Traditional Japanese Sweets Making Experience in Arashiyama

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Meghan Caritativo , 2017/08/14

We had such an amazing time! The class was very therapeutic and even though we didn't speak Japanese, the instructor made it easy to follow. We were all able to make beautiful sweets and we shared a lot of laughs and smiles in the process. Note that the sweets are all filled with red bean, so if you're not a fan have someone in mind to give them to. They don't last very long though, so keep that in mind as well! If you don't speak Japanese I'd highly suggest going with friends since you'll be able to communicate with someone and figure the steps out together. This class definitely enhanced my trip to Japan and I highly recommend it!!






Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

­Traditional Japanese Sweets Making Exper­ience in Arashiyama/ Review Rebate Speci­al / Standard Plan

Reviewed by: Cindy, 2017/05/22

The Japanese sweets making is a fun experience. We get to experience how the Japanese make this traditional sweets. It's fun to shape the sweets by ourselves. We get to make 3 type of sweets. The tools used are simple and the outcome of it is amazing. It's a nice experience to be able to make and eat the sweets made by ourselves.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cool experience!

Reviewed by: Patrick, 2017/05/11

We loved the wagashi class, it was very fun to get yo make different types of sweets and the chef was funny and very friendly, we had english papers explaining everything! It was a lovely experience, no matter if you go as a couple, friends or family! We recommend this to anyone who want to have a fun experience and learn something new!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Liesbeth, 2017/04/19

It was a great experience. I followed the workshop with my mother, and there was also one other Japanese couple.
Although the explanation of the workshop itself was in Japanese, the sensei explained everything by hand. We got a piece of paper on which we had the information of the sweets in English (so that we could understand what we were going to make). We made 2 sugary flat sweets and afterwards, we made 3 different Japanese sweets: sakura, autumn leaf and one other (see pictures). When the sweets were made, we got a macha tea so that we could eat the last Japanese sweet we've made. I would definitely recommend this workshop, even if you don't understand Japanese.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun activity

Reviewed by: Irina , 2017/04/10

I went with my mom and we had lots of fun. Instructions are in Japanese but hands on demonstaration makes everything very clear. Loved it!



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Soccer Lover, 2017/03/25

I was not sure about this activity, but with the instructor's kind assistance, I could complete the all three kinds of sweets. The instruction was given in Japanese with some simple English, but her demonstration was enough. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I am so proud of myself!

Reviewed by: Soccer lover, 2017/03/25

The sample made by the instructor looked so pretty and I wasn't sure whether I could make something similar, but I could complete all three kinds of sweet with surprising perfections! I am sure the gentle and kind instruction did some magic!


  • The spirit of Japanese beauty!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simple but eye-opening experience

Reviewed by: Flying Nowhereman, 2017/03/25

I booked this activity just to entertain my foreign friends, but I ended up enjoying it very much myself. The instructor was very cheerful and kind. Also it is nice to have a little souvenir to take home.


  • I could make this!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun sweets-making class!

Reviewed by: Heather, 2016/07/03

It was nice getting to make various traditional Japanese sweets. The instructor did a good job of explaining how to make the various pastries and you are able to make out what you need to do, even if you don't speak Japanese. It would have been fun to make the ingredients from scratch, but then the course would have been much longer, so all the main ingredient were pre-made for us. Our treats came out pretty good, but the only downside is that you have to eat then by the end of the following day, but ours made it another day in the fridge.






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice

Reviewed by: Sacha, 2015/08/20

After a busy schedule it was nice to do something at a slower pace. I like baking and art so this was fun for me.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time making Japanese Sweets

Reviewed by: Yo-Da, 2015/07/10

As I sometimes make Western sweets but hardly make Japanese sweets, I made a reservation for this interesting experience.
It is kind of far from the center of Arashiyama, but it was a very superb store of Japanese sweets.

On the day for which I made a reservation, there were college students from Taiwan who were visiting to commemoratw their graduation, and about 20 people were there.
As they did not know Japanese, I was wondering how the teacher was going to teach, but a man who makes the Japanese sweets came to them and taught them how to prepare the sweets. They were so happy and excited. As for me, I am a clumsy person, but I was able to make a relatively satisfying Japanese confectionery.
I made three fresh sweets, hydrangea, fringed pink, and tsuyunosato (name of confectionery), and a Kizato, which looks like it was clipped. The wagashi are very delicate, but since the confectionery maker taught us one by one, even a person like me could make it. Using a spatula and cloth is also an interesting experience.
Furthermore, making method also differs a little for each type of confectionery, which was fun.
After making, you can taste the confectionery you made with green tea at the store. You can also bring back some other confectionery too. I'm so glad I could take some as a souvenir. I want to make these again!

<Translated by Veltra.com>




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Categories