This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Japanese Indigo Dyeing or Batik Traditional Dyeing Workshop in Asakusa

Overall Rating

4.804.80 / 5

Reviews

5 reviews (Post a review)

Informative and fun. Love my shirt!

Reviewed by: Kathleen, 2018/11/30

I booked the class online only a few days beforehand, and when I arrived, I discovered I was the only participant. Having the opportunity to have one-on-one attention was great, if a little daunting!

The instructor talked me through some history of the use of indigo, and then through a few different techniques, including the use of a stencil and tie-dye techniques. Then we dyed my shirt and rinsed it out. I am very proud of the result, and can't wait to wear it!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Batik and indigo dyeing @Wanariya

Reviewed by: Tokyo ‘newbie’, 2018/03/29

Took my own sketches and translated them to my ( mini !!) tote bag ..Had had some previous experience of batik but years ago ..
Enjoyed activity ..could get ‘hooked’ and return for some future tie-dyeing !!
Would want a larger tote if I re-did the same activity but tie-dyeing a cloth or t-shirt could also be great..


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Get into the Blue!

Reviewed by: Granger, 2018/01/29

Great 90 minute activity for anyone. Everything is provided, the process is divided into logical easy steps and the staff cleans up after! The instructors are wonderfully enthusiastic and positive. My group did the towels and everyone was pleased and proud of their results. Close to Asakusa...makes for a morning well spent.


  • Bigger on the inside


  • Go Blue!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice activity

Reviewed by: OhChiik, 2017/10/22

We had a nice time making bags. Although it would have been nicer to have more detailed instruction, the staff was very kind and helpful during the workshop.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great keepsakes!

Reviewed by: Melissa G., 2017/05/14

A lot of fun to make our own patterns with wax and then dye the bags ourselves. The instructor went to great lengths to help us protect our clothes and skin from the dye, which we appreciated. Very fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories