Kyoto Highlights Sightseeing from a Double-Decker Open SKY BUS in Kyoto

Overall Rating

4.004.00 / 5

Reviews

4 reviews (Post a review)

Despite rain great tour

Reviewed by: Alyona, 2018/01/29

WE booked the tour a day before , spontaneously. On the day of the tour we were not able to print out our vouchers as it was requested in the booking. yet, the colleagues from the office made it possible for us to change the date for our tour and forward our booking to the service provider.

The day of the tour was a greyish and rainy one. Hot green tea and blankets made our stay on board very comfortable. We enjoyed the tour (used English translation).


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Quick Open Top Tour

Reviewed by: Michelle W. , 2018/01/07

This was the second tour that my husband and I booked using Veltra. The app is so easy to use. I was sitting in the hotel lobby waiting to go to our train. In less than 20 minutes we found a tour for Kyoto, purchased and confirmed tickets. The quality of tour that Veltra books for is consistent. We like that we can search for tours in English or that have English support. The open top bus company went above and beyond. The weather the day of our tour in Kyoto was weird. The day started with a mix of snow/hail which transitioned to full sun only to be followed by torrential downpour. We decided to go ahead a brave the 1.5 hour tour anyway, justifying that rain is only water and we could very easily dry off or change to dry clothes if we really need to. Veltra provided clear directions on our ticket confirmation for where to find the correct bus terminal. The Open Sky Bus tour guides greeted us at the bus terminal and were very friendly. They gave us ear buds for the English audio for the tour. As we entered the bus we were given rain ponchos, hot green tea, and instant hand warmers. This was amazing service and something that really made the tour. Even though it was cold, the sun came out and it ceased raining. The hot drinks and hand warmers really eased the cold of our January tour. Seat numbers were assigned. Knowing this now, I wish I would've asked the ticket counter if could have the seats in the very front of the bus. We had great views of some amazing sites in Kyoto. We felt like we got a great highlights or best-of tour. The audio had great music between talking bits. The information in the audio provided great history and insight into the city of Kyoto. It gave us some great ideas about which places we wanted to go back and visit. As it was our time in town was limited, so after the tour we actually took a local train down to Fushimi Inari shrine, which is not included in the tour, but a quick two-stop local train ride.


  • Nijo castle from the bus.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Skybus

Reviewed by: Becky, 2017/08/16

Not enough English information. Japanese participants learned much more than did those listening to the translation audio

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was an Experience

Reviewed by: ARJ, 2016/10/25

The tour overalls was great. The tour guide did not speak English but we had audio recordings which were ok. The guide seemed to be talking way more than our recordings which made me wish that I could understand what she was saying. It was chilly up top so we made sure to have layers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Categories