Reserved Tickets for 62nd Gion Odori Maiko and Geisha Dance in Kyoto (Nov. 1~10) reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Reserved Tickets for 62nd Gion Odori Maiko and Geisha Dance in Kyoto (Nov. 1~10)

Overall Rating

4.60 4.60 / 5

Reviews

92 reviews
Post a review

62nd Gion Odori Maiko and Geisha Dance in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Raju San, 2019/12/06

This is the best way to see Japanese Traditional dance/drama, An hour program fully packed with Thrill.I enjoyed with my family and would recommend to my family circle and friends
Thanks very much Veltra team

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique experience!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2019/12/02

If you are in Kyoto during the Festival, I highly recommend going to see the Maiko dance. Because we gave them a little money for a cause, we also got our picture with 2 maikos. We really enjoyed listening to the music and seeing the delicate dances. The tea before the show was rushed and we could have skipped that but definitely go the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy to buy and good experience

Reviewed by: Cat, 2019/12/01

Loved Gion Odori experience.
When I purchased the ticket was not sure how will work.You don't have an assigned a seat, so you don't know where they are going to put you, but the site was good, at the top, so I could enjoy the show. It is a pity that no photographs can be taken at any time. I would have liked to keep a graphic memory, even if there could be only in a final part of the show.
Upon arrival you must enter directly through the great door and show the paper of the purchase, inside they have your ticket prepared with your name in an envelope. If you only have the show ticket, you don't have to stand in line, just enter the room and wait for a worker to take you to your seat.

  • Inside the theatre.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful way to see Geiko [Geisha]

Reviewed by: Sarah C, 2019/11/19

This was a lovely performance by the Gion Geiko and Maiko. Keep in mind this isn't a traditional performing art; in Japan Geisha usually "perform" in private settings for very wealthy individuals. You could book a geisha dinner for several hundred dollars per person, or you could go to one of these shows if you are lucky enough to be in town while one of these performances is going on and get a taste of Geisha art in a theater setting. It was a beautiful performance!

  • Theater

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great performance, easy voucher redemption

Reviewed by: Sam, 2019/11/12

The performance was very authentic and a wonderful experience. Exchanging Veltra voucher for tickets was incredibly easy. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Need I say more?

Reviewed by: Axel, 2019/11/10

I feel it goes without saying that this was a truly magical experience. I feel privileged to have been visiting Kyoto at the time of the Gion Odori and thank VELTRA for making the experience of organising tickets pain-free.

  • You can’t take photos of the show so this is the outside of the Gion Kaikan

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Deb , 2019/11/08

When in Kyoto, tourists walk the streets of Gion, in the hope of spotting Maiko and Geisha. Some will try and take photos inconspicuously of them as they walk by, while others will pay over $200 for a dinner in order to see a Maiko perform 1 dance. This experience which is only available each year for about 10 days in November, will give you everything you need when it comes to seeing true geisha. It’s affordable, you get to see many geisha and maiko and they perform 10 acts during the 1 hour show. You can even take a photo with 2 maiko for a small donation.
There is also a tea ceremony you can be apart of if you turn up at 1pm. It’s a rush job and really confusing because of the language barrier, but basically you sit down, put the pink ticket on the table in front of you and they give you something to eat (little glutenous bun with red bean paste inside) and some matcha tea. You also get to keep the little pink plate the treat is served on. According to the kids (who were trying to be funny), you get to keep the plate because it saves on washing. It was a bit of a production line so we just folded up our treat to go, sipped our tea quickly and left to make room for the next groups of people waiting.
Thanks to Veltra, getting our tickets was super easy and our 7 seats were in the front row. Initially we were worried we might be too close but the seats were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Look at the Japanese Culture

Reviewed by: alol, 2018/11/14

Great event, excellent experience (wish some of organizers spoke at least some English - but we came to enjoy their culture so have to expect... and have some patience - but after we settled everything was outstanding).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Advanced reservation was totally worth it.

Reviewed by: Abs, 2018/11/12

Tickets were waiting for us so we could skip the line. The event it self was totally worth it. We got decent seats, not the best...we booked 2 weeks in advance so I'd recommend booking earlier if you want the good seats.

Tea ceremony was worth it, it's a bit rushed and can't see much if you're not in the first 2 rows, so try to wait by the entrance to be the first ones in. You get a small amount of good matcha, a little sweet thing and you get to keep the saucer the it's served on.

We didn't pay any extra free for booking via Veltra so props to Veltra for this!

10/10 would book through Veltra again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Odori Maiko and Geisha Dance in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Katey King, 2018/11/12

Beautiful! Very hepful English speaking staff. The music was also lovely.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Odori

Reviewed by: Shadow, 2018/11/11

This was an amazing experience even without understanding Japanese. The Geiko and Meiko performed dance/acting performance to a set theme and live music is also played. Some of the stage backdrops were very beautiful as well. At the end they threw signed a fabric with all the names of the performers out and we were lucky enough to catch one. I highly recommend going to a performance like this at least once!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Odori

Reviewed by: Richard, 2018/11/09

Amazing. When I arrived I was directed to the counter where the reserved tickets were, I then went to watch the tea ceremony, which was amazing. Then we were led to the theatre, I was given a seat in the front row - the odori was amazing - great dancing, beautiful costumes, music and singing was amazing. If you are in Kyoto in early November please go to this.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magnifique !

Reviewed by: Corinne, 2018/11/08

Tout était parfait, l'accueil, le spectacle incroyable ! C'est l'un des meilleurs moments que nous ayons passés à Kyoto. Merci.
Je recommande à 200 % !

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW

Reviewed by: Sharon Walker, 2018/11/08

What a fabulous show, highly recommend seeing these amazing talented women. A cultural show not to be missed. Colourful, mesmerising and wonderful experience. You wanted to get up on stage and learn the dances.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing spectacle

Reviewed by: Couple from Europe, 2018/11/07

We were invited into tea ceremony with some mochi dessert and a little
Spectacle was amazing despite no any Japanese language skills. Show is so unique that is worth it's price and time spent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Iris, 2018/11/07

Ordering was easy, as was exchanging the voucher for the tickets. We had great seats on the 7th row and all in all this was a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legit Voucher and good seats

Reviewed by: Anna R, 2018/11/07

This is legit, I printed voucher from home and presented it in Gion Kaikan 30 mins before tea ceremony and show. Tickets and seats were prepared and got good seats.
Show was okay, would've been better if they talked about the geisha culture prior to show start. Tea ceremony is okay, it's a classroom type arrangement and the geisha/maiko doesn't necessarily serve you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Traditional Dance was a Great Experience

Reviewed by: BelaES, 2018/11/06

My friend and I attended a performance of Gion Odori at the 1:30pm time on a Sunday. Getting to the theater is easy and there is nearby parking for anyone driving.

Upon arrival the ticket office immediately recognized us as having reservations (maybe it was me fumbling with the confirmation email) and produced our tickets and sent us into the theater almost instantly. The lovely usher sat us and we had the good fortune to get really good seats and they were together. The theater was quite packed so definitely get there on time.

The dance itself was very interesting. The free little flyer we got before entering the theater does give a little explanation on each dance in English, but it was a little sparse so try to do a little research before coming if you really want to understand the stories.

Otherwise, it was a full hour from entering to leaving of gorgeous dancing, costumes, and sets, with the traditional music accompaniment really clinching the feel of authenticity. If you're in town, definitely try to catch this performance!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing evening

Reviewed by: Adrian, 2018/11/06

Absolutely loved the evening. Great venue & amazing food. The Maiko & Geiko were delightful - loved watching them perform and was overjoyed at opportunity to talk to them and be able to ask questions. Had seen the Gion Adori (annual dance of Geisha) the day before and loved it but being even closer to them & experiencing the geisha hospitality was amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

must see!! great show

Reviewed by: amy , 2018/02/22

Beautiful, fantastic and great show!!
I will go to Gion next spring to watch spring MAIKO and GEISHA Dance show in kyoto Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Eyhidiaze, 2017/12/02

We reserved with veltra for the Geisha dance show "Gion Odori". The booking was very simple, and the price was the same as if we booked directly. We were surprise because we really had a great place, from where we had a perfect view on the Geishas.

The show was amazing, we couldn't have come in Japan and not see a Geisha dance show. It was even better than we expected and if we come back, we won't hesitate to book one more time with veltra.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Special Experience

Reviewed by: Jon from Canada, 2017/12/02

My girlfriend and I very much enjoyed this Geisha dance and it was one of our highlights in Kyoto. The process of buying the tickets through Veltra was easy as we only had to print off our ticket receipt and show this at the door. By booking our tickets a few days in advance we ended up with great seats near the front of the theatre.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing and memorable show

Reviewed by: Chris K., 2017/11/27

An amazing and memorable show. Extremely well worth the time and money if you're in Kyoto at the time, or even altering your trip time to include it if it's not too much of a hassle. If you've seen any of the other seasonal dances it's still worth seeing because of the differences in theatricality, dance and performance style. Excellent.

As for the Tea Ceremony plan, go in with tempered expectations. Chances are you won't be able to see the maiko making/serving the tea and, even if you can, it's even less likely you'll be the one being served. But that's fine as you still get a very nice snack, tea, commemorative plate and kerchief for a very low price. Consider actually seeing the maiko as a bonus and not the main course.

Also, picking up the Program option is well worth it. You can get it at the show as well but it's the same price as just buying online and when you buy online you'll get it right at the door with no extra fuss or muss.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply Magical

Reviewed by: Tatjana, 2017/11/25

If you gave the chance to see this performance, don't miss it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy check-in; great experience

Reviewed by: Catherine, 2017/11/12

The Gion Odori was an emotional, moving performance. You could never have the same authentic experience anywhere but Japan. There were maiko and prominent Kyoto residents in the audience, too, so you know it’s for real! The Veltra booking service made it super easy to get a ticket as a foreigner. I picked up my ticket at the theater about 30 minutes before the performance.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

100% worth it, definitely one of those rare Japanese experiences you gotta do in Kyoto!

Reviewed by: Princeton, 2017/11/10

If you're fortunate enough to be in Kyoto for this, I recommend you absolutely do it!

A few things to note:
-Booking online through Veltra guarantees you a seat; we were originally going to wait for tickets at the theatre itself, but they had long lines on the day of and it was SUPER cramped.
-We arrived an hour early to check in; just showed a print out of the Veltra voucher and got some souvenir stickers, and the lady at check-in said "Your seats are not very nice, so please accept this as an apology" -she gave us a free souvenir cloth - the same ones the Geiko & Maiko throw at the crowd during the show!
-We opted for the Tea Ceremony - After getting into a bit of a tight line on the upper level for 20 minutes, we got a piece of mochi and a bowl of green tea - just enough for a few sips, nothing too crazy/big. The room it is held in is quite small; it felt like a classroom with desks very close to each other. You are squeezed into a spot as soon as the previous people have vacated their seats; No photos but there is a Maiko and a Geiko at the front of the room looking quite solemn/stern so you might be lucky to be seated directly in front of them while you're enjoying your snack but you're equally likely to be put in the far corner. Again, a tight squeeze.
-The seats were really not that bad, we were on the highest level and it seems like other Veltra buyers were too (other Westerners). The view for us was great but it seems you don't have a choice in selection.
-It's not in the same spot as Gion Corner; the theatre for this is actually across the street from the Yasaka Shrine.
-Everything's in Japanese, heads up - even the program you receive. Again, we're a couple of fairly smaller people under 5'8" and it was a bit cramped - so take note if you're on the larger side. We noticed a heftier American couple with mobility issues having a slightly tougher time... but they also talked through the entire show. Avoid coming with bags!

  • The first act of the show!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING!

Reviewed by: Alexandra , 2017/11/10

One of the most beautiful dances I have ever seen and one of the highlights of my trip in Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Erik, 2017/11/08

Nothing short of spectacular! These public dances emit a magical atomsphere that is sure to spell-bound everyone. There is nothing else like it in the world !

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting show with beatiful outfits and dance

Reviewed by: Ingrid, 2017/11/08

Good show with a quick cup of tea at first in a separate room. Easy to change the voucher into ticket (one hour before the show). Very pleased.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2017/11/06

Having the ticket beforehand has been great. I think there were still available tickets onsite when we got there but the place was pretty packed by showtime so still good to plan beforehand.

If you plan to do the tea ceremony, there will be several batches as the room is small. Try to sit in the first row to experience the Maiko serving you your tea.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]