Meet, Touch and Photograph Cute Owls at an Owl Cafe' in Kyoto

Owl touching

Reviewed by: Juliet , 2017/09/10

Great experience, we have lots of fun, and I would like to have it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time with the Owls

Reviewed by: Donald, 2017/08/13

The people at the Owl Cafe were really helpful and we thoroughly our time with the owls. They are both beautiful and cute and to be able to hold and pet them was a wonderful experience.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Visite au café des hiboux Kyoto

Reviewed by: Chevalier A , 2017/08/09

Un moment magique où les animaux sont disponibles et les dames très professionnelles. Un endroit à découvrir car il est bien caché dans la galerie marchande. Magnifique...

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the owl cafe!

Reviewed by: Alexis, 2017/08/01

My friends and I had a blast at the owl cafe. The workers were really really nice and even spoke English with us, which was much appreciated. They had a great selection of owls and took very good care of them. Would highly recommend (especially to foreign travelers) and would go there again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So so much fun

Reviewed by: Linda, 2017/07/28

On our list to do again next time an incredible experience

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You have to do this !!

Reviewed by: From Oz, 2017/07/02

We loved our hour at the Owl cafe - it was amazing. We highly recommend.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Experience

Reviewed by: Jess, 2017/06/27

Interactive- handled 3 x owls. Not busy at all. Very friendly staff!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super cute owls

Reviewed by: Lawrence, 2017/05/11

The owls are very cute and well tamed. Once in a lifetime chance to get up close with owls! Gomu is the cutest mini owl.


  • Gomu!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Owl Cafe

Reviewed by: Jolene, 2017/04/16

Had the best time!!! The owls were all so adorable and sweet! Even my mum had a ball playing with the owls and petting them. Wish we were allowed to play with more than 3 owls though.

My only complain is the direction to the cafe. The signage and map direction to the cafe was very bad and we spent close to 20 minutes looking for the cafe and walked past it 3 times!!! Do look into improving that.

Thank you! Definitely a unique experience.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous Feathered Fun!!

Reviewed by: Murphy Fam, 2017/03/16

Having fun and building happy memories with the people you love is what life is all about! This experience will keep us smiling for a long time to come!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love the experience !

Reviewed by: Florence , 2017/01/01

I love owls, n this is my first experience and close contact with the cutie birds. Staffs are friendly. You can take as many pictures as you want in your allocated time. The only set back is, it is DIFFICULT to find the location. We asked at least 10 people (shop keepers around the area) and nobody knows where. They point to all different directions. Just walk ALL THE WAY DOWN Teramachi dori shopping street . It is on your right, 2nd floor. Enjoy it!


  • 2 owls at the same time !

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visiting!
We're very sorry for that our place is hard to find ;(
but also thank you for looking for and finding us!☆
You seem enjoyed your time with owls. We are really happy.
If you have a chance to com t o Kyoto again, please visit us♪

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience for the whole family.

Reviewed by: Remoterob, 2016/12/30

Stopped by after lunch and after taking a small lift up to the second floor we were greeted by 2 lovely hosts who clearly love what they do. After a short dos and don't video we were introduced to several smaller owls and got to know them. Once we got more comfortable and familiar we were give large leather gloves and a chance to interact with some of the larger ones. Kids, wife and I loved the hour and felt it was well worthwhile. 12 year old Son, who is seldom impressed by much, other than new computer games, gave it a 5/5 and we almost had to tear him away from the place.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visiting!
We're happy to hear that you all enjoyed spending time with our owls :)
As you come to Kyoto again someday in the future, please visit us!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super cute

Reviewed by: Lynn, 2016/12/24

So we booked an hour with the owls. You can tell the staff loves the owls and really knows each of the birds' personalities. We watched a safety video and that was helpful because I got nervous about what to do with the owls. The staff made sure everyone got to experience the birds! Oh yes, some owls were there to get used to humans and others were on a break. That definitely made me feel better. They had owls ranging from tiny tiny ones to medium sized ones! The staff there informed us that the cafe is too small for large owls. Oh sigh. Amazing time! Super cute owls! And we had coffee with the owls! I fell in love with a little owl named Goma!


Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visiting!
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed it very much and loved our owls :)
If you have a chance to come to Kyoto again, please visit us!
Goma and we are looking forward to seeing you someday♪

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Owl cafe

Reviewed by: points, 2016/12/04

I find it hard to locate the owl cafe. The Google map bring us to the place, we passby there a few times but still never realise we have reached. They have a poster to indicate the owl cafe is at level 2. We only manage to spot the place when the shop attendant bring one owl out to get crowd.

Will suggest to have a meal before you go. There is no food, only drink available.

It is a very small shop with around 10 owls. Big and small cute owls.

There is English instructions video for tourists to follow.

The shop attendants are very friendly and polite. They help us to position the owls, and try all sorts of way to get the owls to look at our camera direction.

Saw another guest cleaning his cloth before us. Luckily, we did not have any dropping on us.

There is a small area selling the souvenirs.

The shop attendant always spray disinfectant on our hand before we left.

Overall, it is fun to interact with the owls.

Reply from activity provider

poinnts様
この度は、フクロウのみせ+plus京都店へお越しいただきありがとうございました!
お店のこともたくさん説明していただきありがとうございます( *´艸`)☆
楽しんでいただけてよかったです♪
またのお越しをお待ちしております☆彡

Thank you very much for your visiting Fukurounomise+plus Kyoto!
And also thank you for explainig our shop's details( *´艸`)☆
We're glad that you had fun time here♪
We're looking forward to seeing you again☆彡

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cool experience

Reviewed by: SSK, 2016/10/18

We were the only ones around in the timeslot so we have plenty of room to move about and got to interact with all 5 owls on 'duty'. The staff explained the rules to us in quite good English and was friendly and attentive. It was a unique experience as we would never get a chance like this in our country.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visit !!
You enjoyed the petting of our shop owl. We are very happy.
There are a lot of owl in the shop. Owl is the time shifts.
We look forward to your visit again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great place

Reviewed by: Gigi, 2016/07/17

We really enjoyed getting to interact with the owls. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the owls. We read over the rules before handling the owls and then we got to play with them. You let the staff know which owl you wanted to hold and they would help you with it. They also took pictures of us. I highly recommend this place if you want to interact with these beautiful creatures:)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visit. It you was good to enjoy. Thank you for your nice comments. I'm looking forward to seeing you ☆

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Owl cafe

Reviewed by: Yanchan, 2016/06/17

Nice meeting~Nice service the staff is very helpful~The Owls is very cute^^

Reply from activity provider

thank you for your comment!
I hope like was able to spend a good time.
It's very cute owl we are!
We look forward to you again coming to the store.










Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Brilliant

Reviewed by: Charlotte, 2016/06/16

I couldn't have enjoyed this hour more with a few different owls and lovely helpful staff. Really great place.

Reply from activity provider

thank you for your comment.
Please come to play.
I look forward to your visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cute owls

Reviewed by: Natassja , 2016/05/26

The Owls were adorable and we were able to interact with them for about an hour. The staff were very friendly and communicated with us in English so we could understand better.

Overall it was a nice experience however I couldn't help feeling sad for the Owls as they were all tied to a little string and forced to sit there while us humans pet and hold them. I asked the staff if they are allowed to fly and where they stay at night and she told me no they don't fly and they are just kept in the same room all the time. It didn't feel right especially as some of the Owls kept trying to fly but couldn't.

The staff seemed great and the Owls were well cared for - I enjoyed being able to interact with such a beautiful bird however left feeling sad for allowing such a place to exist...they deserve to be free.


Reply from activity provider

Thank you for a lovely comment.
It was good seem to have enjoyed.
I am looking forward to your visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Strange animal to be around

Reviewed by: Pong, 2016/05/21

First time being near to owl. Found they are nice and soft feathers. Many size of themwith various price if you want to buy. However, quite heavy to jold and they poo poo ofter

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your visit!
I'm happy like was able to spend a good time with the owl.
We look forward to also visit you☆
thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a HOOT! Alot of Fun!

Reviewed by: Cyn-D, 2016/04/13

Low key experience-little kept secret hole-n-the-wall place which made it enjoyable. Not crowded. Staff was fun and did well enough speaking English. Owls are wonderful creatures-very mellow. Would have liked to have some information of the types of owls on an information sheet and their names to learn more about them. We did ask questions and staff had answers but you are in awe of the owls that you don't realize till after that you wanted to ask more questions! It was a fun experience-highly recommend it!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your comment!I'm happy like was able to spend a good time.
The staff is also happy if you could ask a question.Please listen more and more anything!I will do my best to to be accepted more questions.
In addition, because the owl information is also found on the home page, there also thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Owl fun in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Jennifer , 2016/04/03

the staff are fantastic friendly and full of energy. the owls are well looked after and cared for and absolutely adorable. Well worth a visit, where else in the world would you get to do this! plus the shop prior has lots of great stuff. loved it.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for your comment.
It seemed that you could enjoy yourself and it was good.
I'm looking forward to the day when you can meet again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING NIGHT

Reviewed by: LO HSINCHUN, 2016/03/07

As we watch the nippon TV show in Taiwan , it's really incredible in our country .... We just could see the owl in the zoo , and there are 10-20 meters between us . We can't see the owl face to face , and even touch them .... however , I do like to enjoy the Owl Family in my KYOTO journey . Owls are really beautiful and cute , and the waiters are very kind and perfessional ... Really thanks U , Owl Family


Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our shop.
Petting and photography of the owl is a valuable experience in Japan!
Please our shop of experience talking to Taiwan of friends.
Also Osaka and Hakata There are shops.
When it comes to travel to Japan again, please come to our shop!
We look forward to coming to the store.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Went out of curiosity, but the owls are so cute, I want to go again!

Reviewed by: Satsumakkoro, 2016/03/03

There were a few places nearby you can go and touch owls, so I stopped in at one.
I entered the store, heart pounding in excitement, and saw what I first thought was a stuffed toy signboard(?), but was actually a real owl!

The staff were cheerful and taught me about each own'l name and personality, making it fun and relaxing to get to touch and meet them.

When you get used to the owls, you can put them on your shoulders or even have 2, one on each shoulder. You can even have them put on your head.
I took a lot of pictures. The owls look around in different directions, so I recommend to take multiple selfies each time with your cell..

The owls were on a shift system, split between the ones you can touch and the ones on break. You can still take pictures of the birds that are on break.

I planned to leave early from my 1 hour of time, but it was so much fun the whole thing passed in a blink. Some of the other customers there were repeaters who come to see their favorite owl again and again, but I can really understand their feelings.

I did this while traveling, so now I will try to find it in my neighborhood.

<Translated by Veltra.com>




Reply from activity provider

Thank you for you visit.
Our staff is very happy you will enjoy the petting of the owl!
You're very good at taking the owl and photos.
Cute owl is waiting a lot. We look forward to coming again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Store

Reviewed by: Fan Chin, 2016/01/08

Happy time with owl,

The staff in this shop are very helpful and nice

Reply from activity provider

thank you your best commet. We have you again for coming and look forward to the staff concentric .

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Categories