting is professional.
the overall experience was nice, but at times I thought it was a bit to commercial to my taste. We were rushes through hair, make-up and dressing. Except for the choice of kimono and obi (they were beuatiful) there was little room for questions, remarks and personal taste.
I thought it was a pitty that it is forbidden to take snapshots during the process, something I was more interested in than the end-result.
The photographer is very professional in a good way. He is quick, but not rushed. He knows his trade and the pictures turned out nice.
Having said so, i would recommand this place.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Nicolette

Thank you for your amazing comments.

Our staff will be very happy to read your message.

I am so sorry, everyone wears only underwear during the process, so you couldn't take pictures inside. Thank you for your understanding.

He is one of the nice photographer at our studio.

I hope you got nice pictures in your hands.

If you have a time, I would like to see your family and friends!


Sincerely,

Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OK experience. Not great pics.

Reviewed by: Suzanne, 2016/05/01

Be prepared for them to try and up-sell you a lot when you get there. And don't be too disappointed if the pics are not great. They do not work with what is best for you, everybody gets put in the same pose and that will not work for everybody.
The lady at the front desk was NOT nice. Her attitude ruined the whole experience for me. It was just ok. I wouldn't do it again.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Ms. Suzanne

Thank you for your coming on April.
First, I am so sorry for our studio staff.
Then thank you for your opinion about our staff.
I will hardly train them again and give them entry level education.
Also she is not get used to her work of customer service yet.
We will train our staff hardly and try to not to repeat such a thing again for you will be interested again in our shop.
Thank you for your opinion about our staff this time.

Best regards,
Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience for Stroll Plan

Reviewed by: Oradee, 2016/04/30

Professional and friendly staff. The staff can speak English. I have enjoyed the stroll plan for walk around and get some nice photo and compliment from tourist. Nice experience and memory in Kyoto. The photo which taken from studio only 3 photos are good out of 9 photos. I am lucky with the weather and have a good photos with students and surrounding. This was my 2nd time so I would recommended to anyone come in Kyoto to try this.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Ms. Oradee

Thank you for your coming to our shop.
The Strolling plan is one of our popular plan.
You could take many pictures with tourists.
I would like to see you again in Kyoto as the third time someday.

Wishes,
Maiko transformation studio SHIKI

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]