WiFi Router Rental with Tokyo Hotel Delivery Included (2-Day to 30-Day Plans)

Essential for our trip and easy to use

Reviewed by: Anna, 2017/06/24

Our Veltra mobile wi-fi was waiting for us when we arrived at our hotel in Tokyo and served us very well during our entire trip. We got around great on our self-guided trip through Japan with the help of google maps and other apps and were able to keep in touch with family and friends back home. To preserve battery life, we often only turned it on when needed and carried a portable charger for times when we wanted to use it for more hours in the day (although it was never really needed, except for charging my phone). The price was very reasonable, including the delivery charge, drop-off at Narita Airport was easy, and it worked perfectly throughout our trip. I highly recommend this service.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Wifi

Reviewed by: Yoshi, 2017/05/07

This is second time to use pocket WIFI from Veltra.. I really enjoy this service especially in Japan .
My home town in Hokkaido, and mother have no internet, so this pocket wifi is so important for me to keep in touch with family in US. Thanks to Veltra :-)


  • Great views of cherry blossom in Tokyo !


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reliable wifi router for my trip

Reviewed by: Chris, 2017/04/30

Veltra got the wifi unit delivered to my Tokyo hotel so I was able to start using it right after I checked in. I had brought my own spare battery to ensure that the charge would last through the day and the unit did everything I needed it to during my 3 weeks of travel. I would recommend this for both convenience and price. I returned the unit at the airport at their counter, but they also had an option wherebi could have dropped it in the mail in Japan before taking off. I opted to keep it until the airport so that I could still use it at Narita.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding in every way!

Reviewed by: TokyoWedding2017, 2017/04/28

We rented a portable router for 2 weeks and couldn't believe how excellent the overall experience was. Easy to book and pay in advance, delivery to our hotel as promised, incredible strong router signal wherever we went, including subways, trains, elevators, etc. Our group had 10 devices on at one point and we couldn't believe how well it worked. Used skype instead of cell phones and left our cells on airplane mode throughout the trip. We dropped it off at Narita airport without a hitch when we flew home to Canada. Saw a lot of complaints in other reviews about problems with how long the battery lasted, but we didn't have any problems and only had to recharge it once during the day with our back up portable battery charger, after a very long day. Will definitely use this service wherever we can in the future! Wish they had it in Canada!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent service

Reviewed by: L.Tamashiro, 2017/04/23

The wifi router worked perfectly. Used it in Yokohama and Tokyo. Delivered it to my Hotel and I returned it at a 7/11. Battery lasted at least 8 hours. I'll use this again on my next trip to Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Wifi!!

Reviewed by: Brandon, 2017/03/25

This was a great pick! It was easy to operate and Veltra service was amazing. The wifi device was available when I checked-in to my hotel and easy to return. I recommend their services for families or even individuals looking to have wifi available when exploring Japan. Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FANTASTIC

Reviewed by: Renee , 2016/10/31

This has really improved my experience in Japan. It was delivered to my address here in Japan. And I take everywhere since I cannot unlock my US iPhone. It's made a huge difference.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Should be on your packing list to Japan....

Reviewed by: opm, 2016/09/30

Good signal throughout Tokyo except when you are in subway stations. Mailed to hotel and ready for use right after checked in. Save you lot of times finding direction if you are not fluent in Japanese. My party had 2 iphones signed into the mobile wifi. The power lasted around 6-8 hrs depending on usage. Easy return, just drop off at Haneda International Terminal on the 2nd Floor. Will definitely rent again if going to Japan in the near future.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great pocket wifi

Reviewed by: Kim M, 2016/09/25

Portable wifi was great to have! Helped us negotiate thru Japan...we connected several devices...good to carry a portable battery if you use wifi as much as we did...
Device was ready for us when we checked into our hotel and we kept it right up until we were
Leaving Japan, with easy drop off at the airport. Would definetly use Ventura again and again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wireless Router

Reviewed by: Stephanie , 2016/09/24

The delivery of the router........outstanding!
The function of the router........outstanding!
The return of the router......very easy
We would use Veltra again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Elizabeth, 2016/08/03

Highly recommended. The pocket WiFi was delivered to our hotel in Shinjuku the day we arrived. It works great, very fast. Helps us go on Google map to navigate through all the streets of Tokyo and use Yelp to pick restaurants. It does drain the phone battery though, but we used it for 4 hours straight. Over all this is an extremely helpful device to have, especially for tourists. Very affordable. We got it for 7 days

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Sue, 2016/06/04

The unit was available for us at our first hotel. Instructions are very clear. I am of the opinion that it has saved us having to get cell service here. We were able to check train schedules and use google maps when we were unsure of our location. The wifi was dependable in all areas of Japan. I would highly recommend your company and will use it again when we return. Thanks.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty OK But could not use it all day

Reviewed by: Lily, 2016/04/28

I could log my sister and my phones but then the battery would drain if we used it all day so I would have to shut it off and on or else the router would get super hot. I have to say though, this has been a lifesaver for our trip because addresses are very hard to find in Tokyo!.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worked great and easy to use

Reviewed by: Shawn , 2016/04/10

Worked well for the entire time I had it. Was waiting at my hotel at check in.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Veltra is Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: Jay, 2016/04/09

Best service and 100% reliable!! We used out pocket wifi all over Japan with 0 problems!!! A+++


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Service was good, but the WiFi dies so quickly...

Reviewed by: C.S., 2016/03/24

My trip was scheduled at the very last minute for my business, and I requested this device right away. But it took a few days for them to process my request, and I had to go without it for the first 2.5 days. It finally arrived on my 3rd day of this trip in the afternoon.

The device worked well, but it dies so quickly. After it was fully charged, it can work about 4, 5 hours depending on how much you use it. I felt like that was too short. I own a pocket WiFi (hot spot) in the U.S., and that lasts all day. So I was really disappointed about it.

The return process at the airport was very simple and easy. I appreciate that because I had a lot stuff to carry with me.

I would say this plan was good overall because of the price. I paid about $60 for 10 days, and it was cheaper than other options I had.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy to use and great Pocket WiFi

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2016/03/05

I used in Tokyo where free WiFi is very difficult to find.
The device was waiting for me at hotel, fully charged ready to use.
Very easy to use and very convenient.
I highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very helpful

Reviewed by: Melissa, 2016/03/05

My fiancee and I really depended on it when traveling all over Japan. I also was able to upload my photos everyday so my family and friends could enjoy them

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great wifi rental deal

Reviewed by: AWAT, 2016/01/10

This is the second time we used this rental service, & altho we encountered some hiccups on our 1st time, everyone was so gracious & helpful in trying to resolve the situation that we ordered again. Plus, it really is a good deal compared to other services. This time around, there were no problems except for some due to Japan's spotty wifi service & not this rental - you will encounter some areas that are difficult to get wifi, but this will likely happen with any mobile wifi. We will likely order this again on our next trip to Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very convenient

Reviewed by: Tokyolover, 2016/01/10

Shipped it to me on time and easy to ship it back.
The price can be lower.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

POCKET WIFI ROUTER

Reviewed by: khc, 2015/12/27

Fantastic WIFI, easy to access & returned after use. Will recommend more friend to use when they travelling to Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommended!!!!

Reviewed by: Wheng, 2015/12/25

The pocket wifi router was waiting for me upon my arrival at the hotel. My devices instantly connected to the router without hassle. It is a must have when you are in Japan. Was very handy and devices were constantly connected to the internet. Would definitely rent again. Thank you for outstanding service!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pocket wifi rental

Reviewed by: Selma A. , 2015/11/21

I rented a pocket wifi during my last trip to Tokyo. The reservation was done online and the device was ready for me when I checked into the hotel. Very easy to set up and I had constant internet connection. Very helpful when shopping, using the GPS, or maneuvering the subway system! Drop off was easy as well. I could drop it off at any convenient store but since I was provided a prepaid envelope, my hotel let me dropped off at the counter at check out.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It's fast and works really well.

Reviewed by: petrucciani, 2015/11/16

I rented a router via veltra after reading good reviews here. I had my unit shipped to my friend's place in Tokyo, and it was waiting for me there.

I turned on the router (it was fully charged), Find ID in my laptop and iphone settings, and I was good to go. I had no problem during my stay.

It says "Pocket WiFi Router Rental in Tokyo" but actually you can use anywhere in Japan. It worked great in Kyoto, Hiroshima, Nagasaki etc.

I'll use it again next time. Thanks!


  • drop-off the router at the airport departure floor before checking-in


  • looking up google map to find my way


  • can share photos anytime

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Customer Service and EASY, GREAT, FAST Wi-Fi!

Reviewed by: iHEARTtravel, 2015/10/31

VELTRA is arguably the best place to get a reliable and fast Pocket Wi-Fi in Tokyo. It was so easy!I had it delivered to my rented apartment, and we did have a missed delivery. However, VELTRA has excellent customer service, and redelivered it the next day with multiple communication emails in between. I was impressed. I can't praise them enough.

The Wi-Fi is LTE, works ALL over Japan (I took it with me to Osaka and Kobe for 3 days) battery life is great, so convenient, and the price for a two week rental CANNOT BE BEAT! It is such a great service, and wonderful to have in Japan. I can't tell you how many times I needed a reliable Wi-Fi connection to access maps, TripAdvisor, GuruNavi, and Google on my cell phone and tablet.

It is about the size of a small bar of soap, boots up fast, and the battery life lasts almost the entire day. It comes in a zippered pouch with charger and cable, and even some discount tourist coupons. You just match up the Wi-Fi name in your devices, and enter in the password and save. Your devices will automatically hook up to it every time it's on. EASY.

The price of rental was better than every other site I checked on the internet, and delivery was simple. The best part was returning the unit: You pack it in the included envelope and fill out the return address form, and walk to your nearest Lawson, 7-Eleven, or FamilyMart konbini, and give it to the clerk. (Your neighborhood convenience stores are used as Post Offices) They fill out some info on the return slip, stamp it, and send it back for you. SO EASY!!

Thank you VELTRA for the convenient, reliable Wi-Fi! I will definitely use VELTRA again the next time I'm in Tokyo. I highly recommend renting this Wi-Fi, I had such a great experience. VELTRA, You have just made a lifelong travel customer. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

EXCELLENT POCKET WIFI THAT GETS ME CONNECTED TO INTERNET EVERYWERE AND ANYTIME

Reviewed by: JOE015, 2015/10/22

I can't wait to write this review. The pocket wifi is amazing work of technology. It is so simple and yet powerful stuff. I am a wonder to myself and to get connected to Internet everywhere I go within the city. I don't have to rush back to my hotel for anything ( especially alongside my power bank). Once I hit the road, the hotel people never see my back until close to midnight. Yet, this pocket wifi never looses its power. Thank you and thank you. It makes my holiday a memorable one.

I highly recommend this Pocket wifi to anyone that want to have a fun filled holiday .

Unfortunately after my above review, my bag was stolen and this pocket wifi was one of the items lost. The company charged me ¥31000 for the lost router! Please keep the router securely at all times.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wifi pocket rental tokyo

Reviewed by: Sabs, 2015/09/26

Reliable service. Easy set up and return. Was a life saver while traveling all around Japan. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very useful device when traveling in Japan

Reviewed by: Yna Cuartero, 2015/09/20

We rented Veltra's pocket wifi for 7 days. we asked that it be dropped off in our hotel. however, upon arriving in the hotel, we were informed by the front desk person that it has not arrived yet (that was around 11am). I was actually expecting that it will be there when we arrived, so this was quite disappointing for me. however, when our time for our check in has come, the receptionist handed it to me already (around 1pm), so i was happy already.

it was very useful especially when navigating around Japan. it helped us check the right routes to take. it was able to save us when we almost got lost when we accidentally missed our train stop.

We were not able to use the device however for one day because there was no signal. this was in Koyasan. Not a big deal however, because the place was small and we did not need it much for navigation.

The drop off was also very easy - we just left it in a box in their small booth in KIX airport.

Overall, we will still use Veltra when we go back to Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pocket wifi rental for 3 days

Reviewed by: Imee, 2015/08/08

Hi! The transaction process went smooth - delivery was also timely. However, we were not happy with the fluctuating connection experienced in different areas of Tokyo. It was very frustrating because we rented a pocket wifi to make our travel easier - but it did not happen.

Would not recommend.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for choosing our service.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced.

We would like to let you know that there are some cases you may experience low connection or difficult to connect through WiFi, such as crowded places, bad weather condition, or if you are staying in the highest building.

we understand that it was difficult for you to connect WiFi, so you cannot contact us while you were traveling in Japan.

Again, we are very sorry for the inconvenience it may cause you.

We are doing to try our best in the future to give costumer a very good service.

Thank you very much for your valuable feed back,and we all appreciate it.

We are hoping for your kind consideration and happy to serve you again.

Best regards,

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very convenient

Reviewed by: Tokyolover, 2015/07/07

WiFi worked great in Japan. It was delivered to my parent's house and return it to nearest postal place. There is no extra charge for delivery. Including returning it.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for using our service. We hope to see you again soon. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Tokyo Categories