Kyoto Private Dinner at Historical Teahouse with Maiko Dance Show reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kyoto Private Dinner at Historical Teahouse with Maiko Dance Show

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

9 reviews
Post a review

Amazing cultural experience

Reviewed by: American Tourists , 2019/11/13

We knew that we were going to have an amazing cultural experience from the moment we arrived.

We were greeted by our hostess from the moment of our arrival. She was very pleasant, informative and flexible. We arrived nearly 30 minutes before expected therefore our hostess served us tea and took us on a tour of the house.

The highlight of the evening was meeting the Kyoto Maiko. Our group was allowed to ask questions and we were very surprised to learn that she was only 16 years old. Her level of grace, elegance and maturity far exceeded her years. My favorite part of the evening was learning the traditional games and the cultural dance was exceptionally beautiful.

The dinner was very traditional and also exceptionally tasty.

I highly recommend this tour for a truly culturally enriching evening.

  • Traditional Tea Ceremony

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to Tondaya. We are really glad to have such a fantastic review from you .And moreover you enjoyed everything here . We would like to say "Thank you very much again !!" Hope see you again .

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!!

Reviewed by: Erika Veron , 2019/04/07

We got to meat a Maiko named UmeHina. She was truly nice and candid, despite the language barrier she tried hard to make conversation and to understand what we were saying and answer our questions. She's amazingly beautiful, breathtakingly. We played dames, laughed and experienced an incredible night. Highly, highly recommended

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to Tondaya. and we had nice review from you .Thank you very much again !!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience

Reviewed by: Alex, 2018/11/23

Would recommend the tour and the hospitality
Excellent experience

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your review !! Hope see you again .

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

friendly staff - talented Maiko - authentic century old merchant house & delicious kyoto cuisine!

Reviewed by: Kalou Larpenteur, 2015/08/29

friendly staff - talented Maiko - authentic century old merchant house & delicious kyoto cuisine! if i had to said it in a few words, i won't use a better way! wonderful moment with Umechie-san, and Tondaya's staff.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you foryour wonderful review !!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience

Reviewed by: Kamishichiken, 2015/03/13

I chose this for a meal with clients, thinking that it would be something different from the everyday.
I was concerned about the claims of actually having dinner with a maiko, but that was blown away as soon as I arrived! There she was, already waiting for our group to arrive.
I also could not believe that she was really only in her late teens. Of course, she cut a cute figure, but more than that, she was extremely skilled at talking with everyone present. I had assumed she would have trouble joining conversations with older adults, but not at all.
It isn't quite right to call this store a restaurant, but it isn't a shop either. It really is a traditional machiya, straight from the past, and a part of Japanese culture. The parlour was quite luxurious, too.
Taking into account how much my clients enjoyed themselves, the value can't be beat, I would say.
If I could come up with a reason to stop by and dine with the maiko of Kamishichikan even once a year, it would be fantastic. I will definitely return!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your wonderful review !! We are happy to get your review .Hope see you again.Thank you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]