This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Elegant Oiran Courtesan Makeover and Photo Shoot Experience in Kyoto

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

13 reviews (Post a review)

Experience of a lifetime!

Reviewed by: Brooke K, 2019/05/25

This is what I was most excited for of our 3-week trip through Japan, and it did not disappoint!!! Staff were wonderful and extraordinarily talented. They made me look the most beautiful I ever have in my life. My husband and I did a couples photoshoot and we both agree that these are better than our wedding photos! The pictures are breathtaking; I couldn't imagine how beautifully they would've turned out. We'll be sure to return to Esperanto Kokoro when we visit Japan in the future.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Brooke K

First of all thank you so much for your kind message.
That was so great photo shoot thanks to great couples.
It was really a fun photo shoot for me as well.
I'm very happy that you are so pleased.

We are very happy to share a good time with you.

Thank you for choosing our studio.

We are appriciated to you regarding.
When you come to Japan again, we hope you will come to see us!

Studio Esperanto

Yours faithfully
Photographer
Fatih YAVUZ

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Amy Stewart , 2019/05/23

I highly recommened this Oiran photo experience. Many people hire kimonos in the local area for photos but honestly they have nothing on this! The ladies did wonderful job with makeup and hair and photographer talked me throught the poses and process , I felt extremely comfortable and also pampered. I felt like a queen during it all and makes a wonderful souvenir to take home.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Amy Stewart

Thank you very much for your nice message.

I also had a great time thanks to you!
I hope to you have been a beautiful photo shooting experience and souvenir within you and Kyoto.

We are appreciated to you regarding Studio Esperanto.
photographer Fatih

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I had a really good time.

Reviewed by: Aurelia, 2019/04/12

The staff is friendly. The make-up artist/hair designer did such a beautiful job. And the photographer took extremely well composed photographs of me. It is hard to think the one on the pictures is me. The clothes where very heavy and the poses hard to hold but it is definitely a great experience and I would highly recommend to go to this place to do an Orian photoshoot.

  • Hair and makeup

  • The kimono under the heavy clothes.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for your nice message.
We're glad to know that you have enjoyed your experience!

We hope to you have been a beautiful photo shooting experience and memories within you and Kyoto.
And we hope to see you again in the future if you have a chance to visit Kyoto!

Photographer
Fatih YAVUZ

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great job!

Reviewed by: Mabel, 2018/04/20

Everything was proffessional!
N all very satisfying!

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for visiting us! We are so glad to hearing that you had fan. We look forward to seeing you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Miwa , 2018/04/15

We had fun choosing our robes and having our pictures taken. The pictures were amazing. We could help but buy all data CD. I would recommend it to anyone going to Kyoto.

Reply from activity provider

Hey Miwa, thank you for your visit! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience. We also appreciate you for purchasing the all data CD. If you have any chance visiting Kyoto, please come again! :) Haruka Kato

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome vacation experience!!

Reviewed by: Nikki, 2017/07/29

I had my Oiran makeover session this morning. I was excited but nervous because I am plus size and was afraid that nothing would fit me. I really wanted to do this so I went and I am so glad I did. The staff was very sweet and respectful and made proper adjustments to the outfit to make sure I looked great. They did a great job on my hair , which was in braids and makeup. The photographer helped me pose and made me feel so comfortable. I would highly recommend Esperanto Studio and will cherish my photos.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Rita, 2017/07/02

-Generally English is okay among the staff
-However, there happens to be a Chinese speaking Photographer as well who was extremely professional and amazing during the photoshoot
-The whole process was great. Makeup provided was also very professional. A great selection of Kimonos to wear. And they even provide skin care products for after the photoshoot
-Definitely would recommend to anyone. You wouldn't regret it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Oiran photoshoot experience!

Reviewed by: Michelle Staebler, 2017/04/29

Everything went incredibly well. I had an easy time making the appointment through Veltra. They also promptly made sure that I had everything ready before going to my appointment. Esperanto did everything above and beyond my expectations. My husband and I had a really good time at the shoot. Thank you both Veltra staff and Esperanto studio for making this a wonderful and fun experience for the both of us.

  • Thank you for making us look beautiful studio Esperanto!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy to use

Reviewed by: Michelle Staebler, 2017/04/08

Website is very helpful and easy to use. I registered for the couples experience at Esperanto studio in Kyoto. Everything went by smoothly. My husband and I had so much fun here.

  • Our photoshoot at studio Esperanto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Oiran Makeover experience you will have forever!

Reviewed by: Rose M. , 2016/11/12

The photographs from Esperanto speak for themselves! At first I wasn't sure if I wanted to do the maiko or the geisha photo shoot, but once I saw these photographs, I knew I wanted to go full oiran with Esperanto! The staff are super friendly and super professional, I cannot thank them enough for putting up with me and my family. They make you feel so at ease and like an important guest, so don't feel shy and go all out, you will look very beautiful. The makeup artists are super sweet and do an awesome job. The photographer was also very professional and helped me pose. I was a little worried, booking something out of the country like this, but it all went smoothly and I was able to get my photos and CD the same day. They went all out for me and I can't thank them enough! I've attached some photos that were taken with my cellphone. These photos don't do the professional photos of Esperanto justice. Go with Esperanto for a professional experience, it is worth it!

Rose M.

  • Taken with my cellphone, I love their work!

  • Taken with my cellphone, I love their work!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oiran make over photo shoot

Reviewed by: Chris, 2016/11/10

Went together with my sister. It was no problem finding the place by using Google Maps.The experience were really fun, you got to dress up and take photos like a real model. Although their english was not so good and my japanese is nothing to brag about it worked out fine. They helped you with instructions of how to pose to get the best Picture. We took first Photos by ourselves and then together, not too sure if it was included or they did it because we requested it. Although if given a second chance I would have selected the more expensive plan instead of plan A, since the other one got more kimonos and better hairstyles i would loved to have tried.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Oiran experience

Reviewed by: Aries, 2016/10/05

I really enjoyed my experience. The location was very easy to find. The staff was super friendly and so accommodating. My makeup/hair stylist was so nice and she spoke fairly good English. I wasn't too sure of the colors so I asked for her recommendation and the colors all turned out beautifully in the photos. You do need to wear your base make up because they only build on top of your make up instead of starting from a clean face. Also, I recommend a STRAPLESS BRA. The photographer spoke English as well and was able to clearly direct me throughout the photoshoot. She even took a photo for me and my friend during the 'free time' session and even directed our pose! I loved all the amenities provided afterwards and the facility was very clean. YOU NEED TO BRING YOUR OWN MAKE UP for when you're finished. They also give you a free name card! Of course, they don't allow you to take photos of photos of picture for obvious reasons but you can keep more photos for an additional cost. They also give 'free time' so you can take photos with your camera. An early appointment is better for foreigners. This studio does free touch ups on your photos if you request. Normally, they would mail the photos to your house if you reside in Japan. However, they will also retouch the photos for you to pick up between 6:30-8pm the same day for foreigners.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for coming to our studio the other day and for leaving a review!
The staff are glad you enjoyed the experience, and hope you will have a chance to visit Kyoto again in the future.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience Highlighting Our Kyoto Vacation!

Reviewed by: Gianni, 2016/08/17

The oiran makeover and photoshoot in Kyoto definitely marked one of our favorite memories for our first trip to Japan. The staff at Esperanto was very courteous and made it a smooth experience from check-in to photo selection, despite our not being able to speak Japanese. The experience was very private, and felt relaxed. Hair and makeup was a pleasure and the photographer was a definite pro! Loved all the shots and the service. Photos were wonderful! Esperanto even gave us a free, fourth photo when we went to pick up our photos! We would certainly do it again if we're in Kyoto in the future!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for coming to our studio the other day and for leaving a review!
The staff are glad you enjoyed the experience, and hope you will have a chance to visit Kyoto again in the future.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]