Reserved Tickets for 62nd Gion Odori Maiko and Geisha Dance in Kyoto (Nov. 1~10) reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Reserved Tickets for 62nd Gion Odori Maiko and Geisha Dance in Kyoto (Nov. 1~10)

Overall Rating

4.60 4.60 / 5

Reviews

92 reviews
Post a review

Interesting cultural experience

Reviewed by: Helen, 2019/11/23

A privilege to watch such a beautiful traditional performance. We were given a warm welcome by English speaking hosts and had excellent seats.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Performance!

Reviewed by: Lisa , 2019/11/13

This event was all in all a great insight in traditional Japanese Geiko and Maiko art. Singers, dancers and artists were awesome and let to some moments of getting goose pimples ;-)
Unfortunately the previous tea ceremony was a bit disappointing as the room was quite small and not everybody could observe the women preparing tea. Additionally you had to rush as the next group of people was already waiting outside.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Kaikan

Reviewed by: Baron Von Count, 2018/11/04

Very good seat in the 3rd row through Veltra for the Gion Odori.
A fascinating look at a performance by geikas and maikos.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion odori

Reviewed by: Rose, 2018/11/04

Not with the green tea ceremony but the show was amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Impressive performance

Reviewed by: Laima, 2017/12/02

You bought tickets for Gion Odori in November. The exchange of the voucher was very easy and hassle free. The seats allocated were not the best however, in the balcony. I guess i is done randomly, so we had no good luck :)But for a decent price we do not complain. Performance was very good, 6 Geiko and Maiko dances with grand finale when there were around 15 dancers on the stage. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Need to allow photos

Reviewed by: Ron, 2017/11/25

For some reason they do not allow photos. This is 2017, every smart phone has a camera and especially coming from a foreign country you want to capture the experience. Next time just watch online the dozens of postings.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful show, strange seats

Reviewed by: suzanne sasse, 2017/11/25

We arrived and were given some tickets in exchange for our online voucher. Then we were taken to some folding chairs in a passageway. I dont understand why we didnt get a normal seat in the theatre.

  • no photos of the dance permitted but this is the stage

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Odori Fall performance

Reviewed by: Ramon, 2017/11/12

The show was very nice with magnificent colors. The location of our seats (view of the scene) was very good but the quality of the seat was poor, we were on add-on type hard seats instead of the normal softer seats. The show lasts one hour and tends to be boring with the same music and voice all along. In any case, a must-see show to get acquainted with Japanese culture.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very nice performance

Reviewed by: Raquel, 2017/11/08

Very nice and impressive performance. The tee ceremony not really worth it, but the performance was excellent

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]