Beginner Friendly Okinawa Mangrove River Kayaking Adventure in Higashi reviews, Okinawa Main Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Okinawa Main Island | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Beginner Friendly Okinawa Mangrove River Kayaking Adventure in Higashi

Overall Rating

4.66 4.66 / 5

Reviews

97 reviews
Post a review

Super fun adventure

Reviewed by: Jas, 2019/07/19

My friend and I took part in the mangrove and sea kayak combo tour and they were both awesome! You can totally feel the difference while paddling through the river and the sea. Unlike our experience kayaking in other countries where you're basically thrown into the water, our guide taught us how to steer, lead the way, took pictures and kept an eye on us the entire time so it felt extremely safe.

Even if you don't understand Japanese, it's definitely worth a try! With the mangroves disappearing on various parts on earth, I felt this was a very important and valuable experience.

Reply from activity provider

Hi ! Jas !
Thank you for your comment
I was very happy to be able to talk to you a lot that day
You were very impressive to me
The story of root beer was interesting for me

I wanted to talk more because I am interested in English
I hope to see you again someday
Thank you very much

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Educational and fun!

Reviewed by: Andre, 2019/06/09

Guide was friendly, helpful, explained everything in English well. Kayaking was not difficult!

Bring water and sunscreen!

Reply from activity provider

Hi ,Andre!
Thank you for comment!
I remember you well
I was able to spend very wonderful time!
I look forward to seeing again!

from Kinjyo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and easy way to explore the mangroves!

Reviewed by: WENHUI, 2018/11/29

Our family of 4 with 2 young boys age 11 & 8 had fun for this excursion! The kayaks are stable and easy to navigate. Our tour guide Ken was patient and knowledgeable in sharing with us information about mangroves and the animals around here. All in all, it was a good hour plus for everyone!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your comment!
I remember the time with you well
It was a very wonderful time.
Someday I would be happy to be able to join your mother and grandma together this time
Thank you!

by ken

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Melissa , 2018/11/28

This tour is great! It was a nice morning slowly kayaking through the mangrove forest. The guide, Sho, was friendly, informative and not overbearing. I appreciated all the pictures he took of us as well. Highly recommended:)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for commenting! I remember you well !! It was a wonderful time!!
I am looking forward to seeing you again someday
Thank you

by syo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip!

Reviewed by: Jake, 2018/05/29

This was a great trip for our family and a few extra kids for our son's birthday. The trip began into the Mangrove trees where we got to see some of the wildlife up close. Our guide, Yumi, was very knowledgeable of the ecosystem, and provided great information. She spoke English very well. We moved out of the Mangroves and into the bay, where we were able to jump off the kayaks and swim for a bit. We finished with a little more discussion about the open ocean, and headed back to the starting point.

The facility has small lockers, which is fine if you leave your items in your vehicle. They do have showers and changing rooms available. This is a long trip, so make sure you wear sunscreen and are able to cover up. Also, depending on the weather, this could be a somewhat difficult trip for done people. My family and I all had a great time, and would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your review. I’m so glad to read it!! Because it is the best happiness for me that guests enjoy in nature of Higashi village. There are a lot of nature in North island of Okinawa. I’m looking forward to seeing you again someday. Thanks. Yumi Enishii

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Green oasis

Reviewed by: Erika, 2017/08/14

The half day kayak tour was a great expirence - big recomondation! We took the tour on a weekday and were lucky enough to have the river almost for ourselfs. Our guide spoke good english and told us a lot about the mangroves. After crusing the magroves we also went out on the sea which was a lot of fun. If you attend this tour I highly suggest planning in some time afterwards to als visit the nearby beach - it is quite hidden, but very beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mangrove beginner

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/06/24

We had a great time. Got to see mud skippers and other creatures up close, nice scenery. It rained a little but surprisingly the rain made it even better, a very fitting scene. Will do again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable

Reviewed by: Alex, 2016/09/08

Despite a steady rain, we enjoyed our tour. However, there was no English-speaking tour guide, and the rest of the staff only spoke a small amount of English, so we did not have the advertised experience. We speak enough Japanese to get around, but are not conversationally fluent. Also, we booked the tour a day ahead of time, so it is possible that the English speaking guide was not available on short notice, though that was never explained to us.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Rewarding and Satisfying!

Reviewed by: Joe Kim, 2015/08/12

I would recommend this activity to anyone visiting Okinawa. The only downside was that the GPS led us to route 331, which was probably the faster way to Higashi-son. However when route 331 met up with the east cost, the road was closed due to an avalanche by the hills. So we had to go west again and take route 14 through the mountains. Perhaps Yambaru Club could post a sign by the route 58 - 14 junction so everybody can take the correct route. Other than that, everything was fine. It was nice to get the pictures from the trip through a CD made right away afterwards. Thank you again for the precious experience during our trip to Okinawa.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful!

Reviewed by: Jens, 2015/07/01

We went as family with our kids (7&8) to the 2.5 hrs kayak tour. Awesome experience! Also the english speaking guide was very passionated! Excellent experience to dive into Okinawa nature aside of all tourist activities!!! Also small group just four boats!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First kayaking experience

Reviewed by: Miadora, 2015/03/04

I went with my 60-something mother, and it was her first experience with kayaking. See said it was really fun, and even in late December it was nice and warm.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Okinawa Main Island Categories