This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Fun Sumie Ink Painting Lesson in Tokyo with English Speaking Instructor

Overall Rating

4.914.91 / 5

Reviews

7 reviews (Post a review)

Attended as (Solo Travelers) Reviews

Fun!

Reviewed by: C. Victoria, 2018/07/04

Had so much fun with this.The instructor was very clever teaching and has a lot of knowledge around the history of the art. Good sense of humor and his English is good. Absolutely worth my time.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Gray, 2018/05/15

I really learned something about how to handle the brush for sumi painting. The teacher was terrific to work with, very positive and engaged. I would like to take the next lesson. Wonderful view of the world through painting.


  • The teacher led me through making this

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: William, 2017/09/17

I would highly recommend taking this class. I love sumi-e ink paintings from before, for their graphic powerful qualities. Back home I had painted a bit from before, making myself familiar with the medium and some techniques - but - this was exactly the sort of introduction I was hoping for.

The teacher was super friendly, helpful and fun. He thought me different techniques to use, stories about how sumi-e came to Japan, and the philosophy behind the art form. Our talks were super inspiring and I know I will take up painting once I'm back home again later this year. There, all my washi papers will await me, bought in Tokyo at a great art store I got directions to after the class.

Really, thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sumie Ink painting lesson

Reviewed by: Lynette, 2016/11/29

This lesson was a very enjoyable experience, with a bit a history included. I was the only one in the class and would highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/01
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Johanna Hazan, 2016/10/21

Yuta was a very kind, very patient and very interesting person to meet.
Through painting he taught us the symbolism of Japan. The time flew by so quickly that I can back for a second time.
Sumie is a craft that I will bring back with me home.i will continue to draw and practice the techniques you showed. I am very grateful for this experience

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, Practical and Relaxing Introduction to Sumie

Reviewed by: Aaron Eames, 2016/08/28

The location is close to the station, maybe three minutes from the nearest exit, and the shop itself is easy to find being on the main road. The session itself takes place in the shop/atelier, the walls lined with sumie works on general sale. In the lesson I learnt a little about sumie history, techniques and styles. The instructor speaks English well and is friendly and patient. I painted five small pieces following his example which featured bamboo, Mt. Fuji and cherry blossoms and was able to take my attempts home. He gave me good advice and directions to a washi (Japanese paper) store after the session. I recommend the experience to anyone interested in sumie and wanting to give it a try!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really fun!

Reviewed by: Fresca, 2016/05/06

I am not at all artistic, but even I was able to make pretty ink paintings! The teacher was really nice and funny, and the class was the perfect length. He showed me how to do landscapes, which was cool.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories