(All Reviews) Gion Geisha District (Kyoto Top Attractions), Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Gion Geisha District in Kyoto

Overall Rating

4.55 4.55 / 5

Reviews

20 reviews

Gion Private Walking Tour and Dinner with a Maiko

Maiko tour

Reviewed by: Julian O'Donnell , 2019/09/15

Yoko was the perfect host and had a incredible afternoon and tea with a charming Maiko

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for your 5 star comment!
It was pleasure to hear you satisfied with the Maiko tour and Yoko's attendant.
I hope your safe back to your home and see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Chikako, WAK JAPAN

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Summer Beer Garden with Unlimited Drinks and Maiko Dance Performance in Gion

Great time!

Reviewed by: Kat, 2019/08/24

We had a wonderful time at this event. The beer was cold, the hotpot was tasty, and the maiko was very nice. I very much recommend this!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for the good review and coming the other day. it makes us confidence. When you visit Japan at next time, we hope to see you again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Summer Beer Garden with Unlimited Drinks and Maiko Dance Performance in Gion

Great experience, great price

Reviewed by: Stephanie, 2019/08/17

This was a great activity. The food and beer was delicious and filling and the entertainment was fantastic. We were able to talk with our Maiko for a few minutes and take a picture with her after her performance. We did not speak very much Japanese (only the very basics), but that did not diminish our experience. We had a great time, and it was nice we didn't have to spend a ton of money on one dinner like some other activities that are available with maiko. I would definitely recommend this if you'd like to meet a maiko and see her perform.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for coming the beer garden dinner the other day and also thank you for give us such a beautiful review!
We are so happy to hear that.
Our beer garden dinner is reasonable price compering with other maiko activities.
I am sure everyone will have fun even if you do not understand Japanese.
We are waiting for your next visit!

Best regards
Gion Shinmonso/Miyuki Koda

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Summer Beer Garden with Unlimited Drinks and Maiko Dance Performance in Gion

A highlight of my trip

Reviewed by: natasha, 2019/08/12

great unique experience! I lived in Japan for 4 years and this was something I never got to do.

Maiko spoke good English, which was a huge relief and surprise. Dance was cool, food was good, and the all you can drink alcohol was too much fun.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for coming the beer garden dinner the other day.
I was worried about meal(spicy beef hot pot dish), because we were not sure if you will like it.
But we are very glad to hear that!
We hold the beer garden dinner every summer season and look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Gion Shinmonso/Miyuki Koda

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Interesting

Reviewed by: Anait. Great Britain, 2019/05/10

Well organised event. Variety of activities which brought us closer to understanding Japanese culture- tea ceremonies, concert which included geisha dancing, playing different musical instruments, theatre and even ikebana arranging.
Zen-buddist dinner was good. Pick up and drop off was organised very well. We felt comfortable and looked after. Recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Lots of information, very enjoyable experience

Reviewed by: Ben, 2019/04/14

Very well organised tour, met in hotel by very friendly staff and taken to the Maiko performance. Was a good performance with a good overview of different cultural activities (Tea Ceremony, Plays etc.) but was definitely designed for tourists. Bit of a shame that everyone was taking photos and videos which distracted from the show which is probably our only criticism of the tour.

Then followed by a very good walking tour through Gion learning lots of information about the district, before having a delicious dinner. Highly recommend taking this tour if in Kyoto

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【京都祇園夏夜】舞妓京舞表演+美味黑毛和牛火鍋晚餐・啤酒花園之夜(含飲料無限暢飲+可拍照留念+7/11~8/31限定)

美麗的舞妓與精湛的京舞演出

Reviewed by: Victor, 2019/03/06

這是我第一次帶全家10人來到京都....
行前就在思考是否要安排特別的行程....
有鑑於之前有參加過VELTRA東京屋形船的活動....評價還不錯....
自然就在VELTRA京都的活動中搜尋....
透過祇園夏夜的活動....除了可以面對面與舞妓談天說地....同時也能欣賞到日本傳統的京舞....真的是很超值....對日本傳統文化有興趣的真的千萬別錯過了.....

  • 與美麗的舞妓合照

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【夏季限定】舞妓と祇園で過ごす ビアガーデン 旨口牛鍋コース 舞妓さんによる京舞の披露も♪ <7~8月/新門荘>

夕食をいただきながら、舞妓さん鑑賞とても素敵でした

Reviewed by: MIG, 2018/12/06

外国の方と一緒に参加。大変評判が良かったです。
夕食をとりながらの鑑賞で時間も節約。オススメの夏のアクティビティです。

  • 舞妓さんと一緒に記念撮影も可能です。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Great experience

Reviewed by: DReim, 2018/06/04

Food was great, show fun and tour guide excellent! I recommend this package!......................................................................................................................

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Maiko

Reviewed by: Kml , 2018/05/28

Very disappointed with gion corner maiko performance 1 mailing 2 dances. Tea house ceremony well explained and vegan meal ok

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Leora

Reviewed by: Leora , 2018/05/21

Tour guide was fantastic
Dinner was very enjoyable
Maiko perfornance and tea ceremony beautiful experiences
Overall a great job
Would have liked to see more maiko performance and less of the comedy performance. I didnt enjoy the comedy act in the show at gion corner
Thanks
Leora

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Una experiencia hermosa!

Reviewed by: Gisela, 2018/03/22

Hay que ser puntual porque arranca en un teatro, el conjunto de obras muestran costumbres típicas: arreglos florales, ceremonia del té, música y cierra con danzas típicas hechas por maikos: aspirantes a geishas.
Es muy interesante!
La cena deliciosa y la verdad que muy abundante también, muy amables todos.
La ceremonia del té privada es reducido en pasos pero muy interesante también, es una costumbre que está en vías de extensión lamentablemente.
Todos son muy coordiales y muy serviciales la verdad que la pasamos muy bien

  • Obra

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Fantastic night

Reviewed by: Alan, 2017/07/03

We were brought around Gion by a very pleasant and friendly guide, starting with a performance of traditional Japanese theatre crafts. This was very engaging and a good way to get the true scope of Japanese theatre. Afterwards we had a very enchanting walking tour through Gion, ending with a delicious meal and tea ceremony in one of Gion's restaurants. The teahouse was very historical and even had a small museum, which the staff guided us around. Our guide offered to arrange transport back to our accomodation, but we wished to walk around Gion for another while so she allowed us to do so. Our group had only around several people, which meant we had a very intimate experience. We would highly reccomend.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

A cultural experience

Reviewed by: AZQ, 2017/05/20

A very enjoyable tour of Gion and watching the Geisha dance. We enjoyed the dinner which was vegetarian a nice break after eating a lot of sushi and fish. The tea ceremony was the highlight conducted in a secluded room at the back of the house. We did this tour with a 3 year old and he enjoyed it and the staff very accommodating.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Reviewed by: Allison, 2017/04/11

Enjoyable show, dinner and tea ceremony. Unfortunately, as it was raining , the walk in the gion district a rather short .

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Kyoto tea ceremony

Reviewed by: Claire, 2016/06/04

Great evening , very authentic and a lovely experience .

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Reviewed by: Tatjana , 2013/11/30

It was an interesting tour. The guide was lovely. Evening show was interesting, the dinner was delicious and the ceremony lovely.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Reviewed by: Luke, 2010/09/17

I had a great experience and would recommend this to anyone that is going to Kyoto.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Reviewed by: Pattie, 2009/09/07

Best thing we did while visiting Japan! LOVED it - from the tea, to the tempura dinner to the plays at the Gion Center.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Evening Cultural Tour in Gion with Traditional Performances & Tea Ceremony

Reviewed by: Eva, 2009/08/30

Every one involved in the evening was very friendly and pleasant. We really enjoyed the evening.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Kyoto