This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Churaumi Aquarium and Ryukyu Village Bus Tour with Dinner Course from Naha

Overall Rating

4.274.27 / 5

Reviews

22 reviews (Post a review)

Churaumi Aquarium/RyuKyu Village Trip

Reviewed by: Alphonso, 2019/05/10

The overall trip was good but could have been better if the tour guide (facilitator) spoke a language, preferably English for the tourists other than Japanese. Recommend the guests from the area wear the headphones with the translated language. There were times when the facilitator made comments that only the Japanese guests understood and laughed at leaving the US guests clueless as to what was said.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting experience, but nothing special. Skip the dinner though as they serve horrible, cold tempura.

Reviewed by: Wojtek, 2019/04/18

An experience was described as “only providing basic english”, which in full fairness should rather be described as “providing no english support apart from prerecorded audio guide”. This is not a big deal, but something definitely missing from the description. It was still interesting to learn something about Okinawa through these guides and losten to the okinawian guide singing in japaneese during the trip.

The aquarium visit was great, however effectively you spend only less than 2hours there as a parking lot is far away from it, and organizer does no have tickets before hand so they need to actually buy and distribute them thus unnecessarily shortening the experience.

Rest of the trip is as advertised.

However, dinner in Ukushima is something worth mentioning, while it was an interesting experience, they serve *the worst* tempura Ive ever eaten, this is below any reasonable food standards, I never decided to not eat something in Japan; this was the first, and hopefully the last time.

Long story short- go to aquarium, dont expect anyone to speak even word of english and dont book the dinner.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasant experience if you're short on time

Reviewed by: Dolores, 2019/02/12

We spent a very nice day on this tour. I liked that it has many stops, and the variety of things to see in just one day is high. I just didn't like that our "activity timer" started while we were still riding the bus, or while we were walking together as a group to aquarium and waiting for tickets.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Warning for english patrons.

Reviewed by: xyzzy, 2018/10/18

The tour was supposed to have English audio guide however the equipment did not work (dead batteries) with no backup.
This made it quite difficult to hear the explanation while seeing the sights.

Reply from activity provider

Hello xyxxy! sorry for hear about that, we will update our equipment, hope you can enjoy next time. Thank you very much.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yuki is AWESOME!

Reviewed by: Cali Yonsei, 2018/07/12

Despite the limited and overall rubbish english guide device, a non-Japanese speaker like myself REALLY enjoyed my time on this tour. That is, if you're lucky enough to get Yuki as your guide - she is the one that really deserves this outstanding rating. She really went above and beyond not only sharing facts and local stories of the surrounding area but performing traditional song and dance too. It was really great and engaging. I wouldn't want to ruin any of the surprises she has on the tour but it only gets better! Otherwise, it is a standard tour a little more time here and there would have always be better. Overall great value!

Reply from activity provider

Hello Cali Yonsei! Sorry for our bad English guide device, we are going to upgrade it all, thank you for joining and we hope see you soon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Christine, 2018/06/23

Wonderful service and we’ll worth the price. Everything was timed well. We didn’t feel like things were rushed but just the right amount of time. We had 2.5 hours at the aquarium, enough for a quick lapse all around, get lunch and watch the dolphin show and eat ice cream. Other locations were great as well! The only thing was the bus ride is a bit long at first and the only language spoken is Japanese but there is a staticky English audio guide you can listen to. They should consider upgrading their audio devices! Overall so worth the value paid and the guide is probably one of the nicest and upbeat person I’ve ever met.



Reply from activity provider

Hello Christine! Thank you for joining our bus tour, yes we are going to upgrade our audio devices, thank you for your opinion and we hope see you soon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great sights let down by poor technology and poor service

Reviewed by: James , 2018/06/18

The places we visited were great ! Had time to catch the dolphin show and a dance and a song performance, though wished we could have more time to catch the divers at the Aquarium and the parade at Ryukyu Village but managed to pose for photo with the performers. Perhaps the guide had highlighted these performances in Japanese but most of us overseas tourists were lost as the audio English translation was a total washout! I'm amazed that such a technologically and quality conscious country could have a tour company which absolutely disregards the experience of overseas visitors.

There were two other incidents which highlighted the inflexible service attitude. An elderly lady was seated with her family in the last row and her son tried to change a seat nearer the front for her as she was not comfortable. The company told him that changes were not allowed. Later she saw that there were a few vacant seats in front and one local tourist was occupying two seats!
Another lady needed to go to the toilet urgently as the first stretch covered nearly two hours between boarding the coach and the Kouri Island bridge. She had to wait for quite long after telling the guide, and had to personally tell her again to see if the coach could stop at a petrol kiosk and it eventually stopped at a Family Mart outlet and three ladies quickly alighted. When two elderly men tried to do so, they were stopped and the coach eventually reached Kouri Island 20 minutes later.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

worth it ! but the translator machines are down.

Reviewed by: tan , 2018/05/01

very worth it. and on time d tour. just that the translators machines are not working

Reply from activity provider

Hello, tan
thank you for your comment
we are so sorry to hear that your machines are not working
we regularly check the translators machines,
We will increase the times of inspections on the translators machines.
Thank you for your opinion.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Northern Tour of Okinawa

Reviewed by: Tamashiro Family, 2018/04/22

We wish we had more time at the Aquarium and Ryukyu village. Not much time was left for shopping. Other than that we really had nice time.
Thank you.

Reply from activity provider

Hello,Tamashiro Family
thank you for your suggestion,
we might always feel the happy time is short.
the one day bus tour basically stay at the aquarium for 150 minutes, Ryukyu Village for 60 minutes, and okashigoten for 30 minutes.
We will consider your suggestions to shorten the time to shopping.
we hope to bring you much better memories next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good time for the price.

Reviewed by: Brandon, 2018/04/15

Probably the only complaint I have is that the tour doesn't give you nearly enough time at each place. Manzamo and Kouri are especially bad, because 10 minutes really isn't enough to take in those places' beauty.

Reply from activity provider

Hello, Brandon
thank you for your comment and your advice
we will think about to extend the time of Manzamo and Kouri island,
hope to see you next time and bring you an unforgettable journey.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Convenient and informative (or as much as it could’ve)

Reviewed by: Wandering in Okinawa, 2018/03/12

I took this tour in Okinawa and I’m glad that I did. The tour guide did her best to talk to me in English. The tour provided some audio guides that didn’t always work, but when it did, provided some interesting tidbits and facts. Some of the time allotted at the different sites were a bit short, but considering how many places we visited in a short time, it was well worth it.




Reply from activity provider

Hello, this is cerulean blue
We are very glad to hear that you had a good trip with our service.
Hope to see you again!
Thank you very much.

Best regards,
cerulean blue

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very entertain tour

Reviewed by: Linchy, 2018/03/01

We’re very enjoyed this tour even the meeting point was difficult to find but we can found the bus on time. A Japanese tour guid is very friendly, she sings and dances very well while we are on the bus tour. Churaumi Aquarium is so big. Recommend this tour if you want to have a nice trip with many wonderful place in one day.

Reply from activity provider

Hello, Linchy

Thank you for participating in our tour.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoy the danced and the songs of our tour guide.
About the meeting point, if you lost the way you can call us any time.
We hope to see you again.

Best regards,
cerulean blue

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Japanese guide!

Reviewed by: Joan, 2018/02/25

Guide was very service oriented and nice. Spoke mainly Japanese, audio does not work but could understand instructions from guide :) Good tour program.

Reply from activity provider

Hello, Joan

Thank you for the participating in our program.
We very glad to hear that you had a nice trip.
Hope to see you soon!

Best regards
cerulean blue

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour if you don't have a car

Reviewed by: BSW, 2018/01/13

This tour is packed with attractions that are not close to Naha. Since we didn't have a car, it was the most convenient way for us.

The seats are assigned on the bus and even off season it was completely full. Everyone was on time after each attraction so that was good.

The highlight was seeing the whale sharks in the aquarium. The wait for the reserved tables closest to the tank was about 10 min. We got just enough time at the aquarium because we didn't read anything. If you have kids or want to see the shark feedings then this will not work.

Almost all of the demonstrations at the ryukyu village were done by the time we got there. We caught part of a "show" and bought snacks and souvenirs.

You get an audio guide for minimal descriptions of different areas as we were traveling on the bus.

Reply from activity provider

Hello, BSW
thank you for share your feelings with us
thank you!
Looking forward to see you next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great value for money tour!

Reviewed by: Dominic, 2017/11/27

We had limited time in Okinawa and did not have access to a car so this tour was perfect for us. To get to the aquarium from Naha alone costs nearly 4,000 yen return, plus the aquarium entrance fee and you're looking at nearly 6,000 yen for one attraction. This tour, however, included the aquarium, Kouri Island as well as the ryukyu village, so was great value for money. It would've been nice if we could have spent more time on Kouri Island as we only got 20 mins so it felt very rushed. Aside from that though it was a pleasant experience. I speak Japanese so the tour language was not an issue, but it's worth noting that the tour guide only speaks Japanese (audio guides in Chinese/English/Korea also available)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was fun, but rushed.

Reviewed by: Nakamotomom, 2017/11/02

All in all the tour was good, but it felt very very rushed. We didn't get to spend much time in some of the best spots for example the aquarium and Ryukyu Village. Our time at the village was disappointing. It was late in the day and there wasn't much left to do because everything was closing. We wish we had more time there to really experience it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour guide !!!

Reviewed by: M Leo, 2017/10/30

Cover most of the places stated, except some place time is shorter then expected, i guess due to the traffic jam was a bit bad that day..overall, a good tour to join. Great Tour guide Lady, thumb up for her.


  • Awesome aquarium!


  • Beautiful Manza Beach

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good for visitors who have limited time in Okinawa

Reviewed by: Burak, 2017/10/16

The places that we visited were wonderful. If you have limited time in Okinawa this tour gives you the opportunity to visit the must see places in Okinawa. As it is designed mainly for Japanese tourists, information in English is very limited and you can only use audio guide in the bus. It would be better to get information about the places that will be visited in the tour before joining it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Satisfactory

Reviewed by: Sheiloh, 2017/09/09

It was a really amazing tour, for we were able to cover a lot of famous spots. The only thing I would have wanted was to have atleast more time given in Churaumi Aquarium. Two hours maximum would have let the guests go around the area, plus the Dolphin Show. :D


  • Cape Manza


  • Churaumi Aquarium

Reply from activity provider

Hello, Sheiloh
thank you for your comment
We will refer to your opinion to extend the time of the aquarium.
Looking forward to your next visit!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun tour, great destinations!

Reviewed by: Rin, 2017/04/30

The tour is in Japanese, but our guide was still helpful in making sure we understood what time we needed to be back at the bus. It's a packed tour with great destinations. You won't be able to explore each place at your leisure, but the time allocated for each place is enough to see the main attractions, get some souvenirs and get back to the bus. All the places were fun to visit. Pick-up and drop-off were easy.

Reply from activity provider

Hello, Rin
thank you for your response and share your feeling to us.
we are very happy that you had a good time in Okinawa
Looking forward to see you next time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good Tour!

Reviewed by: Eichbaum-sama, 2017/02/15

Price ist perfect. If you would travel by normal bus, only the bus prices would make about 40$. There are no extra costs, every fare is included. Very friendly guide!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most enjoyable!

Reviewed by: Mavis fly'n Hawaiian, 2016/04/03

We didn't want to take the time or effort to catch public transportation to these places so we decided to take this tour. Very glad we did! No stress and just enough time allotted at each stop. Escort was very sweet and even entertained us with music and singing! Well worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Okinawa Main Island Categories