Kyoto & Nara 1-Day Tour to Arashiyama, Fushimi Inari & Nara Deer Park from Kyoto reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kyoto & Nara 1-Day Tour to Arashiyama, Fushimi Inari & Nara Deer Park from Kyoto

Overall Rating

4.29 4.29 / 5

Reviews

41 reviews
Post a review

Easy way to multiple attractions.

Reviewed by: Don't get lunch, 2020/02/12

Guide was good at giving instructions in English.
My only complaint is the lunch was not as advertised. It was supposed to be in 100 year old restaurant with good food. Instead it was in soul less contemporary building and the food was prepared and pretty bad compared to the usual wonderful food of Kyoto. Felt ripped off.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bad experience with the guide in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Alexandar Topalov, 2020/01/06

We had a really bad experience:
1.The bus came with a 30 min delay according to the information we had.There was no excuse and explanation about the reason for the delay from the guide.We were with 2 children and all of us were frozen while we are waiting for the bus.
2.During our way (all day) there was no information provided by the tour guide about the places we are visiting.I had not with me the program of the day and I was not informed where we are going,what we are seeing,etc.
3.First,we visited the Golden Pavilion but the guide did not explain anything about this place.We just walked around,took some pictures and came to the bus at the exact time.
4.The second place was Kyoto old town(or whatever it is)and we were informed that there is a surprise if we go on the right.I did not understand.A lady from the group was visiting Kyoto for the second time and recommended us where to go.
5.Lunch:perfect restaurant with perfect service!The food was very delicious and the place was chosen perfectly - authentic and unforgettable!Thank you!
6. I asked our guide:Do you speak English? He replied:A little.We booked our excursion with a guide with English but did not receive such a service.
7.Nara:The guide told us to came back to the bus at four eighty (4:80 p.m.) what a surprise...a new time.This guy really does not speak English!!! We asked him to write on a piece of paper the time he wants us to come back. He wrote 5:20 p.m.We were left in the park in Nara without any explanation of what we can see additionally,we just walked around and lost our time.
SORRY,we had a very bad experience for us in these beautiful places we would like to see. We are coming from Bulgaria which is far away from Japan and could not see and heard anything about Kyoto and Nara due to this guide who was not prepared. We are totally unsatisfied!
We wish you a lot of happiness and health during the new 2020!I believe you will pay attention to our feedback and this will not happen again.

  • The Golden Pavilion

  • Somewhere in Kyoto - we did not understand where...

  • Perfect restaurant - Thank you!

  • Is that the only place in Nara? We could not know...

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto and Nara Top Sights from Kyoto or Osaka

Reviewed by: Sas, 2019/06/14

Meeting place was easy to find and near the station. Our tour guide, Mike, was friendly and cheerful. This tour covers the most popular places in Kyoto and Nara- so if you only have a day, this tour is for you, even if it is a little hectic.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasant tour experience

Reviewed by: ABS, 2019/06/10

We liked that the schedule was kept tightly by all pax and tour leader Yen.

We also appreciate Yen volunteering to take pics of our big group in all the sights we visited.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto & Nara Tour

Reviewed by: Mike , 2019/05/29

Great tour. It’s a little fast for me but we’ll organized..

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Arturo, 2019/01/16

Just Fantastic!! Great tour leader and driver. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/12
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience compressed in timely fashion

Reviewed by: Halina from Canada, 2018/11/25

Good impression overall, thanks to our tour guide, who could manage very limited time window for each stop on the route, explaining all “do and not-do”, as needed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/21
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto and Nara top sights

Reviewed by: Kiet le, 2018/11/18

Bus came half hour late! The tour advertised as an English speaking tour but our very nice tour guide can only speak Chinese. So; stay away from this tour if you don’t speak Chinese.
We came to Nara so late that it was dark, the temple was closed. Could not take any pictures at all.
I had used VELTRA many times for this trip but this tour was a disaster and Veltra should refund our (party of six) money.

Reply from activity provider

Dear customer,

We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy our tour to Kyoto and Nara.

Please understand that the 30 minutes delay has been caused by customers who lost their way during one of the bus stops. Our bus can't leave if all the customers aren't on board.

This has caused a late arrival in Nara, where the Todai Temple last admission is at 16:30, something we have no control over. Please understand that, in Japan, the sun sets earlier than abroad.

The Kyoto and Nara tour is available in English only on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday. We are sorry if you missed seeing this important detail while making your reservation.

Best regards,
VIP TOUR Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Comprehensive tour of Kyoto and Nara for first-timers.

Reviewed by: Patricia , 2018/11/09

Covering the most frequented spots in Kyoto such as Fushimi Inari, Arashiyama and Kinkakuji, followed by a late afternoon noon tour of Todaiji in Nara Park, this tour is just right for visitors new to Kyoto-Nara. The tour is conducted in both English and Mandarin which the guide (Adrian) speaks fluently. While the pace seems a little rushed in the morning as this is packed with 4 destinations, and we returned to Osaka way later than the stated time, we were glad to have spent a fufilling day at a value price. This tour has the option of boarding/alighting and luggage storage at Osaka and Kyoto as the tour company operates lounges which provides comfort and convenience to tour participants.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]