This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Mangrove Canoeing and Tropical Canyoning Adventure from Taketomi

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

4 reviews (Post a review)

Amazing tour through beautiful scenery!

Reviewed by: Robin, 2018/08/03

This was such a great experience! The kayaking portion was on a gorgeous section of calm mangrove river, then we stopped by some lookout points before moving on to the canyoning. Canyoning was probably the highlight of the trip, swimming and jumping into river plunge-pools, with incredibly clear water and small fish all around.

The tour operator was excellent, lovely guy and explained/demonstrated everything very well (even in English!) so we never felt unsafe or unsure. Would absolutely recommend and do this again.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Robin F

Thank you for joining to our tour.
I'm very happy that a customer make smile for me.
This is big energy.
I do the training, and become stronger.

If you have a chance to come to Iriomote island again, Let's adventure together.

Daisuke

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Albert, 2018/06/08

We made reservation three days before the tour, and confirmation came very quickly. The confirmation letter contained all important details, such as the tour schedule, necessary things to bring, and pickup time. So we that we could prepare and didn't have to worry about anything.

Our guide, Daisuke, picked us from our hotel around 9am and together with two other tourists we went to his office to leave dress change and valuables in locker (free). Then we headed on car to the first river to do mangrove canoeing, which takes around an hour and brings you to a trail to the bottom of Painasara waterfall. At the bottom of Painasara waterfall you can swim in its cool water and relax after the trekking. After around 30 minutes spent at the waterfall and noodle lunch, we went back to the office along the same route.

At this point we were very tired, even though we didn't climb to the top of Painasara waterfall. However, the second part of the tour turned out to be so refreshing that it washed away our tiredness... Back at the office we had 30 minutes break and Daisuke prepared helmets and knee protection for canyoning.

After a 20 minutes ride, we arrived at different river where good fun started! Here you can jump into the mountain river from cliffs that are 2-5 meters above the water. Daisuke explained how to jump properly so that any injury is very unlikely. Don't be afraid! We were scared only before the first jump. There are around 3-4 places to jump and Daisuke allowed to jump several times at the same places. The canyoning gave us so much energy! The tour finished around 4 pm and we had enough time to get back to our hotel and prepare for dinner.

As a recommendation, I would insist to have at least 1 liter of water per person for the canoeing part. You can buy it at reasonable price from guides at the office. Shower is available at the office, so you can take it and change dress if you, for example, have to go to Ishigaki after the tour.

  • Canyoning

  • Mangroove canoeing

  • Canyoning

Reply from activity provider

Dear Albert

Thank you for joining to our tour.
Your comment gives me the big energy.
You were always a smiling face, I glad too.

If you have a chance to come to Iriomote island again, Let's adventure together.

Thank you very very much

Daisuke

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Service & Wonderful Views!

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2017/11/06

Due to our own physical and weather conditions, we had to give the canyoning portion a skip. The tour guide and staff were wonderful when it came to accommodating our requests! My friend and I were both down with a cold and not at our peak condition so they kindly changed portions of the tour (we had to skip canyoning because the water was too cold) to match our pace. I speak Japanese so we went with the Japanese-speaking guide (Taka-san) and he was very knowledgeable about the area and showed us the interesting features of the island during our hike to the Pinaisara falls. Much to our pleasant surprise, the lunch (okinawa style soba) was as delicious as the ones served at the restaurants too.

The highlight was definitely the mangrove canoeing. We were lucky in that we went during a season with comparatively little tourists so as the first to set off that day, it was like we had the entire river and mangrove to ourselves! Imagine the amazing pictures! There are apparently 7 types of mangroves on Iriomote Island alone and as many as 3 types can be easily identified on a small stretch of land. We were also very lucky to spot the local Ryukyu serpent eagle which is endemic to the region. There are only about 100 of them on Iriomote Island so we were definitely thanking our lucky stars to have spotted it and up close at that!

The 20 minute hike to the Pinaisara falls basin was quite interesting. Though we had to climb up the rocky steps, it made for an interesting rather than a tough hike. Taka kindly pointed out interesting flora and fauna that could not be spotted anywhere else in Japan.

I would definitely love to go back and try out the canyoning at another time :)

Reply from activity provider

Michelle sama

Thank you for your review.The best season of canyoning is from May to early September.Please come to Iriomote again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice trip!

Reviewed by: CWK , 2017/08/31

Thanks a lot to the staff. They are responsible and friendly. They prepared all life jacket, head torch, shoes for us. The lunch cooked by them is also delicious!
Canyoning is really exciting, thanks the staff for guiding us!

Reply from activity provider

Hello CWK
Thank you very much for your comment
If you have a chance to come to Iriomote island again, Let's adventure together.
Thank you very very much

Daisuke

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]