Ryukyu Dance and Okinawan Dinner Show at Urashima in Naha reviews, Okinawa Main Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Okinawa Main Island | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Ryukyu Dance and Okinawan Dinner Show at Urashima in Naha

Overall Rating

4.56 4.56 / 5

Reviews

34 reviews
Post a review

Talented Performers and Excellent Food

Reviewed by: Julianne, 2020/02/09

Finding the restaurant was incredibly easy and the staff were very welcoming and informative. We got excellent seats with a good view of the stage and the theatre (being a Monday night) wasn't very full either, so there was less noise and the staff were able to tend to us much more quickly.

We ordered the Okinawan "Basho" set with the Ise Ebi and it was definitely worth the 7000 yen or so. The food was cooked perfectly and each item was an Okinawan dish. If you want to try a good array of Okinawan food, this is the best place to do it! Each item is listed in English on a paper and also introduced as it's given to you.

The show was split into two thirty minute sections performed by three very talented ladies. The dances were vibrant and fun and even if you don't understand Japanese to listen to the explanations, the restaurant will give you those in English on paper prior to the start of dinner. We were able to take a photo with the performers at the end of the show.

This is a great way to both see traditional Okinawan dance and dress, but also a way to try all the delicious food at the same time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, Authentic Cultural Experience

Reviewed by: Alex, 2019/11/11

Exactly as advertised. There are two half-hour shows each with a set of five traditional Ryukyu dances. The food offered ranged from okay to very, very good depending on the dish. The reservation made through Veltra was processed very smoothly and service was attentive.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

good place to see traditional okinawa dance

Reviewed by: dharma kusuma, 2018/12/23

the food is good and the waiters so friendly
before you see the show they will give you an explanation paper so you could understand the meaning behind a dance
i really recomended this place if you want to see okinawa traditional dance

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Okinawan style dinner and dance!

Reviewed by: sahadchai gajaseni, 2018/10/14

Very entertaining performance and the service was incredible

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a wonderful time!

Reviewed by: Lee San, 2018/04/08

The show was beautiful and entertaining. Food was excellent. My 13 year old grandson wasn't a fan of the true Japanese cuisine, but the food was delicious for me. I would do this again. So, I recommend this to anyone wanting "real" Okinawan cuisine and a memorable evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A show to see!

Reviewed by: Masako, 2017/04/19

So beautiful, a good way to experience the culture of the Okinawan islands. Food is good, show is a must see!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful show

Reviewed by: Masako, 2017/04/19

A very beautiful show, a wonderful way to see the traditional al Ryukyuan dances. The meal is a perfect portion & wait staff very attentive.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time in Okinawa

Reviewed by: Adi, 2017/04/03

Me and a Japanese friend visited the restaurant after a day Exploring Naha city.

The place is pretty close to the nearest monorail station and the shop sign are pretty visible from the street so it was easy to spot.

The staff were really kind and helpful to us and had already set the table when we arrived with English menu and an English note with the explenation of the performances that night but when they realised my friend is Japanese they offered the Japanese ones to her!

Of course the performances were interesting and they covered a variety of dances over two acts giving you time to eat!

The set course was good and covered a vriety of dishes served in Okinawa but I was daring enough to order some extra unusual dishes off their menu such as the sea snake (as I discovered later, not my cup of tea!) and etc.

But over all the service, the performance and the food was good enough to recommend this to anyone visiting Okinawa and specially those who have no or little knowledge of the Okinawan culture!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely evening

Reviewed by: T.H, 2014/12/02

Booked the show to end a mother/daughter getaway trip. We were escorted to a excellent seat, where we enjoyed delicious food as well as traditional Ryukyu (Okinawan) buyo dance. For those who are not as interested in buyo dance, you may not have the same experience as we had, but for those who are, I guarantee that you made the right choice and will enjoy your evening.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]